We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in SD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #20 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked the hotel by chance as our original choice was overbooked. And we were so lucky. Hardly I can imagine a better place to stay in SD in this price range. We had a room in the Casa Marina building, the newest complex - 3rd floor - balcony facing the bay not the marina. We couldn't get a better hit. The rooms were great: big, clean, well equipped and with a private balcony. The view, especially in the night, of the SD skyline just from that balcony was amazing. 
The hotel staff really did a great job, satisfying our needs and making us feel as comfortable as possible.
The hotel is located on shelter island. So you're off the busy streets but not too far away from downtown or the shores. The whole area leaves a secure impression so we even strolled through the park (across the street) at night. 

The pools and jacuzzis were great, too: size good, not overcrowded, clean and separated from the streets or the marina, still not blocking the outrageous view. 

All in all: it's the pace to stay in SD!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Jan_Hikelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,700 - 2,706 of 3,799 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Upon arriving at this hotel, there were views of the downtown San Diego skyline and a park acrossed the street from hotel. When you enter the lobby, you are greeted with a waterfall and open area. The hotel staff were very friendly. Our room had vaulted ceilings and was decorated in a cabana style. They were private. Ours had a beautiful view of the marina and had a walking path along the marina people would jog on. The pool was big and spacious. It was great!!! There was no complimentary breakfast though it would've been nice. I still highly recommend this hotel for a trip to San Diego.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the cabanas!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherryteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is next to a venue that hosts concerts. I'd stay here if I was going to watch a concert. The location is on the marina. You see lots of boats. I'm more of a sand/beach person. The hotel was clean. We used the pool. It looks like a 60's hotel thats had a slight make over. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your review.

As a Best Western Plus we certainly do our best to provide our guests with an excellent experience and I hope we were able to meet some of your expectations. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and your feedback will certainly help.

Humphrey’s Concerts is located less than a quarter mile down the street from us and it hosts many concerts that our guests enjoy. On some nights you can actually hear the shows down the island which makes for a great experience!

We do have 3 distinct buildings here at the hotel - the main building where the lobby is located, Island Palms, was built in the 50's and with its recent room renovation, still has a charming Hawaiian Tiki atmosphere. The Casa Del Mar building, also recently-renovated and built in the 50’s, offers a Mediterranean experience, with a 2nd pool and spa located along the marina. The 3-story Casa Marina building is our newest addition which we opened just over 3 years ago, offering a similar Mediterranean-style. We’re fortunate to have so many options and we’re happy to help our guests find a room that meets their needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just recently came back from having a family reunion of 25 & so enjoyed our stay here at the Best Western Island Palms. Our families were all spread out between all three areas of the property. Everyone enjoyed where they stayed. The harbor view is the best by far. The pool areas are open from 8~11, which was excellent. We loved, loved Cecelia who helped our family with so many things, not just tidying the rooms. The good was excellent at the restaurant & even ate out by the pool on several occasions. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suesuecalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Lovely location with marina views from restaurant and from many rooms. Tropical ambience. We stayed in Casa Marina, which is the newest building - lovely spacious room. Across the street from city park along San Diego Bay. Beautiful, spotlessly clean place with friendly staff. One significant disappointment: Upon check-in, the desk agent encouraged us to turn in our rental car the evening before our flight home, saying that we could use the hotel's shuttle. The shuttle failed to pick us up that evening, and we wound up taking a cab; the hotel did reimburse our taxi fare. Two different desk people assured us there would be a 7 am shuttle to the airport for our departure the next morning - but once again we wound up calling a cab, this time at our own expense. The "phantom shuttle" issue is the only reason for the 2 rating for service - all other service was good.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herestoadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Staff is so friendly, caring and professional. The rooms were very clean quiet and spacious. Thought I was at a timeshare almost. This hotel really tries to make you feel like a valuable guest. two pools and beautiful harbor and city scape views. If I didn't want to praise them so much I would keep quiet and call it a best kept secret as I do withe awesome restaurants. Call it a Best Western kept secret. You will love this experience.

Room Tip: All rooms great in my opinion. front is city and bay back is pools and harbor with awesome sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 777beach777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and 20 & 23 year old sons in a suite overlooking the bay. The suite was clean, had fully equipped kitchen, cooker, microwave, sink, toaster, fridge etc, so that was great. Gorgeous views from room and had a balcony for sitting outside. Definitely recommend. Good location which we specifically chose for beachfront walks and views, only short drive to Downtown, no hassle at all. Also plenty of great takeaways available, e.g. Extreme Pizza

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiebaby67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#54 of 286 in San Diego
1,674 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 286 in San Diego
2,321 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#27 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $111 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing