We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is the BEST kept secret when looking for a romantic get-a-way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Room was large, clean and we had an ocean view. Restaurant located in the hotel had the best food. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were fantastic with great service. Shuttle service was very accommodating. Friendly staff! We will be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OsoSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,003 - 3,009 of 3,764 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

We have often chosen Best Western hotels as they have always delivered exactly what was required. This one, however, was a complete and utter disaster! We arrived in our upgraded "suite" and immediately smelt a foul smell. It turned out to be the toilet bowl which was blocked and the stench had gone right through the whole "suite". We checked the bed clothes (not something we would normally do) and discovered hairs on the bottom sheet! The rooms were filthy and we could hear the family in the next rooms as it was a connecting room! The front desk were incredibly rude and said that they were full and couldn't move us. Needless to say we left the next morning (without charge) - a very pleasant guy at the front desk apologised profusely that we could not see Mr. Levin, the Manager, as he was not on the premises - and we found a charming hotel only 1 mile away. Best Western really let us down this time! A total disgrace and it was a BW PLUS! Not quite the plus we were expecting.....

Room Tip: Don't even think about staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

I’m very sorry that our team let you down by failing to find another suite and correcting the issues brought to our attention. It certainly is not the way we like our guests to feel and it should have been handled better. Your comments have been shared with our staff and we’re absolutely committed to improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We just returned from a trip to San Diego. We were spending a week there so we wanted a comfortable, clean, and friendly place in a great location with FREE parking! We found the perfect spot! The Island Palms Hotel was wonderful! Our room had two queen beds and was extra roomy with m-wave and frig too. Clean, clean, clean! Our balcony looked over the beautiful marina. We were lucky enough to be there when the USS Carl Vinson navy ship came into port. We just walked across the street to watch the ship arrive! It was awesome. We had a rental car and visited many attractions (zoo, SeaWorld, Coronado Island, USS Midway, Old Town) and all were so easy to get to from our hotel. The front desk staff were SO helpful with showing us the easiest route to go. Each night we spent time at the pools, which were clean and warm. We highly recommend Island Palms! If you are planning a trip to San Diego......become a fan of Island Palms on facebook! Their posts will get you excited!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KSJibber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you so much! It sounds like you had a perfect San Diego experience. We can’t wait to have you back and yes, please follow us on Facebook!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We arrived and were taken care of immediately!!!!! Thank you Robert for taking very good care of us!!! This was my very first time to San Diego and it was an excellent experience at the Islands Palms Hotel & Marina!!! We stayed a week and have nothing to complain about!! Great location!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Utter-Taitague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

That’s so nice to hear! Thank you for the flattering comments and we’ll see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. We had a suite in the island palms section with a view of the marina. We so enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the marina and watching the sunsets, boats, baby sea gulls... If we turned in the other direction we had a view of the bay and the city! The suite provided plenty of room for the 4 of us with the added benefit of a full size fridge and kitchen area. I also really appreciated the area the hotel was in. It was quiet and it felt safe in this area. You could walk around shelter island without feeling you were in a dangerous place. The longer I was in San Diego the more I appreciated this aspect. It was a great place to 'come home to" after busy days of sight seeing. It was also very reasonably priced, everything was clean
and in working condition, and it was quiet. We also got a lot if use out of the pools and hot tub. When we go back to San Diego this will be where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelgirlrn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you very much! We really are in a great location and Shelter Island has plenty to do and see, not to mention being “15 minutes from everything.” We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here 14 - 16th June and whilst it was alright, I wouldn't rave about it and would opt to stay somewhere else next time.
We were put in block B which is the older part of the complex. We didn't apperciate this at the time and had we been staying longer than 2 days, I would have asked to be moved. Our room was ground level and had a motel feel to it. It smelled a little bit fausty and had a very old fashioned - and noisy - air conditioning unit, which was perfectly adequate at the time however because it was not hot during our time in San Diego. If it had been warmer, it may not have been sufficient.
We had our very own pet cockroach in the bathroom (we gathered him up in a towel and put him ouitside once we managed to catch him...) and we found the bathroom/ shower area to be very dark and dingy to be honest.
We went into the heart of San Diego one night because it was a bit quiet where we were and the taxi cost us $25 there and $30 back - bit steep.... Be aware that if you want to do this it will cost you!!!!
On a more positive note, we ate in the bar/restuarant one night and our meal was fabulous. The bar staff were wonderful and really friendly.
In conclusion, we loved San Diego (despite the June gloom we got) and will definitely be back - we will stay in the Gaslight district next time however.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer part of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAmember8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Wow! What an amazing stay at the Island Palms. Four nights of a tropical paradise and awesome weather made an unforgettable stay. After a failed attempt to make a trip to San Diego last year, we finally made it this year to celebrate my daughters graduation. We had an AMAZING room (Queen Jr Suite) on the second floor with the best view ever. Panoramic views of the San Diego bay was just the ticket to enjoy our morning coffee or evening glass of wine. It was so nice to sit out on the balcony and watch the Navy fly above us, the fisherman on the pier across the street or simply take in the fresh air and just enjoy the quiet. Either side of the hotel is an awesome view. After reading several reviews and alot of people favoring the marina side, I personally favor the bay side. There's more activity to watch and even though there is some car traffic and the parking lot is located on that side, I really didn't notice it much. I was too busy just being there. I will DEFINITELY stay here again..without a doubt! A special thanks to Shaun for selecting such a wonderful room for us and making our stay an enjoyable one.

Oh..a couple side notes..I can't rate the restaurant,spa or room service since we didn't experience them this trip, but from what I heard buzzing around I shouldn't miss out next time. And the hotel is nicely located to everything..not too far to get anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanP163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#56 of 279 in San Diego
1,663 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#124 of 279 in San Diego
2,743 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 279 in San Diego
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#24 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $120 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing