We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,086)
Filter reviews
4,086 results
Traveler rating
2,439
1,242
281
82
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,439
1,242
281
82
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casa del mar building blue wave fishing pier navy ships point loma junior suite walking path water view hotel restaurant tennis courts hot tub full kitchen short drive close to the airport sea world coffee maker the san diego area
Filter
Updating list...
3,299 - 3,304 of 4,086 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We have often chosen Best Western hotels as they have always delivered exactly what was required. This one, however, was a complete and utter disaster! We arrived in our upgraded "suite" and immediately smelt a foul smell. It turned out to be the toilet bowl which was blocked and the stench had gone right through the whole "suite". We checked the bed clothes (not something we would normally do) and discovered hairs on the bottom sheet! The rooms were filthy and we could hear the family in the next rooms as it was a connecting room! The front desk were incredibly rude and said that they were full and couldn't move us. Needless to say we left the next morning (without charge) - a very pleasant guy at the front desk apologised profusely that we could not see Mr. Levin, the Manager, as he was not on the premises - and we found a charming hotel only 1 mile away. Best Western really let us down this time! A total disgrace and it was a BW PLUS! Not quite the plus we were expecting.....

Room Tip: Don't even think about staying here!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madamB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

I’m very sorry that our team let you down by failing to find another suite and correcting the issues brought to our attention. It certainly is not the way we like our guests to feel and it should have been handled better. Your comments have been shared with our staff and we’re absolutely committed to improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We just returned from a trip to San Diego. We were spending a week there so we wanted a comfortable, clean, and friendly place in a great location with FREE parking! We found the perfect spot! The Island Palms Hotel was wonderful! Our room had two queen beds and was extra roomy with m-wave and frig too. Clean, clean, clean! Our balcony looked over the beautiful marina. We were lucky enough to be there when the USS Carl Vinson navy ship came into port. We just walked across the street to watch the ship arrive! It was awesome. We had a rental car and visited many attractions (zoo, SeaWorld, Coronado Island, USS Midway, Old Town) and all were so easy to get to from our hotel. The front desk staff were SO helpful with showing us the easiest route to go. Each night we spent time at the pools, which were clean and warm. We highly recommend Island Palms! If you are planning a trip to San Diego......become a fan of Island Palms on facebook! Their posts will get you excited!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KSJibber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you so much! It sounds like you had a perfect San Diego experience. We can’t wait to have you back and yes, please follow us on Facebook!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We arrived and were taken care of immediately!!!!! Thank you Robert for taking very good care of us!!! This was my very first time to San Diego and it was an excellent experience at the Islands Palms Hotel & Marina!!! We stayed a week and have nothing to complain about!! Great location!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Utter-Taitague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

That’s so nice to hear! Thank you for the flattering comments and we’ll see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. We had a suite in the island palms section with a view of the marina. We so enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the marina and watching the sunsets, boats, baby sea gulls... If we turned in the other direction we had a view of the bay and the city! The suite provided plenty of room for the 4 of us with the added benefit of a full size fridge and kitchen area. I also really appreciated the area the hotel was in. It was quiet and it felt safe in this area. You could walk around shelter island without feeling you were in a dangerous place. The longer I was in San Diego the more I appreciated this aspect. It was a great place to 'come home to" after busy days of sight seeing. It was also very reasonably priced, everything was clean
and in working condition, and it was quiet. We also got a lot if use out of the pools and hot tub. When we go back to San Diego this will be where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelgirlrn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you very much! We really are in a great location and Shelter Island has plenty to do and see, not to mention being “15 minutes from everything.” We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here 14 - 16th June and whilst it was alright, I wouldn't rave about it and would opt to stay somewhere else next time.
We were put in block B which is the older part of the complex. We didn't apperciate this at the time and had we been staying longer than 2 days, I would have asked to be moved. Our room was ground level and had a motel feel to it. It smelled a little bit fausty and had a very old fashioned - and noisy - air conditioning unit, which was perfectly adequate at the time however because it was not hot during our time in San Diego. If it had been warmer, it may not have been sufficient.
We had our very own pet cockroach in the bathroom (we gathered him up in a towel and put him ouitside once we managed to catch him...) and we found the bathroom/ shower area to be very dark and dingy to be honest.
We went into the heart of San Diego one night because it was a bit quiet where we were and the taxi cost us $25 there and $30 back - bit steep.... Be aware that if you want to do this it will cost you!!!!
On a more positive note, we ate in the bar/restuarant one night and our meal was fabulous. The bar staff were wonderful and really friendly.
In conclusion, we loved San Diego (despite the June gloom we got) and will definitely be back - we will stay in the Gaslight district next time however.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer part of the complex
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAmember8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews