We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ocean and bay proximity and views are priceless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Internet service is slow and intermittent...when staying here you should remember that the Pacific Beach & Mission Beach communities are; above all else; beach and party areas... attracting all ages...it can become noisy... but it is always stimulating... clubs; pubs and cafes are plentiful; within easy walking distance and the food is good quality; generous in portion; varied; and served at reasonable cost.. A Ralph's grocery is about 4 blocks away and has a great wine and liquor selection at very competitive prices..We have come back to stay here for 8 consecutive years...

Room Tip: request full ocean view or pool side suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roen60922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2011

The best part is that it is on the ocean (had a room with a partial ocean view) and the beach is your backyard. The not so great part is the cost - way overpriced (if you take out the location). The hot tub made extremely loud mechanical sucking sounds and had an interesting smell to it (don't ask!). The room decor desperately needs updating and the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired (found some left over cereal behind the TV). A $16 per night parking fee is assessed (there really isn't any other option) and there is NO continental breakfast. You would think for the cost - these two amenities would be included. Because it is located next to a public parking area on the beach, noise can be heard at all hours of the night. Smoking is allowed near the pool area - which certainly counters the enjoyment of the ocean air. Sadly, Best Western has become a "hit or miss" chain when it comes to quality. Although we were disappointed with the accommodations, there is still nothing greater than being right next to the ocean!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parkerrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

To start, the front desk staff was very accomidating. I ask alot of questions(mostly where the good food was) Usually on business trips I end up eating the same old fast foods. On my first trip down to the desk, I was meet by a Mr. Templar. Young looking for a Assistant GM, but very energenic and quick with a knowing smile. He directed me to a Mexican food place by the roller coaster and I had my first fish taco( really tastey!!) He also said a good rib place would be Tony Romas' (which was very,very good) I don't usually write reviews but my stay would have been perfect if I did'nt have to work. This summer, the family and I are coming to the Blue Sea Lodge for real fun in the sun !!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shotokan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Our family of four (kids age 10 & 6) spent three nights here during part of our spring break. Having never been to San Diego before, we relied on these reviews. The location is so close to the beach and walking distance to many great restaurants and shops, even liquor store and grocery store! We did not rent a car, rather used their car service or a taxi for our two outings that were a distance away. The hotel is definitely not five star/swanky, but it is clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. This is a great hotel for couples or families. We drove by a few other areas in San Diego where we considered getting a hotel, such as Hotel Circle or downtown and we were really happy that we had chosen the Blue Sea Lodge instead!!! We highly recommend these nearby restaurants: World Famous (any meal) Saskas (dinner), The Eggery (breakfast) and Konos (breakfast). We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmlunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Our three night stay was a nice get -away in the ocean view and quiet room. This is an older but neat and tidy hotel and the remodeled rooms are clean and comfortable.The staff was friendly and most accommodating. The hotel is walking distance to many affordable restaurants and bars. We didn't visit San Diego or nearby attractions on this stay for all we wanted to do was visit with another couple who spent one day/night at the hotel, walk the beach and boardwalk that was right in front of our room.There is a privately owned very small eatery that provides breakfast & light lunch but we prefered to go out for better value and scenery. We were disappointed that breakfast wasn't included like in the other Best Western Hotels we've stayed at but other than that we greatly enjoyed our time at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My group and I were very impressed with the Good Price of of Hotel. Our rooms were very well equipped. We were close to restaurants and other amenities. The hotel made our get away a great time for all. The staff were friendly and gave us great advise on places to see. We would recommend this hotel to others. Beds were soft and comfortable and the rooms showed well.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimmer1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We just returned from a four-night stay at the BW Blue Sea Lodge and as always, it was a perfectly relaxing vacation at the best location on Pacific Beach - right ON the beach. There's nothing more wonderful than the view, sounds and scents of the ocean. Sitting on our third floor balcony to watch the waves, surfers and folks running on the beach with their dogs - awesome. And, of course, we sleep with the sliding glass door open and the ocean lulling us. Ahhhhhhhh.

My husband and I have enjoyed this hotel four times and I've stayed there at least four times on my own and with a girlfriend. The accomodations have never disappointed (the shower water pressure is THE best of ANY hotel I've stayed in - important for this "big hair girl") and the staff members are all excellent - friendly, helpful... simply awesome!

The location is beyond perfect for us. We always fly into San Diego and take transportation to/from the hotel as we have ZERO need for a vehicle while we're there. The Blue Sea is within walking distance of everything we want - great restaurants (seafood!), Ralph's market (to stock the fridge), laid-back beachside bars/coffee bars and Belmont Park's Giant Dipper roller coaster.

Our only wish is that we could visit more often!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFabsLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,054 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#30 of 279 in San Diego
1,068 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 279 in San Diego
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $160 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing