We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“restful room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Ranked #61 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“restful room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

beds were terrific-no backaches in morning! room was clean. housekeeping didn't make beds or leave clean towels while we were out of room. had to call for clean towels second day. continental breakfast- lots of variety and filling. staff was accommodating and friendly. Refrig in room not very cold. And there was only one elevator (other was broken our whole stay and heard from others had been out of commission for 10 days) Otherwise great stay and very pleased. Price of room a tad steep but for locale it was ok. Would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear William C,
Thank you for staying with us at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn and for sharing that the beds are terrific. We are pleased to see that you also liked the breakfast and the staff. Please except our apologies for the absence of service to your room to replenish your towels. We also apologize for any inconvenience due to having use of only one elevator while the other was unavailable for a few days as it received an upgrade to some parts. Thank you for your time to review our property and your detailed information. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    606
    163
    37
    18
See reviews for
332
481
71
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Great place to stay, rooms had everything you would need in a nights stay. Clean, quiet and great views from either side of the building. And most important it was close to Amtrak, airport, the bay, gas lamp, freeway, Petco Park and a Rite aid to buy your beer. Will visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Anthony P,
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn during your trip to San Diego. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and want to thank you for taking time to share so many details about your trip. We are happy to have provided you with a location near so much. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind River, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

This certainly was a great location. Quite close to the airport so did not have long to wait before the shuttle picked us up. A short drive later and we were at the hotel. Very pleasant and informative driver and the rest of the staff was great also. They were very helpful in directing us to the bus stop we needed to go to the Zoo. Hotel was within easy walking distance to the train station, the waterfront and just a bit farther to get to Seaport Village. We had a bay view on the ninth floor with windows down to the floor - just a fantastic view. The elevator is fast so no disadvantage to being so high. Found our room to be very clean and well lit for reading. The bed was a bit softer than we would like but still very comfortable. The restaurant was just a very short distance out the front door and in the same building. Breakfast was very good. We stayed for three nights and one day there were sausages, another day bacon with scrambled eggs also, plus the usual cereals, pastries etc. Dinner at the restaurant was not fantastic, but well prepared, a good variety and lots of it for the price. We ended up taking some back to our room for lunch the next day. We found not only the area the hotel was in, but all the parts of the city we walked in were very clean and we felt comfortable even walking at night.

Room Tip: If you are going to spend some time in your room, do spring for a bay view. Quiet up on the 9th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellover795943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear travellover795943,
We are pleased you chose to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn during your trip to San Diego. Thank you for taking time to share details about our location and shuttle service. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms. Thank you for sharing details about our pleasant staff plus the variety and quality of our breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back should you visit San Diego again.

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great service, great location and great rates. However, if you want a good nights sleep, book a "city view room", do not book a "bay side room" because of the constant trains with horns blaring and railroad crossing bells. It makes for a miserable nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Gary P,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn and for taking time to provide a review with details about your stay. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our service and location. With the train station a few blocks from us it can sometimes be heard with the balcony door open and we are happy to accommodate guests on the east side with a city view if availability permits. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in a city view room the next time you drive into the city for a weekend getaway.

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Pros: Somewhat walking distance from every downtown/gaslamp bar/restaurant or even the harbor attractions. Beds were really comfortable. View was pretty good, with a few buildings in the way, but the view has one of the harbors with boats passing by. Cons: Small lobby area. Small pool (but why swim in the pool when you can be out in the beach?) Not that decorated/visually stunning inside the building. Overall: You get what you pay for, above average service, decent to above average room, decent free breakfast (that's always a plus for me), and away from the busy areas of San Diego Downtown, but close enough to get to those places. Had a lot of good rest time from the food coma I built up from the downtown restaurants and farmer's market.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Randy S,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn and for providing a review about your stay. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our proximity to all down town San Diego has to offer. We are excited to share that our lobby will be updated and remodeled this coming fall of 2014. Thank you for sharing details about the service you received and our breakfast. We hope to have you as our guest again.

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolidge, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The remote don't work too good and there's no elevator access the parking garage and for what you pay for the room...you should get FREE Parking! Other than that, this is a good hotel, esp., the Bayside view!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Julie E,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn during your trip to San Diego. My apologies that the lower level parking was not available for your use and that the remote was not working as well as it should have. We are grateful for your detailed feedback that will allow us the opportunity to see our hotel experience through the eyes of our guests and know where to focus our efforts to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. Thank you for taking time to provide an informative review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful view of the San Diego Bay.

Best Regards,

Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Free shuttle to and from airport. very nice breakfast complimentary. You have a nice view from all side but I would ask for the Bay view if only for the sunsets. I will go back!!!

Room Tip: Go for Bay view
See more room tips
Green Features: Very friendly. Recycle bin, choose to not have your bed linen and towels not replaced every day!!!
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sandy K,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience while staying with us at the Best Western Bayside Inn. We take pride in being convenient and accommodating and are please you liked; our location, shuttle service and breakfast. We look forward to having you as our guest again!


Best Regards,

Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#50 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#114 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#80 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
#74 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing