We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, beautiful marina location on Shelter Island Sand Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #20 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This Best Western hotel is located on Shelter Island San Diego. It has much to offer and the 3 blocks of accomodations are spread across a panoramic view of either San Diego Bay or the Marina ( we were on the second floor of Casa Marina room 584). An elevator takes you to the 2nd floor and there is free parking. The dining room is located in the main building,
where the reception desk is, and also has a great view over the marina. If you do not have a car you can walk 20 mins to a bus stop which will then take you into town. We enjoyed the peaceful surroundings, pleasant staff and well maintained grounds.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view of all the boating activities if you have a room facing the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coddy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for the 5-star review! As you mentioned, there are certainly great views from both sides of the hotel and, whether you look over the tranquil marina or San Diego Bay, there seems to be something for everyone. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took care of you.

We hope you’ll stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,583 - 2,589 of 3,723 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank KARA B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

No one would believe it but we got stuck out in Sandiego because of Hurricane Sandy and could have spent our last two additional nights at the Hotel Del. We chose to leave the Del and ended up at the Best Western Island Palm at my sister's suggestion so we could see more of the San Diego area. We were so happy we did! Make sure to visit Cabrillo National Park just two miles from hotel. The hotel staff was so friendly, it was quiet (the Del had construction going on outside our $700 a night oceanfront room at 8am), the rooms were large and plenty of coffee/sweetener/creamer packs (a peeve but the Del only gave you one of each every day). For the price and location this was a great hotel! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

We appreciate the review and please thank your sister for the recommendation! It’s always nice to hear when our first-time guests “discover” this area as there is really so much of San Diego to explore and enjoy. We do hope that if you come back to Shelter Island you’ll choose the Island Palms once again.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean, super comfy beds and pillows! Location had a great view but a bit far from major attractions, no problem if you have a car though. We really enjoyed the hot tub at night, a really nice way to relax after busy sightseeing.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for the review! We appreciate the feedback and you are correct, sitting in one of our spas after a day on the town is definitely the right way to relax.

Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

What's not to love about this place?! We stayed in in the Casa Marina with a bay/ocean view, second floor. Nice view, although the top (third) floor would have been better, but alas, no rooms were available. Next time book EARLY. Rooms were well appointed and very clean. Beds were very comfortable..( and I am VERY picky when it comes to bed comfort). Free and ample parking, free bike rentals, and an in-house restaurant that was very good. Very nice staff always willing to please. Highly recommend this place and will definitely stay here on our next visit to San Diego.

Room Tip: Casa Marina is the newer section. Marina view is quieter, but the bay side has views of downtown San...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunlovers91730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for the great review. It’s really nice to hear that everything went well and that our staff took care of you.

We’re sorry that we didn’t have a 3rd floor room available during your stay but hopefully we can take care of you the next time. In fact, please feel free to contact the hotel directly when you make your next booking and we’ll be happy to assign the right room location.

Thank you again for the feedback and we will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I got a free night because of the Best Western rewards program, and we settled on this place in San Diego Bay.

It was a great choice. We stayed in the Casa del Mar building. The suite was very spacious and decorated very well. My wife was delighted that we had two bathrooms and two television sets. She awarded herself the larger bathroom. I could watch sports on one TV in the living room while she watched the shows she likes in bed on the other TV. Just like at home.

We had a pleasant patio and nice views of the water. We enjoyed strolling along the waterside as the sun went down.

The room came equipped with lots of stuff in addition to the two TVs: a microwave, a small refrigerator (both standard in many places), dishes, forks and knives. The killer option for both of us--glass glassware. If a motel room has glass glasses you know it's got to be good.

The bed was one of the most comfortable I've encountered in a long time. My wife wanted to stay another night because of the bed, but I promised her we would return another day.

I see that the general manager monitors these comments. We were in Room 412, and the only negative about the stay was that the Wi-Fi was spotty.

Room Tip: Some comments have complained about the rooms. Stay in either the Casa del Mar building or the Casa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oosooriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you very much for the 5-Star review! It really sounds like you had a wonderful time and we’re so happy that you chose to stay with us.

We do address all feedback that we receive and we will certainly investigate the WiFi signal near room 412. We’re required to maintain adequate bandwidth levels throughout the hotel and we’ll correct any issues that we discover.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope you’ll come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The reviews of this property seem to be ranking different hotels. If you are in the standard rooms, your experience will be about 2 1/2 stars. As others have mentioned, these rooms are old, dark, and not exceptional. There were tiny ants in my room -- not a lot, but enough to give me the creepy crawlies and a general feeling of dirt and discomfort. I was happy to leave this hotel.

The one cool thing about it were the desk-top connections where you could plug in your own e-device (iPad, laptop, etc) and watch your own content on their large, flat screen TV's. I'm including a photo of the connection panel.

Other than that, if you're in a standard room, expect no more than a 2 1/2 star experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank annietravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for the feedback and I’m sorry to hear that the room did not meet your needs. If we receive any reports of insects we will immediately address them and contact our outside pest control service if necessary.

Thank you again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#57 of 278 in San Diego
1,655 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#124 of 278 in San Diego
2,689 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#24 of 278 in San Diego
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $121 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing