We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Nearby Hotels
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$283
$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$164
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$217
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,165)
Filter reviews
2,165 results
Traveler rating
923
756
281
133
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
756
281
133
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstequila factorywhaley houseplaza levelspanish stylemexican fooddifferent buildingswithin walking distanceon site restaurantbeautiful hotelrestaurants and shopsparking garagesitting areatrolley stationfree breakfastrooms are largebit datedper night
Filter
Updating list...
1,458 - 1,463 of 2,165 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This Best Western is in the heart of old town. The décor is fun but a little dated; think hacienda style. The rooms are very large and have plantation shutters to add to the ambience of an old style Spanish hacienda. The room was sparkly clean and comfortable. The only thing I didn’t like is that I arrived late and exhausted and there was a long line to check in (at midnight) it was a significant hike to get to my room – as in down a full block and up a hill. Had I not been tired I would not have minded. This hotel is also located close to the Amtrack and commuter station in Old Town.

Room Tip: You may want to ask how far away from reception you room is, and how many flights of stairs will be involved. This is a lovely property but if you have luggage the fact it sets into a cliff face will matter to you.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consultantgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for your favorable review. Please accept my apology for the line at check-in. That must have been a fluke as most check-ins occur in the early evening. Nevertheless, we’re sorry if you felt any inconvenience whatsoever. We’re glad to hear the ambiance, cleanliness and location were highlights for you. Please call ahead of your next stay, so we can welcome you back as a returning guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We booked into this hotel for a planned overnight after a cruise so we could meet up with our nephew and his family. They drove into town and this hotel was perfect for entertaining them and their three children. It is built with multiple stone patio areas with tables and umbrellas, and we walked down a short hill right to the street with shops and restaurants. There is a laundromat at reasonable prices inside as well as a heated pool. The rooms are comfortable and spacious enough. It's design is lovely, however, at first we felt like rats running a maze, because there are several buildings connected by patios and we had several turns to learn to get to our room. All in all, though we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elexegente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thanks for this review. I enjoyed reading it and am happy everyone in your family was comfortable. Sounds like an enjoyable time was had by all! We hope another occasion brings you back to the Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town again this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I found this place because my step sister had her wedding reception at the hotel restaurant. Although that experience was not ideal (restaurant tried to justify charging $6 for a bottle of Bud Light) the hotel and rooms are fantastic. Clean, decent price and decent-sized rooms. Great shops and restaurants within walking distance and the Metro trolley is right up the street and will take you anywhere in San Diego. We have stayed here every year for the past 4 years while Supercross is in town and we have never had a bad experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for giving us your two thumbs up! We sincerely appreciate the vote of confidence, not to mention suggestion for improved service in the restaurant. If on any future stay you need assistance, please ask for me or our front desk manager Dean. We are here to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Walking distance to great Mexican food and fun tourist shopping. Great location to stay if your going to a event at Valley View Casino Center. $10 cab ride. The room it self had great views from every point. the restaurant served a great welcome Margie

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for making the Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town your home away from home in San Diego! We look forward to welcoming you back (with a margarita)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had to stay in a hotel while our building was being fumigated. I chose the Hacienda Hotel because of it location and was very pleased with the hotel. My room was clean, comfortable, and had a great view of the bay and city. The hotel location is perfect for walking around Old Town and it is close to many restaurants, museums, and shops. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting San Diego.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for highlighting our cleanliness, comfort and location in the heart of Old Town as reasons for giving us this excellent rating. We’re glad you had a great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews