We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Newly renovated, oceanfront and close to restaurants makes it a perfect place for families! We got the king suite with rollout sofa and two bathrooms. Even a balcony for the suite area and bedroom. Way exceeded our expectations and would definitely come back here.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    433
    124
    43
    26
See reviews for
609
442
72
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Location is wonderful! Beach right outside, sand in your toes within seconds. Not all rooms have the beach view, unfortunantely ours faced the parking lot. Boo! Parking is $18.00!!!!!! And pretty much mandatory, finding parking on your own...not feasible. Rooms were clean, nicely decorated and beds comfortable.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lissafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lakewood
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed here in April and it was awesome. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and well equipped. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby and of course the ocean and boardwalk too. You can find a better spot for people watching, running, walking, and relaxing. They have a great pool too with a great view of the ocean and board walk. We could have stayed there there another week rather than the 4 short days we had booked.

Room Tip: I didn't book far enough in advance to get an ocean front room but we'll get one next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 56Special
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dietlikon, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We are a family of five and had an ocean front suite with two bathrooms and enough space for the five of us. Terrific view of the beach, although the balcony is a little tight, but then you spend most time on the beach anyway.
Great service, excellent location also with restaurants and shops nearby. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Friedemann2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

On our recent trip to San Diego to visit our 10 year old grand daughter, we decided to take her to the beach for a few days. Our choice was the Blue Sea. We stayed there last year and saw much improvements over the previous year! The rooms were much nicer, cleaner and overall fresher. I think they could use more lawn chairs at the pool area and maybe someone or some policy for bursts to boy place a towel on a chair and use it on an diff throughout the day. Also had to speak to some 30 something about their language in the pool area due to our granddaughter and other younger children in the pool. One more important note: if you want to swim or let the children play at the beach, you have to lug all of your beach gear quite a easy down the beach as the areas around the hotel are strictly for surf boarding only!

Room Tip: Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were three adults, one handicapped, a 1 yr old and a car. This was our third hotel in as many nights and this was by far the best (others were name brand i.e. Embassy, Sheraton. Great remodeled and clean room. Bedding was lovely, even the crib. Pool area is nice and I think there is a "view" from every room. Great when those Marines run by! But please, if you are over 250# male - PLEASE WEAR A SHIRT! Can we just say EW!!! Sadly our room faced the whirlpool. Access to this fun fun beach is perfect for the vacationer. I probably should take stars away for the elevators which were a bit jolty but the parking and close-by shopping and restaurants make up for it.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea :), maybe be upstairs ….
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pelligrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband was attending a Conference in Downtown San Diego, and I took our 2 girls (5 & 10) to go surfing. Easy cab ride, great room, great for kids, walking distance to CVS, grocery store, many eateries. Having the microwave & fridge in the room was a huge plus. Surf lessons are right in front of the hotel and lifeguards were great about keeping everyone informed about tides/currents and swim surf conditions which was great w/trying to keep an eye on both kids in the water. We probably would have stayed an extra night, but they were booked solid through the weekend. Staff was helpful and worked to get us a late check-out, so the kids could wrap-up surf lessons w/time to go back to the room. Easy, convenient and fun!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,045 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 278 in San Diego
671 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing