We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,075)
Filter reviews
4,075 results
Traveler rating
2,431
1,241
280
82
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,431
1,241
280
82
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casa del mar building blue wave fishing pier navy ships point loma junior suite walking path water view hotel restaurant tennis courts hot tub full kitchen short drive close to the airport sea world coffee maker the san diego area
Filter
Updating list...
3,202 - 3,207 of 4,075 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel is in a fabulous setting, surrounded by water and with a stunning view of San Diego from the front. There is a delightful marina around the back and the general area is very pleasant.

We were given a King Room on the 1st floor , unfortunately our door was under the stairs to go to the second floor so it was very dark and we had absolutely no view from our windows at all, which was disappointing. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a massive flat-screen TV as well as nice touches, such as a refrigerator and microwave. The bathroom was very nice except we had to call maintenance as we had a family of ants come to visit! Thankfully after a treatment of bug spray we only saw the odd one or two for the rest of our stay.

We did not make use of the restaurants on site however we did use the swimming pool twice, which was very clean and in a glorious setting. Another bonus was that there was free Wi-Fi throughout our stay which really pleased me.

I would recommend this hotel, however if you are needing to go to downtown then I think having a car is a must. If and when we return to San Diego then we will seriously consider staying at this hotel again - I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the marina.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Jonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We spent 2 days there after daughter finished her conference @Convention Center( for that we stayed at Marriott Marquis Marina more convenient) then we chose Best Western Island Palms; spoke to the local hotel (not 800#) & got 2 rooms next to each other at the Casa Marina- their newest building. It was wonderful & so quiet on Shelter Island Drive.
We were on the 3rd floor with gorgeous view of the marina. The grounds have nice trees & plants, at least 2 pools, 2 tennis courts & a restaurant which we did not have time to try. Kids can go to playground across the street on other side of marina with water view, the hotel will give out tide timetable so if anyone is interested can check out tide pools, one can watch pelicans, cormorants, ducks, etc...
We got reservations in Aug. for Oct. free airport shuttle, wi-fi & free parking! wow.

Room Tip: Ask for water view
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LILY45AZ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The hotel itself is very well maintained, staff are very helpful, room was clean,quiet and comfortable - decor a little dated but bathroom had lively updated granite counter and shower stall. The food is great and priced reasonably. Breakfast would have been nice to have been included - at least continental - but with fridge and microwave we were able to get our own breakfasts for couple of days. The only issue we had was with the shuttle. It's complimentary - they are flexible - they picked us up at ship terminal and drove us to airport – then they drove us back and forth to our car rental (thrifty on pacific ave near airport is cheapest – good service) so they are generous with this service. However we arrived at harbor at 10:30 ready for pickup – i phoned the hotel to let them know we arrived – nadda. 11:30 they finally show up – there were 10 of us from the ship going to best western – ALL OTHER HOTEL SHUTTLES HAD COME A GONE!!! We were the only one left standing in the hot sun waiting. Their excuse was shuttle does not start until 11 am that day. So half hour to get there they figured they were on time. Tell that to the 10 people left waiting!!! Then they found there were too many to pick up so the driver (in this case the hotel manager) suggested we wait another hour for him to get back. To even suggest that was insulting!! I made a point of suggesting the hotel comp a taxi – which he agreed to without hesitation. Other experiences with shuttle we later learned – when you book a shuttle for pick up at say 4 – they take it to mean they will leave the hotel at 4 – keep that in mind. They have free bikes, nicely situated by the harbour – but you are very far from catching public transit – keep that in mind when you book here. That’s why we rented a car. Free parking at hotel. They have a deal with a car company that will drive the car to the hotel and pick it up for you for the low price of $39 a day – i was told by the company ‘you won’t find a better price for car rental in san diego – if you find a car at all. Yeah right!!! I phoned thrifty and got a car for $19 a day – shuttle drove us back and forth for pick up. They need to find a better car provider – someone a little more honest. I won’t mention the name of the company they use – but stay clear of that lot unless you have money to burn.

Room Tip: we stayed in 166 - very end facing the marina - very auiet and private. Maybe they'll fix the bathroom fan for you by then.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TKANDTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Thank you for the review. I’m very sorry to hear about the confusion with the shuttle pick-up at the cruise ship terminal. I realize how frustrating it must have been and we should have handled your arrival much more efficiently. In addition to the cruise ship terminal, our shuttle provides service on a first-come, first-served basis to the airport and train station for arriving and departing guests and we realize how important it is for the service to be timely and prompt so that our guests are not delayed.

We refer our guests to many reliable car rental agencies throughout San Diego, however, many of our guests prefer to use companies that provide pick-up and drop-off service directly at the hotel as our shuttle isn’t always available to provide transportation to the outlying rental agencies. I’m glad you found a rental agency that met your needs at a price that suited your budget.

The closest city bus/public transportation stop is located at the top of Shelter Island, slightly less than one mile from the hotel. From there, you can purchase a $5 all-day pass which allows access to all bus and trolley routes in San Diego for the day. Many of our guests choose this option to get around San Diego in lieu of renting a car.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We were upgraded to a king suite because my husband is a "Diamond Member" and it was fantastic!! It had two bathrooms, a separate sitting room for watching their hi def tv. Another tv in the bed room. Plenty of towels. A balcony off the master bedroom. A beautiful view of the marina. The only thing it did not have was a continential breakfast. But you could buy breakfast at their restaurant located inside the hotel. The a/c worked great!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindyhopper63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We booked a block of rooms for my son's wedding at the Best Western Island Palms, San Diego CA in the Point Loma/Shelter Island area and everyone who stayed there gave it 5 stars. Wide selection of room choices, breathtaking views of the marina, bay and downtown San Diego, very clean rooms, friendly and efficient staff, and very quiet. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever used, even my 12 year old nephew remarked about them. Very large rooms, choice of either facing the marina or the bay and both were outstanding. The pool and spa areas overlooking the marina had breathtaking views. Family members used the shuttle service to the airport and they arrived on time and were very efficient. I live in San Diego and plan on returning just for a weekend get-away. Close to the airport, and an easy drive to the downtown area, Old Town, Balboa Park, and Coronado. I would highly recommend this resort without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews