We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Ranked #81 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

super location next to Old town and hop on hop off trolly. Clean rooms, excellent service, great grounds..a resort class place to stay. parked vehicle on arrival and toured city and attractions without turning a wheel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you. That is one of the excellent things about our location. Depending on your preferences, driving is optional when you stay with us. Not only do we off our complimentary shuttle, but we are within walking distance to the Trolley and train station. You don’t need to worry about a thing. Thanks again for leaving a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    583
    213
    102
    57
See reviews for
563
461
68
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Beautiful room, well laid out and extremely quiet for a great nights rest. Competent friendly staff, easy check in and out. Highly recommended.Traveled with a group of 30 fellow mototcycle enthusiasts and we all had a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Clifford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for staying! We recognize there are many choices of accommodation in San Diego. We’re glad to hear your experience was wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Hacienda Hotel -Best Western- is in one of the greatest locations in San Diego, CA. Love the typical hacienda architecture and most importantly the Service of the entire personnel form Manager and Restaurant Supervisor to room service !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you very much for taking a moment to leave this 5-star review. We sincerely appreciate it. Please come and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

In the heart of Old Town in San Diego, 10 minutes away from Sea World and the beach! Tropical landscaping, newly remodeled rooms, just a fabulous venue. We had 19 rooms there for my fathers surprise 80th birthday party in January and not one complaint from any of our guests nor from the 93 guest who attended his party. The staff bent over backwards to make sure everything was perfect from us from beginning to end.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for this very special occasion. We were honored to celebrate with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

It's hard to say exactly what attracts so many visitors to Old Town -- the history, the shopping, the restaurants? But the Hacienda is well placed to take advantage of it all. A large complex with a number of buildings, the Hacienda has a lovely view, a pool, and complimentary breakfast buffet. Maps available at the front desk are helpful for finding one's way around the complex. The hotel grounds are beautifully accented with fountains and plantings. There is off-street parking, and the transit center is an easy walk away. Desk staff is pleasant for the most part; the housekeeping and grounds crews are friendly and helpful. Moderate rates, and often in summer there are deals offering a free night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pieear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Indeed, this IS where the action is! Thank you for you generous compliments of our views, pool, grounds, staff and breakfast buffet. It sounds like, for you, this is the perfect lodging choice San Diego! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new martinsville, wv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

they advertise all types of free amenities, like internet...but then they added at checkout a $7.99 hotel fee to my bill.I asked what that was for and they replied its for the internet and the other free stuff in my room, like coffee and bottled water.pffffffft to em......don't advertise that something is free and then add on a fee to my daily bill to cover all these free amenities.oh, and the complimentary free drink at the bar was only good on first day of stay.even tho the drink coupon stated it was included because of the extra daily hotel fee.smh.fool me once !.but wont fool me again.La quinta is very close, that's where i'll go next time

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank rblyel9420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Please accept my apology for any confusion caused by our failure to communicate with you properly. I thank you for bringing it to my attention so I can make immediate corrections with our team. For your benefit (as well as members planning travel with us) this gives the opportunity to clarify the resort fee. It covers in-room safe, two bottles of water daily, daily newspaper, use of our airport shuttle, lobby computers and coffee in the morning. If there is anything further you would like to discuss with us, we (Dean or myself) would welcome direct contact with you. We are totally committed to guest satisfaction and recognize that there is always room for improvement. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Wow! The nicest Best Western we have stayed at. It has charm, it is very clean,comfortable with a unique style.the rooms have fridges with complimentary 2 bottles of water.Very friendly staff, we were very well received. The lobby is very nice and warm looking.
This hotel is within walking distance to shops,great Mexican food. Would for sure stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for the huge compliment! We feel absolutely thrilled when we read how well our hotel works out for a guest. We hope you come back soon to again experience our charm, comfort and warm responsiveness! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#20 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,652 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard San Diego Old Town
#149 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Address: 4041 Harney St, San Diego, CA 92110-2866
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing