We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Ranked #68 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Central Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of Old Town”
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Great location! Walk all over Old Town and if you want to go into San Diego take the trolley. Room was a huge suite, beds were comfortable. The service was great. Cable went out and they had it fixed very fast. No breakfast on sight, but you get cupon for free one at a local diner.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLB06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    675
    254
    119
    66
See reviews for
704
545
73
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We recently spent a week at this hotel and were impressed with the friendly service, child friendly service at this hotel. Our children revelled in the swimming pool and the excellent view of the airport, freeway and trainsform the upper floor balcony. (Not to everyones taste!) The decor is dated, but who looks at the inside of a hotel room on a tourist holiday. There was free parking across the road from the hotel which could be useful as parking is tight ($6-12/day/room). Easy access to freeways and public transport.
Only down side is the limited dining opportunities in the Old Town. There is mexican, mexican or poor mexican cuisine. No problem if you have a car.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwigonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

While on holiday in Huntington Beach, we visited San Diego for a day and liked it so much we decided to stay overnight. We were dropped off in Old Town by the trolley tour and decided to check into the Hacienda. The last minute deal we were given was great, and the small but spotlessly clean room was great value for money.

Good location. Great city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2010

location great, but when it came time to sleep the party outside our went on for hours even after repeated calls to front desk. So no sleep for our east coast family. Wouldn't recommend it for families.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fooser23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed over three nights at the Hacienda coming off a cruise. Our choice was based on location, close to Old Town San Diego. We were pleasantly surprised to find it was, just like the ads said, right at the edge of the old historic district. The Transit Centre is only a 10 minute walk away and the transit actually works. We had planned to rent a car but found we didn't need to.

Free shuttle service to and from the San Diego Cruise Terminal and the airport was another big draw: saved maybe $50 in taxi fares.

The included breakfast isn't on site, it is at "O'Hungry's" restaurant a (short) block down the street. Not quite as good as being in the same building but we didn't mind.

The hotel comprises a number of buildings all built on the side of a hill. The layout is very up-.and-down: agreed, it's not for the mobility impaired. It was easy to take a wrong turn on our way up, down, and across to the office.

The room itself was lovely: more like a small suite than a room. Great view out over San Diego. The building certainly isn't new but all furnishings, appliances, fixtures etc were in good working order. A malfunctioning plug in the bath tub was replaced quickly by their staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank energizer090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2010

The location is good, but the rooms are old and a bit worn. The iron made a stain on my shirt. I would spend a bit more and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhnshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Egg Harbor, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

This hotel is within one block walking distance to everything Old Town has to offer. Clean, big rooms, friendly staff, and free airport shuttle. Even though we had stomping children above our room and a toilet that was not working properly, I would still go back to this hotel. Great value for the location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 278 in San Diego
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Property: Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing