We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Service, Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #20 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Service, Great Price”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Blue Sea Beach Hotel was a great place to stay. The price was by far the best price I could find on any hotel in San Diego and this hotel was located on the beach. The Rooms are a great size and are immaculately clean, had comfortable beds, nice colors and a great view of the ocean, overall just plain beautiful. The service from the staff was great. The pool area was well maintained and had a open view of the ocean. We parked our car and never used it the entire stay because there was so much to do within walking distance of the hotel. It was a great vacation and I have already booked my next stay there. It's a great feeling to wake up in the morning and look out your window and see the ocean and be able to walk out to it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, Vincent! I am very pleased that our staff and the services we provided you and your family made for a great vacation. Our team looks forward to your stay next summer!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    419
    118
    42
    25
See reviews for
581
427
72
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We booked a king, partial view room. It was a modern, clean, and spatious room. The bed was the best...soooo comfortable. Everywhere we went in the hotel, from the parking garage, to the pool, to the lobby was very clean. Very impressive.
Had trouble getting maid service for two of our three night stay. We were disappointed getting back to our unmade room after being at the beach all day. Once we contacted the front desk...the room was promptly addressed. Upon our checkout, we were compensated one day of parking for the inconvenience of dealing with housekeeping. Speaking of parking...it is pricey. Eighteen dollars per day seemed a bit much...but still worth the stay.
We plan to book again next summer.

Room Tip: Partial view is very nice! Booking early can save several bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pickytraveler6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
So happy to hear that you found our beds to be so comfortable! Thank you for those wonderful comments about how clean you found our facility. Our team takes great pride in maintaining the overall cleanliness of our oceanfront facility. We look forward as you “plan to book again” at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel. Thank you for staying and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very clean. The staff is very nice and more than willing to help with anything! The location is unbeatable. The GM is very hands on and made sure our trip was everything we expected! I will stay here again and again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Karen, we can’t wait to have you back! It was my pleasure along with the rest of my team to make your trip everything you expected. We look forward to having you stay again, again and again! Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Best Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights last week and enjoyed just about every minute of it! Most of the evenings we were in a 2 Queen partial view (one night we were in a King suite with ocean view), and I would highly recommend staying in the partial view rooms...they are a great size with an incredible view! We were able to fit our entire family of 6 in this room, with a roll away, which fit nicely between the two beds, so it really didn't take up any additional space! The 2 Queens also have a tub and shower, whereas the King suite only has a small shower.

The maid service leaves a bit to be desired, though. They don't change the linens unless you specifically ask them (which was okay with us because that's a great way to conserve water and such). However, after the first night we would find our linens throughout the room. One night a bedspread was on the floor, another there were two pillow cases on the chair, so we weren't sure if we were sleeping on fresh ones or not. Little things like that. Also, it was hit or miss as to how many towels we would have after they came through. The first night we had 3 of everything and zero pool towels. I asked for more shower towels and they quickly sent more up. The other nights varied between 2 and 4 sets of shower towels and between 1 and 4 pool towels. The one time we asked for extra pool towels they said they would send someone within 15 minutes. An hour later they still hadn't arrived. Since we had heard that you aren't supposed to take the hotel towels to the beach we brought extras anyway and just used those for the pool and beach. We still hadn't received any extra towels by the time we checked out.

The other negative experience we had was with the roll away. When we switched rooms we specifically asked that the bed be moved as well. They wanted us to get settled first and said they would send it over no later than 7pm. At 9pm I called the front desk and was told we would have it right away. At 11pm I went down to the front desk to ask where it was and was told they would have to check to see if they had any left! I was furious and trying to figure out where 2 members of my family were going to sleep if they didn't have any left. The security guard was apparently the one in charge of getting these kinds of things and had a hard time finding them (and seemed a little put out that we requested one so late). Fortunately, he eventually found one and even though I asked for at least two pillows he only brought one and seemed like I should be grateful for that much.

They were renovating the entire hotel while we were there and it showed in some places. I really hope they weren't finished with the King Suites because there were quite a few things that needed repaired, especially in the bathroom. The main item being the sprinkler above the toilet. It wasn't completely sealed and when we returned from the beach one day there was a HUGE sewer roach in the shower, we had to assume he fell from the hole over the toilet into the shower (they are VERY close).
Also, the refrigerator in the Queen partial view rooms is much larger than the King Suite. However, the A/C unit is upgraded and much nicer/newer in the King. Finally, the bed in the King is not a King. It is the same size as the 2 Queen and we have a King at home and this bed was definitely smaller.

As for noise level, we didn't hear much of anything. In the East building (where our 2Q was) we only heard the normal bumps and thumps of people coming in and dropping off their stuff above us (I just wish it wasn't at 1am). We couldn't hear anything from our "neighbors" on either side of us, except if we happened to be in the bathroom when they were taking a shower, we could hear the water running. When we were in the ocean-view King, the only time we could hear anything other then bumps, thumps, and water running in the bathroom, were when both our patio door and theirs, were open. Once that patio door is shut you barely hear anything from the outside...which was really great!

Parking is $18/night and the spaces near the office are tight. However, there are larger spaces near the West building. There are a TON of great places to eat nearby, so there really isn't any need to move your car too often when you're there.

Also, they don't offer cookies anymore. They now have (or at least during the duration of our stay) fruit, usually apples, available.

Finally, Cody and America were very helpful and friendly. I had a TON of questions and Cody graciously answered every one of them.

Room Tip: If you stay in the ocean-view room be sure to keep the screen closed at all times. There were a ton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4n6_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent 6 night stay at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel. I am very sorry that you did experience some issues with our maid service. Rest assured those items you mentioned are getting addressed. I am very pleased that you found both Cody and America very helpful and that they were able to answer a lot of your questions. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and look forward to having you stay at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel the next time travel brings you to sunny San Diego!
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I booked this hotel because it's beach front and we wanted to go into the ocean in front of our hotel. The lifeguards wouldn't let us go into the water in front of our hotel because surfers had the area flagged off. There was surf instruction right in front of our hotel. This meant we had to go down the beach carrying all of our food, chairs, beach toys, umbrellas, towels and other stuff. What a pain!! If I had known that was going to happen I would have booked the hotel down the way so I could have easy access to my hotel bathroom and amenities. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly, but for the price I want access to the beach in front of MY hotel. Also, they charge an additional $18 per night to park. Don't agree with that. Parking should be included. If you have a big vehicle, be prepared. Stalls are small and area is tight to park.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a view room. My room had very little view and not worth extra $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Kristy, I can sincerely empathize with your frustration of not being able to swim directly in front of our hotel. The life guards, however, do flag off the area for safety reasons. I am very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be very clean and that our staff was friendly. We work very hard to ensure all of our guests feel the same about our hotel and the service we provide. It was a pleasure speaking to you and thank you so much for staying at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel!
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We've been coming to the Blue Sea for years, and love to stay here because it's an oceanfront hotel with lots to do close by. Our room was newly remodeled, spacious and complete with wet bar and refrigerator. A nice new touch was the Keurig coffee maker. We loved sitting on our deck watching the world go by... The boardwalk is 3 miles long so you have joggers, walkers and everything on wheels going by, so don't forget your rollerblades, We rented bikes and went riding everyday around Missin Bay... So beautiful! One of the best parts was taking in the sunset over the ocean each night, We love the Blue Sea, and the GM, Rueben Garza is always there to make sure your stay is wonderful!

Room Tip: Choose an oceanfront room- it's worth the extra money
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments, Peggy! It is always our pleasure to provide you with those oceanfront accommodations. Glad to hear that you that you liked our new Keurig coffee makers. As always, we greatly appreciate your patronage!
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The location is amazing, but otherwise nothing special here. The fridge is ridiculously small, so bring an ice chest. The rooms are on the smaller side. This is a completely smoking free hotel. No continental breakfast, but they do have a Kurig in each room. An additional $18 a night to park.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank meyellowbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am happy to hear that you find our location to be “amazing” ! I am sorry to hear though that you found your room to be on the smaller side. You would be happy to know that we do offer some very spacious 2 room oceanfront suites that sleep up to 6 guests very comfortably. I would be more than happy to assist you personally with your reservations the next time you plan to visit the Blue Sea Beach Hotel. Thank you so much for staying at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel.

Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#103 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing