We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Surfer Beach Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower23 Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Pacific View Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Diamond Head Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,622)
Filter reviews
1,622 results
Traveler rating
958
459
132
45
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
958
459
132
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontpartial ocean viewoceanfront roomworld famous restaurantpool areaboard walkwithin walking distancesound of the wavespool and hot tubmission beachthird floorbalcony doorperfect locationunderground parkingcan't beat the locationrestaurants and barsfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,159 - 1,164 of 1,622 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The rooms are nice sized and always clean. As this is a beachfront hotel the rooms are a little worn but clean is more important! Bed was a little squishy. Parking is extra but you have a choice of open lot or secured under the hotel. I've been to this hotel 3 different times and will continue to go back when I need a great place to stay on Pacific Beach.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is awesome! Due to being on the boardwalk I suggest a 2nd or 3rd floor room for security and privacy.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found this hotel on the costco travel site. I loved the location and the view of the beach was fabulous. The room was comfortable, plenty of space, clean. I am a light sleeper, and found the room quiet and comfortable. I stayed on the second floor and could see dolphins swimming with the surfers, off our balcony. Just a beautiful vacation. Parking in the free area is difficult with the public, $17 fee for garage. They have added buildings at different times, that is where the extra point goes- it is a maze getting out of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it is right on the beach. I wasn't expecting anything great, but I was pleasantly surprised. This hotel is great! The rooms are plenty big and there are refrigerators in the rooms. Location is amazing, right on the beach and walking distance to several restaurants and grocery stores. The best part was the front desk staff, they are AMAZING! Everyone was so friendly and nice. We asked for several recommendations of restaurants and every recommendation was excellent! We would Definately stay here again on our next vacation!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S29b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I did a lot of research on hotels for our 1st anniversary we were going to be spending in San Diego. We wanted a hotel directly on the beach (not the bay) that was comfortable and well kept. There are a lot of old beach hotels what were well…let’s just say not well kept. There were some very positive reviews here and some very negative ones. We decided to take the chance and book the hotel and we couldn’t have made a better choice!

The lobby was clean and welcoming and they have fresh cookies and lemon water available. It was a little busy checking in but the two girls were handling it very well. When we booked the hotel we booked a king with a partial ocean view. When we checked in we were given an upgrade to a full ocean view which was a total surprise!!!The hotel is literally right on the ocean. Hotel, sidewalk, beach. It took about 35 seconds to get from our room on the third floor to the sand. We were in room 362 and the room was just what we were looking for. Not very luxurious and did show some age but honestly it had a world class view and a nice comfy bed. Waking up and seeing the dolphins playing in the surf was awesome! Who cares if the wallpaper is peeling a little because of the ocean air or if the patio door had a couple of rust spots. It was clean and didn’t have an odor or wet carpets like some other complained about.

There is a $17 parking charge but honestly I can’t even remember the last time I wasn’t charged a parking fee at a hotel. You are able to park in the secure parking garage for the price or risk being on the street or public parking and coming back late and not having a spot. It was worth it for us. There is a small little café in the lobby and there are a few local restaurants that will deliver to your room and the menus were provided for you.

This hotel was perfect for our anniversary and very close to most of the San Diego attractions. Pacific Beach is a wonderful area of San Diego and don't hesitate when thinking about booking this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Choose one of the south side of the hotel or with an ocean view on the third floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsummer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was the last 3 days of a two week vacation down the coast from San Francisco. It was a great way to end our trip! The location, right on the beach, cannot be beat! It is safe, clean and convenient to everything San Diego has to offer The room had everything we needed, parking was quite safe and believe me it isn't easy to find parking that close to the beach. The front desk could not have been more helpful! The pool area was beautifully maintained. We will be recommending this hotel to other friends!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews