We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Western Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Old Town Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,144)
Filter reviews
2,144 results
Traveler rating
912
748
279
133
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
912
748
279
133
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstequila factorywhaley houseplaza levelspanish stylemexican fooddifferent buildingswithin walking distanceon site restaurantbeautiful hotelrestaurants and shopsparking garagesitting areatrolley stationfree breakfastrooms are largebit datedper night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,750 - 1,755 of 2,144 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We recently visited san diego and decided to stay at the best western as it was an easy drive from our hire car depot for the first night. The complex is big and has a lot of stairs though there are lifts to make life a bit easier with luggage. We made it (eventually) to our rooms in block 6 and were somewhat disappointed with them as they were a bit musty and put it down to either lack of fresh air or the type of furniture. They were clean but could maybe do with a bit of freshening up. The views were quite fantastic over seaworld area and old town was a 5 minute walk with its restaurants and bars. Overall i think the hotel was expensive for what was offered and was shocked to be charged a $7 resort charge for each room.....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I was visiting with a large group for a buisness confrence. The hotel staff were helpful to a point. Rooms are clean and spacious, however the decor is well out of date. Not to mention the aircon units that just burn out and stop working, and are then replaced with a small portable fan to take its place. This happened to 3 of our workmates in seperate rooms, and were not fixed by the time we had checked out up to 3 days later. Having said that it is very well situated in the old town close to shops and places to eat. 5 minutes walk to the trolly if you want to hit the CBD for more shopping.
In a nutshell this place is OK...just OK. I would stay here again for the location and price but you will get what you pay for so dont expect a fan fair and staff that will do back flips of joy as you enter.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank McPlump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I thought this hotel had all the charm of a mexican hacienda complete with flowering bushes of bouganvilla and mandeville and hibiscus. There are stairs, but the elevator takes you to each level and then there is only a half flight to contend with. Parking rates are good compared to san. fran. and l.a. Our room was a good size complete with hair dryer, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Noise not an issue here as you are folded into the hillside....hence the multi-level venue. Free computer/printer use in the lobby. Queen pillow topped beds extremely comfortable. The best part is being steps from everything Old Town has to offer. A bargain shopper's paradise for dresses, art, and souveniers. Transportation to the main town is at the end of the street. Lots of great restaurants at your fingertips offering mostly mexican but also good american cuisine. Nice lobby and lots of 'nooks' to sit and relax in .

Room Tip: Check to see if you can get the voucher for breakfast....i thought it was included but found out i didn't have one. my room overlooked the airport (no noise though) and the pool. lovely porch/balcony. could see the fireworks at sea world at ten.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontariodeb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Planned a weekend for my wife and I for our Anniversary. We stayed for two nights. While we were out room service came to clean the room and went threw my wifes luggage and stole her wedding rings. It was so upsetting that someone would do something like this. The ring was worth 2,500. It's not the price of the ring but my we lost something that was very special to my wife and I. They are not replaceable. My wife is very upset but more hurt than anything that someone would so such a thing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justuandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here during comic con weekend, Room was 2 queen beds. Beds were very comfortable. Room was large with a small sitting. area. Outside bench with view of San Diego city, planes taking off from airport and fireworks at Sea World. Free breakfast was good and happy hour was good also. Nice walk to metro station at the bottom of old town. Parking especially this weekend was a problem. Would highly recommend this place. Give it a 4 t0 4.5

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennisrw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews