We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“kkw” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia Falls
1 review
“kkw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

very nice, a little on the expensive side, very friendly staff, should have said something about a few things that were not working right. I'm sure they would have fixed them. I would stay here again. I was all setup for another hotel, I changed at the last minute, glad I did

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    387
    105
    40
    22
See reviews for
527
378
66
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My room was a nice size with a kitchenette. The beds are comfortable and all the rooms have balconies ! Walk out the hotel door and you are on the beach....it couldn't be better !! My stay was wonderful and I plan to stay again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank meyellowbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you're planning for a great time at the beach this is the place to be. You can be steps away from the ocean and listen to the relaxing sound of the surf from your room's balcony. Everything you need is within short walking distance. The Best Western flag ensures that your room will be clean and safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments! Many of our guests do enjoy our proximity to the sand and ocean which allows them to hear those relaxing sounds of the surf! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Sincerely,
Ruben G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great location & there is a hot tub and out door shower to rinse the sand off after coming from the beach. This is right on the beach/boardwalk. rooms are a bit out dated & can be a bit musty if it's humid (labor day weekend was). a bit pricey as well for the hotel and rooms, but again it's a straight walk out to the beach and on the boardwalk. Also, the staff both times we've stayed were wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lucinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You can not beat the location of this hotel. Right on the beach. Plenty of parking. Nice pool area with hot tub. Rooms were nice - clean and comfortable. My one complaint was that there are only ice machines on the first floor, kind of inconvenient. Overall, great experience.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend an oceanview room. Quite pricey but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sclay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Blue Sea Lodge in Pacific Beach a total of six times. We have been there in all of the seasons, and very much enjoyed the stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit small, however they are very clean and appointed well. We have always gotten a room with a front ocean view. That in itself is one of the most outstanding aspects of the stay. Anything you could possibly want is within walking distance of the hotel. Many shops and great eateries in the area. This hotel is a great place to get away and relax. We have always had a great time in Pacific Beach, and the Blue Sea Lodge just makes the time that much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: If at all possible, try to get an ocean front room. During the summer months try to avoid the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Phil B,
Thank you for those wonderful comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff! We greatly appreciate your patronage over the past 6 years and we look forward to providing you and your wife with exceptional beach front accommodations for the years to come!
Most Sincerely,
Ruben G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Traveled here with some buddies for a spur-of-the-moment beach trip and was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness. Like everything at Mission Beach it's a little dated, but does the job. If you travel here, be sure to hit up Konos by the pier for breakfast and get there early.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 3rd floor rooms as you'll get the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Fitch77,
Thank you for posting your comments! Our convenient beach front location makes it ideal for those spur-of-the-moment beach trips with your friends. We look forward to you and your buddies returning back to the Blue Sea Lodge so you can indulge in a great breakfast at Konos, located just down the board walk from us.
Sincerely,
Ruben G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing