We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
Ranked #86 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed December 5, 2012

There are a lot of great perks to this hotel! Check-in was smooth and the person behind the desk was very pleasant. Rooms were a good size, clean, and the beds were VERY comfy. There was a terrific view of the harbor and we loved the coffee, tea, and warm cookies in the lobby. It was also nice to be so close to downtown without actually having to BE downtown. Great hotel! Will be staying here when we come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

The room was very nice and clean with a lovely view of the yacht harbor. I always approach hotel beds with trepidation, but we were so pleasantly surprised. Both of us slept like we were at home, no tossing and turning trying to find a comfortable position. It was all good. Also the best hotel pillows - enough fill to keep your head at a comfortable level either on your back or your side. We would reccomend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank VICKI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacap, Manager at Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you so much for your response about your recent stay. I am thrilled to hear that you slept well and enjoyed our new mattress and pillow choices that we have put in the rooms. They are a great addition to our in room features and we all know how much sleep affects one's stay at a hotel. I look forward to your next stay and if there is anything I can do further, please contact me at Ankanovasic@yachtharborhotel.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I ended up at this hotel after changing hotels. My first hotel was not great so I looked for a better option. The hotel was a reasonably priced place with free internet, parking, and continental breakfast. The rooms are large and offer a microwave and fridge. All rooms have a patio and floor to ceiling windows though views differ depending where you are in the hotel. I would recommend not paying for a harbor view as it is the same view only on a higher floor, and you can see the harbor from a regular pool view room. There is a small pool, hot tub, and fitness room as well. The hotel could upgrade some of its soundproofing, but overall it was quiet and peaceful. There are food options a short drive away, and downtown and tourist attractions are close by. For San Diego, $~100/night is a very reasonable rate, especially when it includes parking, internet, and a continental breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for both families and business travelers.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms offer a nice view. Harbor view rooms are more expensive and just on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PsychRN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed a few days with my daughter in a lovely harbor-view room with comfy beds, a gorgeous panorama of the harbor, great cleanliness and super service from the staff who helped my daughter find a lost earring. Decent breakfast and coffee plus cookies in the lobby all day. Did some traveling. Then, a few days later I stayed alone in a cheaper room before my early morning flight back to the East Coast. Sent first to the wrong room, then to a dirty room before finally getting settled...rock-hard beds, toilet paper holder torn off the wall, and didn't get my 4 am wake up call. Luckily, since the bed was so uncomfortable, I was awake all night and got to my plane in time.

Room Tip: Top price room with harbor view was lovely - the cheaper room I stayed in later could have been in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank circa1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked this hotel for two nights through Booking.com before our 30-day cruise to Hawaii and the South Pacific. We got what I thought was a reasonable rate, about $100 a night, but I mistakenly thought it was directly across from the cruise terminal. I was wrong, but it turned out not to matter. Since we drove to S.D. instead of flying, we took a huge amount of luggage; if we had been right across the street, we would have had to leapfrog our luggage across the road. But Yacht Harbor has a shuttle, which took us and all of our stuff right up to where we had to check in for the cruise. No schlepping, and no hassles!

The room was nice and modern, with a marina view, and was a bit larger than what I was expecting. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful, and the parking lot had easy access.

What made this a stupendous choice for us was the parking. We had made a reservation at a local long-term parking lot that had a great rate for the month we'd be leaving the car. I made the reservation because when I'd called the hotel directly, I was told that we'd have to pay $5 a night to park. But during a conversation with another guest, also on the cruise, I learned that a 2-night stay at Yacht Harbor meant free parking. What a deal!! And not only that, before we left I was given the hotel's business card to call for the shuttle to pick us up at the cruise terminal when we returned. And no charge, except for a tip to the very helpful driver.

If we take another cruise out of San Diego, we'll stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukki007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The check in was ok but as soon as I entered the room it was a big disappointment.
There was a strange smell maybe coming from the carpets and I was not feeling very comfortable to sleep in this Motel. The sheets had some black spots. They told me is a walking distance to downtown, but it was 3 miles away. Apart from the marina, there is nothing else in this Motel.
The breakfast was average, but as in the USA you barely get a room with breakfast, it was in the positive side.

Room Tip: I have no idea just stay away from this Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michalakis-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Booked in for the night we arrived in San Diego. It was fine, easy to find, clean and surprisingly quiet after we closed the balcony door. For the price we found on 'easytobook' it was a good choice/value.

Room Tip: look for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokeyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacap, Manager at Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your response. I am glad to hear that the street noise was not an issue for you as I think it depends guest to guest. I am also glad that everything was easy like finding us as we are in a very central to find location by the airport, right in Point Loma. We hope to see you again soon for another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Best Western Mission Bay
#120 of 286 in San Diego
645 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 286 in San Diego
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#118 of 286 in San Diego
790 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel

Address: 5005 N Harbor Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $95 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Harbor views and a great location. New owners have completed millions of dollars in renovations including exterior and public areas and significant room upgrades. With new Sealy mattresses, new drapes and shears, upgraded linens and towels, new bath fixtures and fresh colors on the walls we think you will enjoy our new look and feel in our rooms. Still to come - new furniture and televisions and new meeting rooms. We have smaller budget minded rooms and larger harbor and pool view rooms. Something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Posada San Diego
Best Western Yacht Harbor San Diego
Best Western San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing