We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for single travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for single travelers”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I'm a single lady in my 30's and was vacationing Mon-Fri. I wanted a hotel on the beach that I could feel safe walking around/coming in late. Blue Sea was perfect for my needs! The staff was friendly, the location was well lit and mostly residential so there was not a lot of foot traffic after dark. The bed was comfortable. The room was nicely decorated (I was in a renovated room). Overall, the hotel was comfortable and affordable. I enjoyed the Philosophy brand bath products, they were a nice touch. I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SingleLadyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
I am very pleased that our staff and facility was “perfect” for your needs! We greatly appreciate you choosing the Blue Sea Beach Hotel for your hotel accommodations in San Diego. We look forward to your next visit from Houston, Texas to Sunny San Diego!
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    432
    124
    43
    26
See reviews for
608
442
72
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel was AMAZING! It is all about location, location, location. The placement right on the beach is exactly what we needed for our relaxing weekend in San Diego. We had an ocean front view room that was stunning. The weather wasn’t the greatest while we were there but that is not the hotel’s fault. The heated pool and hot tub were great. The hotel is going through a renovation and there were many signs of that. We were in one of the renovated rooms and it was done very tastefully. Be aware that there is an 18 dollar fee for parking. If you have a bigger car, you are going to have problems parking in their lot. I sure hope to get to stay here again with a future visit to San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ditzgrl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
I am so happy to hear that you “loved this hotel” and that it was “Amazing”! Thank you for your comments on the newly renovated room. Our design team worked very hard to come up with this new décor and I am glad that you, like many of our other guests, have enjoyed this new look. We at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel also hope that you will get to here again the next time you visit sunny San Diego. Thank you for staying with us!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel several times when it was a Best Western and it is much improved now that Pacifica Hotels own it. Rooms have been refurbished but you need to make sure you get one of the new rooms - we had 3 rooms and only 1 was in the main part of the hotel at the front and refurbished. Despite booking the other 2 rooms in that part of the hotel we were allocated rooms over the Lobby area and overlooking the car park which can be noisy. Our sea view room on the front was nicely decorated but the balcony was tiny and a bit cramped especially with the furniture on it. Also when we originally checked in we did not have a telephone so we were then moved to another ....much larger room - have to ask when we had booked 3 rooms for 10 days why we were not given this better room in the first place? Car Parking is pricey at $18 per day and on top of the room rate .... also later in the day not easy to find a space. The Lobby is much improved with a sitting area, coffee bar and nice touch - free apples!

Room Tip: The newly refurbished rooms are far superior, and make sure that you are not allocated one in the an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djm53london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for commenting on our renovated rooms and I am very happy that you enjoyed those oceanfront accommodations! I am sorry, though, that we were not able to accommodate all of your rooms in the renovated building but rest assured the next time you do stay with us, all rooms plus the lobby will have been renovated. Thank you for your continued patronage and we look forward toward your next visit!
Respectfully,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel recently renovated their rooms so don't be concerned about the lobby. The location is fantastic, right on the beach. You can bike to Sunset Cliffs and walk to great restaurants. We had a great time, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank afarinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
It was a pleasure having you as a guest during your recent visit to Pacific Beach. We are located within walking distance to all the attractions the beach has to offer and a short drive to everything else in San Diego. We hope to have you back again in the near future and thank you for staying at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel!

Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is our 3rd visit to this hotel and the newly renovated rooms was a plus. Its beautiful here and so easy for food, things to do, beaches. I am completely happy with the service we had, the front desk was so kind each and every time we entered your lovely lobby. We were made to feel so comfortable. Thank you so much for making this our new favorite place in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are ecstatic to be your new favorite hotel in San Diego. It is our goal to ensure all of our guests receive the personal service and high quality accommodations that you have written about in your review. Thank you for making us your home away from home. We can’t wait to see you again on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The newly renovated room was beautiful and had almost everything, including a lovely view of the ocean and pool.
Just two problems: the patio furniture was too large for the tiny balcony, so we could hardly manage to fit and the elevator was not working. It appears that much of the hotel is currently under renovation, although it was not intrusive. Parking is extra. If you stay in the front building, park in the underground parking if possible, since you can then take the elevator straight to your floor.

Room Tip: Get a room in one of the front buildings for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SezLuckyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
I’m pleased that you enjoyed the fabulous views of the ocean during your visit. I appreciate your opinion on the patio furniture; I’ll definitely take that into consideration when we choose replacement furniture. I am happy to report that the elevator issue has been rectified and is fully functional. Thank you for staying with us!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We visit San Diego frequently and always stay at the Blue Sea Lodge. The manager Ruben Garza along with his staff always treat us first class. The rooms have been remodeled to make them even more appealing. We enjoy the overall vibe and location of this great property which is located right on the Pacific Ocean just a few steps away from great eating and shopping. We will continue to frequent The Blue Sea Lodge...

Room Tip: We like Ocean side rooms to get the full experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pastor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
It’s always a pleasure having you stay with us. We are pleased that you liked the newly remodeled rooms; we all agree that it is a tremendous improvement and we are very excited that our frequent guests have all approved of the changes. We’ll see you again on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 278 in San Diego
1,045 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#97 of 278 in San Diego
671 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing