We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST OF THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #16 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My family and I stayed at this motel for 5 days in April 2012 and was quite amazed. I booked on expedia due to price, location, and overall looks/reviews. I went with the upgraded room and the whole experience was awesome. GREAT LOCATION AND MOTEL WAS BEAUTIFUL. minutes away from airport and coronado Island and other great spots. we are planning another trip for 2013 and are staying here again, wifi and parking was great,rooms very clean and updated.patio opened up into a Marina and pools were right there for relaxing. beach acrossed the way. got up every morning and ran, great weather and location on shelter island. I CAN'T SAY ENOUGH GREAT THINGS BOUT THIS PLACE. beds were comfortable and the staff out of this world, friendly and there to help you with any questions/concerns. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for the awesome review! We’re so happy to hear that we met your expectations and we look forward to having you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,720 - 2,726 of 3,845 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for 10 days the beginning of September. We wanted something handy for the wife to go to the ENA convention at the convention center, while I went to MCRD. This turned out to be the place. Employees were great! We stayed in the newer 3 story building on the end, 3rd floor facing the Marina. Nice and quiet, but if I did it again I would of stayed looking towards North Island. Cleaning people were great. Parking is a little tight at night, but we just parked in the garage next to our building. We had a seperate pool which worked out great! Blue Wave was GREAT for breakfast, waitresses did a great job, so we ate there most mornings. But we only had supper there once. Very Good food, but a little expensive for us. We ate most nights at Denny's which is only a mile down the road on Rosecrans.

Room Tip: Higher floors, better views on both sides..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you so much for the review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for five nights this month (Oct. 2012). We had a king suite on the second floor (top floor) which faced the San Diego harbor. We were directly across from the North Island Naval base and saw lots of interesting training activity, helo's, planes, and Navy Seals shooting by in rubber boats. This, plus our view from our windows extended from the city skyline to our left all all the way to the tip of Point Loma - a great view! Our suite reminded us of a small apartment. It had a nice living room area, complete kitchen, bar area and the bedroom was separated from this by double doors. Kitchen, bar, and bathroom are all in a nice granite. Both the living room and bedroom had nice big LG HD flat screens. In room wifi worked great. We had a nice balcony with table and chairs that we used for breakfast and evening observations of the bay's activities. We ate in the hotel's restaurant for my Birthday and the meal was excellent! We had breakfast in our room three days and the service and food was very good. Overall, this hotel is in an excellent location for any stay in San Diego. We have stayed here before, a nearby Sheraton and Humphries down the street. This is the best value with great views! Two nice pools as well. Great for families or anyone who wants to enjoy a nice stay.

Room Tip: From what we observed, the king suites in the middle buildings (ours was in Building B) have the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LodiTraveler1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We appreciate the great feedback and it’s so nice to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It’s also nice to hear that you enjoyed the food in the Blue Wave Bar and Grill and we’ll be sure to share your kind words with the staff.

Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great location. Waterview on the front and back. Paid 115 for a room that was spacious, clean and well organized. Had a great view from room 521. Also had great service. My parents stayed in a bay view room in I block and that was great as well. My brother had the honeymoon suite which was nice as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I chose Island Palms based on the Great Reviews and previous experience with Best Western. We were not disappointed. The Grounds were just like being in Maui. Beautiful Tropical Plants everywhere. We spent a little extra and stayed 5 nights in a King Room in the Casa Marina Building. The room was of Asian Decor with a walk-in Shower.The bed was very comfortable and the Linens luxurious. Our room was located on the 3rd Floor Marina side. In the morning you could hear the Ducks and Herons splashing outside. It was awesome. Ebony at the Front desk gave us Great Personal service--Very Professional and Friendly. Food at the Restaurant was very good although some of the Fish items on the Dinner Menu were unusual. One was made with Brussels Sprouts--odd!
We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The Marina Side Rooms are away from the Street and offer Beautiful Views, especially from upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is best Best Western I have ever stayed in and the best hotel I've stayed in a long time. All of the staff was wonderfully friendly, checked on us, and made sure that everything was perfect. Restaurant in the hotel had good food, too, and the front desk was helpful about coordinating our parties. The only critique I have of the layout was that the beds seemed to be a bit crowded in our bedroom portion of the suite. Other than that, loved the view and how QUIET the hotel was (even quieter than where I live).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Picked this hotel after checking ratings and prices on the road with the I-phone. Arrived and were given keys to look at a couple of rooms -very helpful and friendly staff. Picked a King regular room (Take the small suite if available, lots of space to spread out and not much more in cost.) We stayed in the Casa Del Mar building. Very good location on Shelter Island just across from the Air Station - little noisy with the Helicopters coming and going but interesting to watch and not overpowering. Public park and fishing pier across the street.

Hotel has a very nice outside dining area with fantastic view of yacht basin and hills in the distance. Food good and prices reasonable for the area. Other restaurants not that far away. Good base location for seeing the sights in San Diego. Upscale looking hotel with reasonable rates. Would certainly pick this place if I ever go back to San Diego

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctree31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 286 in San Diego
1,685 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#117 of 286 in San Diego
2,825 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $113 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing