We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$267
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$599
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$172
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$345
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$167
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$183
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$176
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$310
$290
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,918)
Filter reviews
3,918 results
Traveler rating
2,327
1,207
271
73
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,327
1,207
271
73
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa del mar buildingblue wavefishing piernavy shipspoint lomawalking pathjunior suitewater viewhotel restauranttennis courtshot tubfull kitchenshort driveclose to the airportsea worldthe san diego areacoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,752 - 2,757 of 3,918 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hotel is in a quiet, beautiful location with the ocean on one side and the marina on the other. Pool area with hot tub and fireplace was very inviting. Room was clean and fresh looking - bed was very comfortable. Restaruant and lounge provided good food and service.
If you wanted to go "downtown", you would need a car or be willing to walk a couple of miles to the bus stop.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jlfilzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

We appreciate the wonderful 5 Star review and it’s so nice to hear that everything went well. We hope to see you again next time you’re in San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Very nice room and property except I couldn't believe how thin the walls were with respect to privacy. Could hear loving couple next room till 0230 with my wake up at 4. Have not had this since I left trailer house in park 40 years ago!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrgLeadDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for the feedback and I apologize for the noisy experience. We will certainly address this issue and I wish we would have found a quiet room for you. If you ever come back to the Island Palms please reach out to us at ip-reservations@islandpalms.com so we can ensure you have a more tranquil experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel in November '12, and I was afraid of picked up from the internet. It was a great surprise. First of all, free parking in front of your pavilion. Casa del Mar room is big, with enough space for stocking our blackfriday shops, and confy king bed, new LG lcd 42'' tv, has a safe and enough space in bathroom. For the room, negative points are carpet floor and old furniture. Nice restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but expensive if not included in you reservation. Good location (less than 5 miles to SeaWorld, Gaslamp Quarter, USS Midway, Coronado and San Diego Zoo, excellent view from San Diego Bay or Island Palms Marina (depends on what you choose in your reservation). Not expensive average daily rate, fair price for what you get. Employees at night shift are very friendly (very rare to see it), and nice clean up service. Wifi = modem 56k connection (lot of lag)... If you want real connection, you should buy it online with 5 bucks per stay (you must be there first to buy it).
After all, what can I say? Nice choice to spend a week on there.

Room Tip: Choose Casa del Mar room, make the reservation on the internet than you can save some money. More far you are from reception, more time will take to attend in your apartment.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raphael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Muito obrigado Raphael! We’re very happy that you chose to stay at the Island Palms and that everything went so well. The Casa Del Mar junior suite is definitely a great room if extra space is needed for a long stay or Black Friday shopping. I’m really sorry about the WiFi issues you experienced and we've had the signal tested to make sure the bandwidth is at the appropriate level throughout the hotel.

We hope your travels bring you back to San Diego sometime and that you choose Island Palms once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had an early Janurary stay and it was wonderful. Got a good rate as apparently there was construction work going on but we didn't see or hear anything of it. Really peaceful place out in the bay. Staff were really friendly and helpful. There isn't that much within short walking distance though and if you want to see much of SD, I'd certainly recommend a car.

Thoroughly recommend the hotel though

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLWORLDTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for the magnificent review and we’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s almost been a year and we hope you’ll come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews