We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,050)
Filter reviews
4,050 results
Traveler rating
2,413
1,239
278
79
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,413
1,239
278
79
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa del mar buildingblue wavefishing piernavy shipspoint lomajunior suitewalking pathwater viewhotel restauranttennis courtshot tubfull kitchenshort driveclose to the airportsea worldcoffee makerthe san diego area
Filter
Updating list...
3,271 - 3,276 of 4,050 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here 14 - 16th June and whilst it was alright, I wouldn't rave about it and would opt to stay somewhere else next time.
We were put in block B which is the older part of the complex. We didn't apperciate this at the time and had we been staying longer than 2 days, I would have asked to be moved. Our room was ground level and had a motel feel to it. It smelled a little bit fausty and had a very old fashioned - and noisy - air conditioning unit, which was perfectly adequate at the time however because it was not hot during our time in San Diego. If it had been warmer, it may not have been sufficient.
We had our very own pet cockroach in the bathroom (we gathered him up in a towel and put him ouitside once we managed to catch him...) and we found the bathroom/ shower area to be very dark and dingy to be honest.
We went into the heart of San Diego one night because it was a bit quiet where we were and the taxi cost us $25 there and $30 back - bit steep.... Be aware that if you want to do this it will cost you!!!!
On a more positive note, we ate in the bar/restuarant one night and our meal was fabulous. The bar staff were wonderful and really friendly.
In conclusion, we loved San Diego (despite the June gloom we got) and will definitely be back - we will stay in the Gaslight district next time however.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer part of the complex
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAmember8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Wow! What an amazing stay at the Island Palms. Four nights of a tropical paradise and awesome weather made an unforgettable stay. After a failed attempt to make a trip to San Diego last year, we finally made it this year to celebrate my daughters graduation. We had an AMAZING room (Queen Jr Suite) on the second floor with the best view ever. Panoramic views of the San Diego bay was just the ticket to enjoy our morning coffee or evening glass of wine. It was so nice to sit out on the balcony and watch the Navy fly above us, the fisherman on the pier across the street or simply take in the fresh air and just enjoy the quiet. Either side of the hotel is an awesome view. After reading several reviews and alot of people favoring the marina side, I personally favor the bay side. There's more activity to watch and even though there is some car traffic and the parking lot is located on that side, I really didn't notice it much. I was too busy just being there. I will DEFINITELY stay here again..without a doubt! A special thanks to Shaun for selecting such a wonderful room for us and making our stay an enjoyable one.

Oh..a couple side notes..I can't rate the restaurant,spa or room service since we didn't experience them this trip, but from what I heard buzzing around I shouldn't miss out next time. And the hotel is nicely located to everything..not too far to get anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanP163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

LOVED the location. Slightly secluded from the city. Beautiful views. We had a villa which was perfect for our family (8 travelers) with a marina view which was breathtaking to wake up to each morning. It is spendy but with that came absolute pampering. They washed all the dishes we used, replaced all linens, towels, etc... throughout the stay. Staff was friendly, knowledgeable and even though it was busy when we were there, they were quick to help us with anything we needed.
Pools were very nice, warm and clean. Which is a must with kids. They love to swim. Beds were cozy, even the pull out couch bed.
Things that were just ok- the dishes and utensils that were available in our rooms were not very good and there were little choices. We boiled pasta in frying pans, but made it work and it was just fine. We chose to enjoy and not be picky, but the flip side is spending a lot of $ we should have asked. But I hate to put people out. (my fault).
We were very pleased with the stay and were SO sad to leave the beauty of it all. Husband and I hope to return very soon. 4 nights just wasn't enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worstmomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel for our 1 year anniversary. We had a great experience here. We had a room in the Casa Del Mar building with a marina view. It was really nice. We felt relaxed and away from it all. The shelter island area was really nice too. We enjoyed being somewhat secluded. The room itself was very clean and well maintained. It had everything we needed, was comfortable and quiet. The guest service was great. Everyone was super friendly and accommodating. We were even surprised with champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for our anniversary. The restaurant in the hotel was really good. We ate there one night and got room service from there for breakfast both morning we were there. The food was excellent. We will definitely be back when we visit the San Diego area next time.

Room Tip: The marina view rooms were great!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicknlinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here for a week - loved every moment of it. Located on Shelter Island overlooking the bay on one side and marina on the other side, hotel is very quiet, spacious room and bathroom, very comfortable beds with individual adjustment of the softness/hardness of the mattress. Two heated pools and two jaccuzies are magical at night with the lit lanterns around one and a fire place near the other one. Tennis court on the roof of the hotel, free bikes for use, very good and reasonably priced food at the hotel restaurant. Conveniently located about 10 min drive from the airport and downtown, free parking. Beautifully landscaped grounds with lots of flowers and even duck with ducklings at the fountain totally domesticated - lots of fun. The only downside was tiny closet and lack of drawer space.

Room Tip: We booked using Expedia and got 50% off our stay
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fun2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews