We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Convenient Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
Ranked #90 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I am here on business a couple of days a week and this hotel is my favorite. The price is really reasonable compared to others. But it is the service that really stands out. Manu and the entire staff are friendly and helpful. Their attitude impressed me. Complimentary breakfast includes: scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, pastries, cereals, some fruits, coffee, juice, and tea. (I wish they had hard-boiled eggs and a better tasting coffee.) Rooms are neat and clean. The beds are comfortable. Nice 37” flat screen TV and comfortable work desk and chair. Front lobby has been recently remodeled. The property is well maintained.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western PLUS Miramar. We are so delighted to hear that we are a “nice convenient hotel.” We are also happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and are glad that you took notice. Thank you again for reviewing the Best Western PLUS Miramar. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 444 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

The room was adequate but the breakfast was terrible. First the space is under construction. There is no room to sit. They did not keep the food stocked. So if you came late there wasn't much to eat. The hotel was overpriced for the condition it is in at the moment. Find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Naomi S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and concerns, as they are significantly valuable to us. We do apologize about the inconvenience that was caused during your stay. Please know that these issues are being addressed with our staff so that we can improve our amenities and service to future guests. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had very good experience in check-in, explanation regarding morning breakfast and check out information's, also info about Sand Diego site seeing.
Hotel receptionist was very helpful, knowledgeable, gave enough time to explain every thing. He helped us finding two rooms close to each other.
Hotel rooms were very good , clean neat.
overall we had good experience with best west western Miramar

Room Tip: away from main exit or elevator
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jashu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western PLUS Miramar. We are pleased to hear you had a “very good experience”. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are glad you were able to benefit from that during your stay. We strive in providing excellent quality service and are touched you took note of that. Again, thank you for reviewing the Best Western PLUS Miramar. We hope to see you again, during your next stay in San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel felt old and dirty. I absolutely hated my stay. My husband was on business and they use Best Westerns. The hotel needs renovation and though the people at the front desk were nice, the place was not nice at all. This hotel is not worth the savings, stay across the street at the Holiday Inn, it is much newer and cleaner and they offer a decent hot breakfast. The breakfast here was terrible, cold cereal, eggs, sausage and toast. It is the worst Continental breakfast I have ever had.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you invested in reviewing our hotel. Please know we have taken steps to bring your issues to our staff’s attention so future guests won’t run into comparable situations. We hope you will reconsider and give us another chance to serve you in the future. Once again, thank you for reviewing the Best Western PLUS Miramar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We saw a lot of good reviews for this hotel and we cancelled another one and booked this one instead. However, it was a major disappointment.

Firstward, the lady at the front desk was not too friendly. I think a smile would not hurt.

Secondly, there was no internet as they advertised. We called the front desk and the lady said that the internet was down and she would let us know when it came back up. It was never came back up for the entire long weekend (three nights) that we stayed there.

The next day, we went to the front desk to check it out and another lady told us that it was the management and that they had to do with it.

The day after that, they put up a sign that AT & T was down. The funny thing is that I had AT & T on my cell phone and it worked perfectly.

The room was OK. The beds were not bad, though they were not great either. The water pressure was very low and the water temperature was just lube warm.

The Jacuzzi was nice and the temperature was perfect, but they did not open the gate at 8 am as they were supposed to. We were there at 8:30 and asked a house keeper to open the gate. She called the front desk and they said that they were coming, but they never did. The house keeper eventually went to the front desk to get the key to open the gate for us. It took about 20 minutes. The next day, we had to call the front desk again for them to open the gate.

The breakfast was pretty good, we especially liked the waffle maker. Though one morning we went to breakfast at 6 am when it just opened up, and the ice in the yogurt bow was already melted, so basically the yogurt was sulked in cold water. The weather was pretty cool, so it must be left there for a long time.

The coffee was GOD AWFUL! They do not have fresh pots of coffee, but a coffee machine. The coffee tasted like diluted instant coffee and tasted nothing. It kind of ruined the breakfast and we had to go to the gas station to get some.

They also charged $1 per night for the safe in the room, whether you use it or not, but they do not tell you that. Though they did it in writing in their book in the room that you cannot adjust it when you check out. We don't really care for $3, but we feel that the hotel should not have hidden charges just to make money.

It took us forever to check out. First, the guy took forever to find a cab company phone number for the customer in front of us, then he could not find our bill. It took us about 20 minutes just to check out.

Overall, the facility is not bad, but I only wish that they can find the right person to manage this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floatingsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for investing some time in reviewing our hotel. We also appreciate you bringing up your concerns to our attention as it is invaluable to us. I apologize for the inconvenience that have been caused during your stay and please know that your issues are being addressed with our staff so that we are able to improve our guest service to future guest. Thank you again for bringing this review to my staff’s attention and hope that you will reconsider and stay with us in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We really enjoy this hotel. the staff is extremely helpful and professional. Check is was smooth even let us check in a bit early which was a bonus. Rooms where clean and tidy. the bed was oh so comfortable I did not want to get up. great location and parking was easy. thank you and keep up the good work. thanks again and thumbs up. we will do this again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus Miramar. We are so delighted to hear that our staff is “extremely helpful and professional.” We are also happy to hear that your check in process was smooth. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service to all our guests and are glad that you took notice. We also want to make sure that each one of our guests feels right at home so we are happy to hear that we were able to do just that with you. Thank you again for reviewing the Best Western Plus Miramar and for staying at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Check in process, extremely smooth. Even got adjoin rooms with our travels friends. Not all light fixtures worked or even repaired, after being reported. The breakfast, has something for almost everyone to choose from. Great water pressure for showers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus Miramar. We are very delighted to hear that you check in process was “extremely smooth.” We are also happy to hear that you were satisfied with our breakfast selections that we offer at our hotel. We do apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay. Please know that these issues will be addressed to our staff immediately. Once again, thank you for taking the time in reviewing our hotel. We hope to see you during your next visit in San Diego. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#185 of 278 in San Diego
148 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Mission Bay
Best Western Mission Bay
#113 of 278 in San Diego
603 reviews
23.3 mi away
Best Western Americana Inn
Best Western Americana Inn
#111 of 278 in San Diego
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
8.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego - Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel

Address: 9310 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92126 (Formerly Best Western Plus San Diego/Miramar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#38 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $89 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn Miramar San Diego Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing