We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel - location is unbelievable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel - location is unbelievable!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Rooms were ready when we arrived at 3 p.m. Very friendly front desk staff our entire stay - always greeted us and chatted. Had snacks available - apples, cookies, flavored water in the lobby for hotel guests. Lobby is very bright and cheery. Rooms are really nice - bright, clean. We did discover an ant issue in the bathroom but this was taken care of shortly after we mentioned it to the front desk. We had a partial ocean view and street view - street is actually quite noisy, but we got used to it. Loved, loved, loved the location - right off the beach and boardwalk. Lots of shops and restaurants to walk to. We used the pool and hot tub a lot! Was nice to go jump in the pool after a day of playing on the beach and in the waves. Wifi was free and had never had trouble connecting or staying connected. Overall, we would stay in this hotel again in a heartbeat. Great staff and amazing location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRiderSSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    433
    124
    43
    26
See reviews for
609
442
72
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights. This is a Best Western as anyone can expect – no surprises. Quick check in and check out. Enough space in the room. The location, at Pacific Beach served us very well - close to Sea World, Old Town, airport and not very far from downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
MamaT33, we enjoyed having you as our guest and are pleased to offer you quick and efficient service. Many of our guests come back year after year because of our affordable beach front accommodations. We hope to see you and your family on many more trips to come!

Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The room was very clean and the staff was accommodating. I would probably stay at this hotel again, but in another room. The hotel was in a great location, but the shower head kept falling off, and the choice of TV stations was sad. The screen door was difficult to open and shut. The air conditioning was freezing or not on at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is great, the staff is friendly and courteous, the facilities are kept very clean and neat. Great service, good location. Ask for an Ocean Front room, you will not regret it. From sunsets viewed from your balcony to the beach a few steps away, wonderful destination.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 848randyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in the pool suite with a great view of Pacific Beach from the sofa. We had patio chairs and a private patio as well as access to the pool and jacuzzi. Everything we wanted, dining, shopping, Belmont Park and beach were within a few minutes walk. I loved that we could park onsite and there was security.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Christos B, I agree our poolside rooms and suites are a great place to sit back and enjoy all the beach has to offer (without getting sand on your feet). Our year round heated pool and spa with unobstructed views to the water are guest favorites. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great beach front location. Walk to restaurants, beach activities, Belmont Park. Not a lot of parking if you arrive late at night. Parking fee is reasonable. No free breakfast but they provide a small area in lobby to purchase food, but many restaurants along the boardwalk offereing breakfast, lunch, dinner. Very nice staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Best Western Blue Sea Lodge 4 times now over the past 7 years. We choose it every time we want to stay in the Pacific Beach/Mission Beach area. The hotel is literally 20 feet from the ocean, the rooms are simple but clean and decent sized equipped with mini fridges, coffee maker, and microwave. The hotel staff has always gone out of their way to do a little something extra if you need it, and the prices are really fair for being in such a prime location. I really recommend this hotel for those who don't want to spend their life savings on a weeks vacation but still want to be right on the beach!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,045 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#98 of 278 in San Diego
671 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing