We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Would stay again in a heartbeat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #17 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Chilliwack BC Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would stay again in a heartbeat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great location. Rooms clean and updated. Steps away from the beach. A bit pricey but the location is fabulous. We had king suite facing beach. Paid a-little extra but well worth it as with 2 teens we were able to spread out a bit and 2 baths was s blessing. Loved the view and great sunsets. All staff were very pleasant,kind and helpful. Would not second guess staying here again. Best little hotel we have ever stayed in. One of our best hotel experiences.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sdtrip4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Wow! It brings me and my team great pride and joy when we are able to provide accommodations that elicit a “best hotel experience”! Thank you for those wonderful comments and we be more than happy have you stay with us again in a “heartbeat”!

Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    394
    109
    40
    23
See reviews for
534
387
66
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We took this trip specifically to go surfing for the first time. This hotel was the PERFECT location. Our surf lessons (with Pacific Surf School - excellent) were just steps from our ocean-view room. I could have thrown a towel at them from our balcony. The room was very clean and comfortable, the staff was very nice and helpful and the location just couldn't be better. There are plenty of good restaurants and pubs right next door and all along the boardwalk. The beach is wonderful, the pool area at the hotel was nice too. The hotel also has bike rental, so one day after surfing we rented bikes and rode up to La Jolla Cove.

We'll be going back, for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean-view rooms are expensive, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

First of all let me state that we probably wouldn't have stayed here because of the cost, had we not been down for a wedding. That being said, this is a great location, being on Pacific Beach, within walking distance to restaurants and the beach. The check-in/out staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were tastefully appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a little inconvenient for two people to get in/out with the sink being at the door. Our tv reception for some reason was bad, but the movie channels seemed to be clear. Parking is at a premium in the whole area, so an additional fee of $18 per night per car is tacked on to your bill.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEnglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Newly renovated, oceanfront and close to restaurants makes it a perfect place for families! We got the king suite with rollout sofa and two bathrooms. Even a balcony for the suite area and bedroom. Way exceeded our expectations and would definitely come back here.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Location is wonderful! Beach right outside, sand in your toes within seconds. Not all rooms have the beach view, unfortunantely ours faced the parking lot. Boo! Parking is $18.00!!!!!! And pretty much mandatory, finding parking on your own...not feasible. Rooms were clean, nicely decorated and beds comfortable.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lissafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lakewood
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here in April and it was awesome. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and well equipped. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby and of course the ocean and boardwalk too. You can find a better spot for people watching, running, walking, and relaxing. They have a great pool too with a great view of the ocean and board walk. We could have stayed there there another week rather than the 4 short days we had booked.

Room Tip: I didn't book far enough in advance to get an ocean front room but we'll get one next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 56Special
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietlikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We are a family of five and had an ocean front suite with two bathrooms and enough space for the five of us. Terrific view of the beach, although the balcony is a little tight, but then you spend most time on the beach anyway.
Great service, excellent location also with restaurants and shops nearby. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Friedemann2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,852 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing