We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Hacienda Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Ranked #70 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I chose Best Western Hacienda Hotel based on the review given by YELP. I was not expecting much because of the price I paid for my room. I am quite surprise for the value iIreceived. The Hotel staff are very friendly. I had a huge room, AC, coffee maker, fridge and microwave. Very comfortable bed and we slept well. The Hotel has a good location. There are plenty of restaurants and souvenir shops just blocks away. San Diego Avenue which is a block away has a festive atmosphere in the evening and a safe walk. Our room is isolated from the noise considering that San Diego Avenue is only a block away. I only wish that the Hotel has centralized AC but I think the Hotel is a bargain for what I paid for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We are thrilled to hear we exceeded your expectations! We usually have a special here on TripAdvisor and offer some awesome packages through our site for those looking for even more value. We are honored to hear your list of compliments from the comfort of the bed, the centralized location, and the quiet peacefulness. Every time you come, you can expect this same level of hospitality! Thank you for taking time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,400 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice friendly staffed hotel complex. Sits in Old Town with numerous places to visit within walking distance. Keep in mind this hotel comprises several buildings on a hillside, providing a beautiful view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for pointing out our famous view while sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. We’re glad you found it beautiful and a highlight of your stay. For those planning travel, be sure to look through our collection of photos here on our page so get a hint of what awaits you! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We always enjoy our stay here. The rooms are clean and quiet. The office staff are very friendly, always smiling and helpful. What impressed me the most this time was the quality of service from staff members who were working outside or walking around the property. Always watching to see if you need anything or look lost (the place is huge!) or just greet you. We managed to get from the garage to our room using elevators. (Plaza level, Building 3). Walking to shops and restaurants is so easy. We will be back.

Room Tip: Building 3, Plaza Level was fine, except it might be noisy if people are using the tables and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CA2wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for this excellent feedback! As a frequent contributor to TripAdvisor, your impressions are particularly meaningful. I look forward to sharing your words with our team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

great place to stay. good prices in heart of old town san diego. great staff, clean rooms, always good prices on you hotel room. always parking available for a small cost. the staff is very helping and polite. easy check in and out. always our favorite vacation spot to stay is old town best western hacienda hotel. best time of year is summer. great weather for the swiming or just relaxing by the pool..the specials on the rooms some times enclude a free breakfast..good food. close by the other restruants and shopping, music

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Rudy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Great list style review. These are so helpful to travelers planning a visit. Thank you for including value, service and cleanliness as part of your reasons for giving us a 5-star rating! Come and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

LOVED this place ... wish we'd spent more than 1 night. The BW Hacienda is big and climbs up a hill, but that's what makes it so neat. Our room was 3 or 4 (hard to tell) levels up from the main office ... and about a block away, but we found it easy to maneuver. All rooms open up to the outdoors where there are lots of fountains, flowers, palm trees, twinkling lights, tables/chairs w/umbrellas ... and just great ambiance in general. The room itself was clean, spacious (had 2 queen beds) and well equipped w/incidentals, coffee, microwave, 2 sinks, flat screen tv, vaulted ceiling, heat/air, ceiling fan, reading material, etc ... and was very comfortable for sleeping. There's a very nice outdoor pool with a view of San Diego, and 3 computers w/printer in the office for business needs. And the location is perfect for visiting the Old Town area of San Diego ... pretty much right in the middle of everything including shopping, museum, dining. I'd highly recommend this hotel ... and when you get hungry visit the Coyote Cafe a block away (fast, friendly, delicious).

Room Tip: If you need to be close to the office, ask. Personally we liked being 3-4 levels and 1 block away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paintgirlchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Great review! And neat photo memory of your night with us. We value your opinion and appreciate you pointing out so many of our amenities that made you love your stay. We wish you had stayed longer too and hope that another San Diego visit is in the works! Thank you very much for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice hotel in Old Town. Stayed here last year and loved it. This year we were in the 600 set of rooms, it was like a maze to get to our room. The hotel is huge and very spread out. You can walk up several flights of steps or take the elevator to one level, walk to the next elevator and do this a few times until you reach your set of rooms. The rooms are clean and spacious and the area is quiet. You walk down the stairs and down the hill and you are at all the shops and cafes. Great location, good breakfast buffet. If we stay again it will only be in an area that's not so hard to get to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoPawsUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Awesome review! Thank you. Come and see us again. We will assign you to the perfect location!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family did a quickie trip to Old Town San Diego so we decided at the Best Western Plus as it is right next door. The grounds are very pretty and the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit on the old side but, they were clean and comfortable with a flat screen TV, free wifi, fridge, and microwave. We got a new view of the city from front door as well. Parking will set you back $12 but, it is covered.

You also get complimentary breakfast at either Acapulco Restaurant nearby or a place near the entrance of Old Town called O'Hungrys. We opted for O'Hungry's and it wasn't bad.

If we ever opt to stay in Old Town again, we would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterlc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for adding your comments and photos to our collection here on TripAdvisor. You do have a knack for lighting! These are so helpful for those planning to stay with us. We hope that another visit is in your plans. Call ahead so we can be sure to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#24 of 278 in San Diego
2,265 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#11 of 278 in San Diego
1,919 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $112 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing