We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Sea Lodge is Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #26 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We usually stay at the Blue Sea Lodge 3 times a year. The hotel is in the perfect location.
We were there in April for Spring Break, Frankie was very funny and helpful! The staff work hard to keep the grounds very clean.

We have stayed in several different types of rooms as have our family friends. We didn't really like the king room we had this stay. I prefer the king room with a wet bar.

Parking is a little tight if you have a large SUV.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CupcakeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2011

The Blue Sea Lodge is a great place to stay if you're on vacation in San Diego. The hotel itself was pretty standard - nothing to detract but nothing pops out as amazing - but the location was perfect. Right on the beach, walking distances to dozens of restaurants, grocery stores, board and bike rentals and anything else you would need. If you stay, I recommend hitting up World Famous next door for a great breakfast. One downside - there was free WiFi but it was painfully slow at times (not that WiFi should really dictate your hotel choice).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebigez34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

The Best Western Blue Sea Lodge located on San Diego's Pacific Beach was perfect for our family. The staff was always professional and friendly, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet, the pool and spa areas were clean and enjoyable and look out onto the ocean through a glass enclosure. There is gated underground parking available (extra charge). Many restaurants and shops are within walking distance. We also appreciated the mini refrigerator, microwave and small safe in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lafayettebassaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

This location is ideal for activities or just relaxing - the service was wonderful and the room with our view was fantastic. I highly recommend anyone staying there.

Room Tip: We were in the King Room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchannel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I recently stayed at the Best Western Blue Sea while visiting my son who is a university student at SDSU. I picked this hotel for it's close proximaty to his house in Pacific Beach. I was warmly greeted by the staff, Caesar, who promptly got me into my room. We enjoyed the hotel and really liked the location and the little bit of an upscale feel to the hotel. Room was very nice and well maintained. I am a BW Platinum elite member who stays at many BW locations Worldwide so I definetly would stay here again and give the hotel and it's staff a "2 thumbs up"

Room Tip: become an elite program rewards member
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-JL.a.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Hotel is situated within a stones throw of the beach. Ideally located close to some amazing resturants and vibrant bars. Rooms are clean and spacious with great views of the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tighthea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We recently stayed here during our California vacation. Best part of the hotel is the location - right on beach. We had a partial ocean view room that looked out to the Northwest side and we loved the view. We loved hearing the waves when the door was open too. Yes, the room décor needs updating, but it still served our purposes. It was clean, as we found nothing wrong with our room and yes we did look. Parking is $16 per night unless you can find free street parking right next to the hotel, as we did, so that helped. Maybe it was the time we were there, but we had no noise issues at all during our stay. I too wish that they would ban smoking in all areas of the hotel, but again we didn't have an issue. Loved waking up with coffee made in the room and then sitting on the balcony or going down to the pool area and looking at the beach and ocean. It was fun lying in the enclosed pool area, watching our kids play football, baseball, or whatever on the beach too. Best thing about this hotel is the location right on the beach, which is why we chose it and we were not disappointed in that. Also, the hotel staff was very nice, helpful and accommodating. Jason was also very helpful with our questions before we got there too. Cost would be a factor on staying there again, but we would stay there again if the opportunity would present itself and cost was not too high.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhaas132016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 278 in San Diego
1,061 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#102 of 278 in San Diego
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $165 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing