We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We would highly recommend this reasonably priced, terrifically located hotel. The views are spectacular and the staff is some of the most highly trained in the hospitality industry. Friendly, industrious and terrific problem solvers.

Room Tip: we would resommend an ocean view room for the fun boardwalk and the terrific sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were very happy staying here. The room was clean. LOVED the location! It was perfect! In fact we stayed there the first two nights of our trip(had made a reservation for those nights) , traveled around and then chose to stay there again the last night, when we were back in Pacific Beach. The staff was very accommodating when I realized I had left a coat in our room, they found it and are sending it to me! That was very impressive! We were pleased with the staff even before that happened! Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We asked for a partial view and if was very good. We didn't want to pay more for the straight o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moll205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

One of just a few Beachfront hotels available in this area. Rooms were a little small with 13 inches between the bed and dresser and 2nd floor balconies barley fit 2 people, 3rd floor balconies were about twice as big and had better views, forget 1st floor ocean view rooms as there is no view. Beachfront rooms were awesome, but go for 2nd or 3rd floor for safety. House keeping and maintenace were attentive and did everything that was expected. Don't waste your time with food in lobby as cafe was open sporatically and was not very good the one time we found them open during a 6 day stay. Much better food in complex next door. Pool, property and staff were excellent, little confusing trying to get to rooms from lobby. Have town car service at hotel to get you to/from airport or anywhere else in San Diego. Location is great with bay and watersport rentals across street, beach out front and bike rentals are everywhere. Walgreens and grocery are on the same street north of the hotel and easy walking distance. World Famous Restaurant (great food) and Lanahi House (beach front deck and great beer selection) are just north of the hotel on the Boardwalk. Pool area was glassed in to keep others out, but we felt like gerbils in a glass cage with people looking at us and us looking back but no contact, hot tub was great. Mission Beach park was south of the hotel and Pacific Beach pier was north of hotel. Very popular surfer beach and waves were 8 to 12 feet with storms coming into the nothern part of CA, no place in room for boards or bikes and property will not let you keep them anywhere else but your room. Overall i would recomend this hotel to friends and will be back in 2013.

Room Tip: Beachfront 2nd and 3rd floors are the best and Southside 3rd floor is best for ocean view rooms. Nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunegoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The rooms were tired and worn. It kind of felt like stepping back in time.

We opted for an oceanfront room. When we woke up and saw the ocean right outside our doorstep, we forgot about the amenities and enjoyed the beach.

Room Tip: Oceanfront or oceanview is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100countries_or_bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

For many years we have been staying at this lodging in preparation of moving to the area. Obviously we needed to stay somewhere year after year when coming to the area.

Each time I have been comfortable and very happy with the accomodations. The personnel and staff are very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere upbeat.The price is competitive and that is always appreciated.

The rooms are always clean, inviting and cozy. I honestly can not imagine staying any where else in this area and would be upset if I had too!!!

I commend the Management for a well oiled wheel and a great attitude.People make a place and as nice as the room may, be it's the sincere kindness that sets this place apart.

I am glad they are here for all of us who appreciated them. It's a great experience to stay here!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We've been going to Best Western Blue Sea at least once a year for a number of years now. The past couple of years it's been either over Christmas or over New Year's. Other times in July or August to get away from the Phoenix heat. It's in the perfect location - some years we don't even have a car and just walk to everything we want to go to - great restaurants, Starbucks, a grocery store. The two times we've had problems with our room, the Manager has been fantastic - taken care of everything and more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevjano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have been staying at the Blue Sea Lodge for over 20 years for a couple weeks over Christmas and wouldn't consider anywhere else. The staff is always professional, accommodating, and friendly, from the front desk, to the managers, to the cleaning staff. Through the years, although the staff changes, the management has always maintained its high standards of providing a pleasant and rewarding stay. The staff is always willing to answer questions and make recommendations on what to see in the area. The location is the best in the Mission Beach area, which allows for being steps away from the beach, relaxing strolls along the boardwalk, breathtaking sunsets, and close proximity to most every tourist attraction. My family highly recommends the Blue Sea Lodge. Our visits to San Diego wouldn't be as pleasurable or memorable if we had to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

On behalf of the entire team at Blue Sea Lodge, I want to thank you for making us your “Christmas Home” during the holiday season. Your patronage is greatly appreciated and valued. We look forward to continuing to have Blue Sea Lodge as your Christmas Home for many more holiday seasons to come.

Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#24 of 286 in San Diego
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,048 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,122 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#45 of 286 in San Diego
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#59 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $198 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing