We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,069)
Filter reviews
4,069 results
Traveler rating
2,426
1,241
279
82
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,426
1,241
279
82
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews casa del mar building blue wave fishing pier navy ships point loma junior suite walking path water view hotel restaurant tennis courts hot tub full kitchen short drive close to the airport sea world coffee maker the san diego area
Filter
Updating list...
3,297 - 3,302 of 4,069 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Nicest hotel I have stayed at in San Diego. Beautiful location. Clean modern and very spacious suite in the Casa Del Mar building. Good value for money

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bootesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We were able to catch this hotel when they were having a sale - be sure to ask when booking if they are aware of any upcoming sales! One thing we really liked about the hotel was the free parking - many hotels in the area seem to charge for it.

This hotel featured a really nice tropical decor. Our room was about the furthest from the pools and main lobby that they offered, but we still did not find the walk too bad. The hotel offers two pools areas and both are really beautiful with views of the marina and water. My only complaint was that the hot tubs were too hot to actually enjoy. I love heat and hot water and was still only able to enjoy it for about 2-3 minutes at a time before it got too hot and my boyfriend found it painful. Would have loved to take a swim in the pools but it was pretty cold and cloudy during out visit.

One of the pools also offered a gas fireplace, but you need to call the front desk and ask for it to be turned on. A suggestion to the hotel would be to put out a little sign with instructions to call and the number - as we spent awhile trying to figure out how to turn it on ourselves.

The hotel is out on a little island so you do have to take a short walk over the bridge to the mainland to get to other restaurants and it is about a 10 minute drive to get to places like Old Town and the Maritime museum. What I liked it that it was about 10-20 minutes from everything that we wanted to see - was couldn't walk to any attractions, but it was right in the middle of all of them.

The room was always clean and the decor was tropical and a bit more interesting than your average hotel room. Our room even had a little patio which would have been a great place to sit and read in nicer weather. The staff was always very pleasant.

I found the value to be excellent considering there was not much else I could have asked for and I paid about $60 less than other area hotels offering similar amenities - and many of them did not even include parking.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marston258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

During the past 3 years, we have stayed at any number of Best Western hotels from Northern CA to SoCAL. This was by far the most outstanding of them all! The views at any time of day or night from our suite was stunning and made you think you would never want to leave. Daniel, the front office manager, was most accommodating and assisted in upgrading us to the suite we just loved without added charges due to the reward points we had accummulated! We hadn't even thought to ask but Daniel made it happen. The jacuzzi and pool were steps way from our door which overlooked the marina. It was wonderful! I particularly enjoyed seeing the navy ships cruise out to sea and watching a jet fighter plane soar overhead. Kudos to all on the Island Palms staff! This stay was one of BW's promotional events where earning 3 separate nights between March and May, you got a free night. We are very happy to be part of the BW family!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroltrueman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. The price for the 'traditional' room type was ok compared to other hotels, however, breakfast was not included. The room was kept clean and well equipped but had couple of things to be taken care of (water stayed in the shower, old windows not really sealing, heating not usable due to smelly air coming out of it and the overall unpleasant odor in the room). Nevertheless I assume the things above might only be applicable for the specific room. Due to the short stay and also due to the fact it did not disturb us that much we did not ask for another room.

Location of the hotel was perfect - calm area, enough parking spaces, nice surrounding for a walk, good small restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 20th anniversary here. We wanted to get away from it all. We stayed in one of their beautiful suites. Wow, really nice...the bed was very comfortable, there was a great view of the marina. We had a small pool area right outside our room. There was a jacuzzi and a fireplace to cozy up to with a nite cap. We had lunch in their dining room excellent. .. room service for breakfast was great. Downtown was close by and easy to get to.

Front desk was awesome, too. This hotel is a little gem!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mojo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews