We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not too bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109 (Mission Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 4 Nights & SAVE
Ranked #15 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is right on the beach/ promenade. There are a few restaurants and shops very conveniently located near the hotel. We went to Joe's Crabshack, World Famous, and another place for coffee in the morning. I just wanted to share that this hotel is very average at best, nothing necessarily wrong with our stay, but it's also not worth the 4 or 5 stars... There were a few things that bothered me: a few grapes under the bathroom counter left by a previous guest, housekeeping missed them all 3 nights we stayed, a few long black hairs in the bathtub/shower (gross) , noise from drunk younger crowd partying late into the morning hours (remember, it's cheap) and overall just not impressed... Location is good. Bed comfy. Sheets fresh and clean. Value is good for the area. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSeaGM, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Zorrie,
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review on your recent stay. I apologize for those housekeeping issues you encountered and I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping manager and those items are being addressed. I am happy to read that you found our beds clean and comfortable! Your patronage is greatly valued and we look forward to you staying with us the next time you travel to San Diego. Have a great Holiday Season!
Sincerely
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    377
    103
    40
    22
See reviews for
512
371
66
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richfield, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We always stay here but decided to stay down the road at the hotel by the firestation bar...well it was @$&%@# there, bums sleeping all over in front of the place by the ocean...came running back to a suite here for about the same price...love it love it love it!

Room Tip: suites ocean front rule!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here twice now. August 2012 and November 2012. First time with wife and two teenage daughters in a pool/ocean view room and a second time with my father in an ocean front room.

Walk through the pool area onto the strand and beach.

This hotel is for the true beach and ocean lover. Great resaurant/bar next door for breakfast, lunch, dinner and coctails. Plenty of casual dining and lots of shops within walking distance. Coffee and light breakfast in the lobby if you're in an hurry.

If you want room service and valet parking for your Ferrari, this is not your place. If you want a perfect location on the beach for a couple hundred bucks a night this is definitely it. We're so happy we've already booked one of the ocean front rooms for the last week of July and the first week of August 2013.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with ocean front. Second choice is pool/ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The rooms are nice sized and always clean. As this is a beachfront hotel the rooms are a little worn but clean is more important! Bed was a little squishy. Parking is extra but you have a choice of open lot or secured under the hotel. I've been to this hotel 3 different times and will continue to go back when I need a great place to stay on Pacific Beach.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is awesome! Due to being on the boardwalk I suggest a 2nd or 3rd floor room for security...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found this hotel on the costco travel site. I loved the location and the view of the beach was fabulous. The room was comfortable, plenty of space, clean. I am a light sleeper, and found the room quiet and comfortable. I stayed on the second floor and could see dolphins swimming with the surfers, off our balcony. Just a beautiful vacation. Parking in the free area is difficult with the public, $17 fee for garage. They have added buildings at different times, that is where the extra point goes- it is a maze getting out of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it is right on the beach. I wasn't expecting anything great, but I was pleasantly surprised. This hotel is great! The rooms are plenty big and there are refrigerators in the rooms. Location is amazing, right on the beach and walking distance to several restaurants and grocery stores. The best part was the front desk staff, they are AMAZING! Everyone was so friendly and nice. We asked for several recommendations of restaurants and every recommendation was excellent! We would Definately stay here again on our next vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S29b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I did a lot of research on hotels for our 1st anniversary we were going to be spending in San Diego. We wanted a hotel directly on the beach (not the bay) that was comfortable and well kept. There are a lot of old beach hotels what were well…let’s just say not well kept. There were some very positive reviews here and some very negative ones. We decided to take the chance and book the hotel and we couldn’t have made a better choice!

The lobby was clean and welcoming and they have fresh cookies and lemon water available. It was a little busy checking in but the two girls were handling it very well. When we booked the hotel we booked a king with a partial ocean view. When we checked in we were given an upgrade to a full ocean view which was a total surprise!!!The hotel is literally right on the ocean. Hotel, sidewalk, beach. It took about 35 seconds to get from our room on the third floor to the sand. We were in room 362 and the room was just what we were looking for. Not very luxurious and did show some age but honestly it had a world class view and a nice comfy bed. Waking up and seeing the dolphins playing in the surf was awesome! Who cares if the wallpaper is peeling a little because of the ocean air or if the patio door had a couple of rust spots. It was clean and didn’t have an odor or wet carpets like some other complained about.

There is a $17 parking charge but honestly I can’t even remember the last time I wasn’t charged a parking fee at a hotel. You are able to park in the secure parking garage for the price or risk being on the street or public parking and coming back late and not having a spot. It was worth it for us. There is a small little café in the lobby and there are a few local restaurants that will deliver to your room and the menus were provided for you.

This hotel was perfect for our anniversary and very close to most of the San Diego attractions. Pacific Beach is a wonderful area of San Diego and don't hesitate when thinking about booking this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Choose one of the south side of the hotel or with an ocean view on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsummer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,810 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#33 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing