We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectation”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I chose this hotel while I was in San Diego for a business conference at another resort & had planned for my family to join me. Mid-week I decided to switch our reservation so we could be beach front. Upon arrival/check-in, I was pleasantly surprised to see our room had gone through a major remodel/upgrade compared to prior reviews and photos online. The look of the exterior is deceiving to the inside - very clean & remodeled. Even if you only get partial view of the beach, you certainly get the sound of the ocean waves. Our room had a mini fridge & microwave, which worked great for us. Super easy to walk right out on the beach and/or the boardwalk. Although you pay to park in their lot, their parking prices are cheaper than most hotels in the area. If you are patient enough to wait, we always were able to find a spot in the small public parking area (car must be moved every 24 hours if you park in the public lot). You are about 15 minutes from Sea World, 20-30 minutes to the San Diego Zoo & Safari Park, & 10-15 minutes to La Jolla (view of sea lions), so a car is recommended. We really enjoyed our stay in San Diego and the Blue Sea Beach Hotel was a great online find!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
“Exceeded Expectation”That is always our goal at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel, Sarah! Thank you for those wonderful comments!
Regard,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    423
    120
    42
    25
See reviews for
588
433
72
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Hill, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This hotel has had a major remodel. It is done very tastefully. The rooms are quite large and comfortable, but not all have an ocean view. We were able to get a partial view from our balcony. The staff was very pleasant and the hotel was nice and quiet most of the time. It lacks an onsite restaurant but there are options within walking distance. The onsite parking is expensive but well worth it. The only thing the room lacked was a much needed microwave. We had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If you can be on the beach, do so. What a wonderful view of the Pacific Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you Cindy for staying at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel! We are so happy that you enjoyed your accommodations in one of our newly renovated rooms. Your patronage is greatly valued and appreciated!
Regards,

Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon MO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were in San Diego and stayed at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel in Mid February this year. We had a partial ocean view room that was newly decorated. The staff was extremely accomodating. Check in was a breeze, and our stay could not have been better. We loved the boardwalk, and restaurant next door. Do not hesitate to stay here!
p.s. as a travel agent, I had a coupon I passed on to someone else. When they booked there was some confusion, and the manager stepped up to the plate and took care of it immediately. That''s customer service as it should be!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us, Ann! We look forward to providing you and your clients with some great service and accommodations in the near future!
Sincerely,

Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The location of the Hotel, in the middle of the boardwalk along Mission Beach, is where you want to be. We had an ocean front room that was homey, clean and comfortable. The management obviously takes care to fix things when they wear out. This ship was in order.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms overlook the boardwalk. It can be a little noisy with the door open but worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GERALD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Our team does take great pride in keeping the Blue Sea Beach Hotel looking great! Rest assured I will pass your comments to the rest of our team. Thank you for staying with us!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love in SD but needed a mini stay-cation and this was where my bf likes to surf... Up the beach a little. So we decided to stay and it was amazing! The Room was stunning, keurig & mini wet bar.
Amazing view of beach and the spa/pool have a stunning view of beach too. Rooms are newly renovated and they did an amazing job!!! We fell in love the second we walked in!!! In walking distance to all restaurants, boardwalk and bars. 10 stars!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for those wonderful comments, Brandy! I am very happy to hear that you found our newly renovated rooms to be stunning. We would “absolutely” love to have you back for your next Stay-cation!
Sincerely,

Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed in a newly decorated room with a balcony on the beach. Beautiful sunsets and loved hearing the ocean at night. The location could not be better. Personnel at the hotel seemed a bit overworked, but they were eventually and ultimately helpful. Would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, Gretchen. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy some beautiful sunsets from your balcony. Thank you for staying and we look forward toward your next relaxing stay at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel.
Regards,

Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a good time at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel.
It is a good hotel in a great location for a holiday in San Diego, it is right on the beach, close to shops, restaurants and bars.
The rooms are large and clean.
The building is old and a dated but it was being renovated while we were there so I would say they are addressing this already.
There is plenty of parking for a fee, as you really need a car if you want to explore San Diego.
All in all we can recommend it as a good place to stay at a good price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Easytravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments! The next time travel takes you away from Australia and brings you to San Diego, it would be our pleasure to accommodate you once again. Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
1,033 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing