We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Ocean View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Richfield, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Ocean View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

been here a few times...ocean front suite. awesome view of the beach and the boardwalk!!!...beds are OK but a little hard. pay per view movies too(still in theater movies). staff very nice!!! the only thing bad about this property is that the pool and hot tub, (which are ocean front also) close at 10pm. cant beat it if you want ocean front!!!

Room Tip: the building that has the suites in it has been remodeled...i think it is the north building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSeaGM, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Jody B,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments! I highly agree with you that the view from any ocean front room, let alone our great suites, is awesome. I can appreiciate your comments regarding the hours of the pool and hot tub and we have found that this hour seems to work best for the majority of our guests. Thank you for undestanding this policy.

Thank you again for your comments, Jody B and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Have a great day!

Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    404
    114
    41
    25
See reviews for
554
403
67
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
las Vegas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our trip. We had a beachfront room with a great view. We walked across the boardwalk and were on the beach. My granddaughter had a wonderful time playing on the beach. The staff were very nice.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Such a great location to visit the beach and be around some great eateries.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here with our son and teenage granddaughters. Price was $189 per night, which is pretty good for beachfront property. Staff was very pleasant, personable and helpful. Check-In was uneventful and quick. Car parking is always a challenge along the Boardwalk. There was plenty of parking specifically reserved for the hotel. It was well illuminated at night and had a uniformed security guard, who patrolled the lot. Room was on the second floor with elevator access. Advertised as a "partial ocean view." Partial apparently meant that only 3/4 of the balcony and its sliding glass door had a view of the ocean. You could only look at the beautiful sandy beach and the busy Boardwalk through the other 1/4. Made for interesting people watching while lounging on the balcony!!

Beach was spectacular as always with easy access via the pool, which bordered the Boardwalk. Tired after spending your day playing on the beach, swimming in the pool and lounging on your balcony? Walk next door to the World Famous PB restaurant and enjoy an wonderful seafood dinner.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206, which faced northwest. I'd recommend any room which did NOT face south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GumShoeSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I had an ocean front room on the third floor and it was great. The unit included a balcony with chairs, perfect for reading or happy hour! The included refrigerator and microwave made our week long stay even more comfortable. The lodge is located right on the boardwalk and within walking distance of great restaurants, stores and a Ralph's Market. You can walk to everything so you don't need a rental car. The staff were all polite and helpful and kept the entire area sparkling.
Thanks for a great vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TN_Traveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magna, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband I got an ocean front room... WOW. It was absolutely amazing. I loved everything about my stay. The staff was great. There are a lot of restaurants within walking distance. We slept with the sliding door open and just listened to the waves. So perfect! Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSeaGM, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Dear Whitney K,
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that our staff and service made your stay “so perfect”. I would highly agree with your slumber approach and leaving the sliding door open! We look forward to you staying with us again!
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I ask for an ocean view, and we got it ! What a view it was, the first floor is not usually our choice, but we had a wonderful view providing us the opportunity to show our granddaughter (first time visitor to San Diego) the real beach life. The beds were good, the room was quiet and provided us with a great nights sleep. The front desk was efficient & friendly and provided details of local restaurants and places of interest. The real disappointment was the "in house cafe" and the food ($$) and service is below acceptable standards. The hotel is in several buildings but security and safety appear to be well managed and controlled. The pricing is possibly on the high end but then again we got what we ask for on a high occupancy weekend and we paid for it...

Room Tip: Probably a better view on the second or third floors for ocean views, but the first floor you feel l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonOldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSeaGM, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear OregonOldTraveler,
Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments. It is nice to hear that your granddaughter had the opportunity to view the “real” beach life. Yes ,we get quite a few surfers each morning hitting the waves. I am also pleased that our beds provided you with a great night’s sleep! Rest assured I will be discussing your comments about the in house café with the coffee shop owner. I do apologize that this service did not fulfill your expectations.
Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to having you and your family stay with us again .
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#36 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surfer Beach Hotel
#107 of 283 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#64 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing