We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location - can't get any closer to the beach anywhere you look!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location - can't get any closer to the beach anywhere you look!”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

I had a bus/pleasure trip and wanted to get oceanside. We had a wonderful time nestled right off the beach. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance and many shops. This location is great for the kids as well; we had a blast. The management was especially friendly, definitely coming back!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank defreckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    433
    124
    43
    26
See reviews for
609
442
72
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee, wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

My son (13 years) was very interested in visiting the San Diego Zoo and Sea World, so I decided to look on the internet for a hotel to help make our stay perfect. I knew we wanted a hotel with a pool and whirlpool, and a location right on the beach. The Blue Sea advertised all those things, and I thought we couldn't go wrong with a Best Western. We weren't disappointed. The front desk was very helpful to us in getting to those attractions, from giving us advice to using the city bus (which we decided to use, and was very clean, comfortable, and convenient) (we decided not to rent a car), and coupons to get into the attractions. They gave us advice on pizza delivery, and was not disappointed with that either. We enjoyed the large TV with cable. I'm glad I read a review of the hotel on-line before we checked-in, because I knew to expect a smaller size than usual hotel room. But the patio & chairs, TV, microwave, refrigerator, use of robes, all made up for it. That beautiful ocean and boardwalk was worth every penny. And considering the amount of people staying at the hotel, it was very quiet.
We would definitely go back to the Blue Sea again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank startingtotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

To clarify, this review is for the Best Western Blue Sea Lodge on Pacific Beach -- just south of Crystal Pier and north of Mission Beach -- a great no-frills hotel.

We went at the height of Spring Break and weren't expecting much. The fact that we got upgraded to a suite from a 2-queen room was a great bonus (probably because we were traveling with kids who wouldn't mind sleeping on a sofa bed). Secure access all around including private access to the boardwalk. If your car fits (our SUV did), also secured covered garage access -- well worth the daily charge in crowded Pacific Beach. Easy walk to great eateries and within 10 miles of San Diego airport, San Diego Zoo/Balboa Park, Sea World and Mission Bayfront area. About 30 miles south of San Diego Wild Animal Park. Excellent sunset views from the pool chaise lounges! Say it with me: on ... the ... beach.

The only negative I can think of was that the maid service was a little unpredictable (one weekday, no service till 3:00), but were quick to respond when called. Overall, great location, great value, great experience -- would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaNative07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

We arrived in San Diego late at night with no place to stay. Upon arrival, the staff was most considerate and found us a room for a great rate. When we decided to stay a few more nights, the staff and especially the Manager Kimberly Hubbard were most gracious and offered us a selection of rooms, including a suite with an ocean view for the same price as the king we had been in. They all went out of their way to accomodate us, provide directions and suggestions, and when we checked out and I asked to speak to her to compliment her and her staff, she then gave us chocolate chip cookies! The newly remodeled rooms are great too! Clean and very well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylviaDMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

Based on reviews and prior experience at a sister property at Pismo Beach, my husband and I were looking forward to our "Oceanview" room at Pacific Beach while he attended a conference. Check in was quick-got room keys to room #344. Parking provided was covered garage but it was quite a trek to the elevator to get to the room. Opened the room and immeidately saw an open purse on the floor as well as a suitcase with clothes. Ooops-our room key worked just fine but someone else was already staying there. Very disconcerting. Thinking things happen sometimes and rolled our luggage all the way back to the lobby which was two buildings and three floors away. Asked for Matt the person who checked us in and he at first said it couldn't have happened (like we were lying!). Then he did something on the computer and said "oh my bad, I looked at the number wrong"-ran our cards back through the machine and told us it should be room 244. Never apologized or offered any other explanation. At this point I felt very uncomfortable and told my husband we'd be taking all valuables with us if we went out. Got to room 244 and immediately noticed the disinfectant smell obviously covering up what smelled like stale beer. The room was very small but adequate, however what we thought would be an oceanview room had a view into the bedroom of the old apartment complex immediately next door. Walking out onto the small balcony, you could see a view of the beach looking down an alley filled with garbage cans and cars. My husband went back once again to the desk to inquire about any other room that might be available and was told for a $60 additional/night fee we could get a partial ocean view in room 245. He brought the key back for us to view that room and once again it was just one room closer but the view wasn't any better-just didn't have the bedroom across from our window. When my husband went back to discuss with the desk clerk he was saying if we didn't like it and we checked out that we'd still have to pay the one night. No effort to help us get a better room whatsoever. Fortunately my Sprint Instinct phone located available rooms nearby and we ended up staying on the Crystal Pier "sleeping over the ocean" for only $40 more a night. Please ask if you can see your room before signing any papers or agreeing to stay. We are experienced, tolerant people who have reasonable expectations for service and accomodations. This was way below anything we have experienced recently and would not recommend to anyone. There are many other places to stay in this area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPARKLELasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Most pleasant stay, incredibly helpful staff, Kimberly made every effort to accommodate us, as did the Manager Reuben. Wonderful views and sunset’s from the ocean front suite. Our maid Caroline did an excellent cleaning job every day. Nice pool area overlooking the sea, shops all nearby. It certainly beats our winter in England. We would definitely like to come back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSnaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We've walked by this place many times thinking we couldn't afford it but found an Internet special and took advantage of it. We weren't sorry. We were steps away from the pool and Pacific Ocean with Mission Bay across the street. The room was small but comfortable. The view spectacular especially the sunsets. We will stay there again when we travel that way. Hotel staff accommodating. Only negative -- pay to park about $20 a day.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeetBeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 278 in San Diego
1,046 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#97 of 278 in San Diego
672 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing