We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Ranked #59 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Free shuttle to and from airport. very nice breakfast complimentary. You have a nice view from all side but I would ask for the Bay view if only for the sunsets. I will go back!!!

Room Tip: Go for Bay view
See more room tips
Green Features: Very friendly. Recycle bin, choose to not have your bed linen and towels not replaced every day!!!
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sandy K,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience while staying with us at the Best Western Bayside Inn. We take pride in being convenient and accommodating and are please you liked; our location, shuttle service and breakfast. We look forward to having you as our guest again!


Best Regards,

Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    620
    164
    39
    18
See reviews for
341
495
71
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Upon arrival with our family, the staff was so kind to make sure the whole family was on the same floor. They were very friendly and helped us with all our needs. The staff in the restaurant were very nice and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent stay over the holiday weekend. We appreicate all who take time to let us know what you think, how your stay was and if you enjoyed San Diego.
T. Wickens, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed for two nights in this extremely well-located hotel. The breakfast included was varied and yummy. The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. We enjoyed the pool area and hot tub as well. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ariana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ariana W,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn during your trip to San Diego and for taking time to share your experience. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and are please to see that you enjoyed our location, breakfast, and the care our housekeeping team takes when cleaning and maintaining our hotel. Thank you for your high recommendation!

Best Regards,

Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after a Panama Canal cruise. Location was very good. Could walk to the "Midway' and to Little Italy to catch the tour trolley and to have great meals int the restaurants in Little Italy. The staff was very friendly. Totally enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Judy B,
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn. Thank you for taking time to review your stay and our proximity to attractions like the Midway and Little Italy. Our team takes great pride in the service provided and we thank you for sharing about the friendliness of our staff. We look forward to accommodating you again should you choose to vacation in San Diego or perhaps take another cruise docking in the nearby terminal.

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

not a bad place, but not so great, tiny parking garage, room cold water did not work, a/c was left off, had to cool down ourselves. fridge not on either. wi fi was really good. could walk to the beach from room in less than 10 mins. restaurant was not that great. it ok for a close to beach place and good view if you get that side, but some tall buildings did block some of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank arthurc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear arthurc0,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with detailed feedback that will allow us the opportunity to focus our efforts and achieve our goal to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. My apologies for the lack of cold water, our maintenance team has been informed to investigate this and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do strive to meet our goals as a green property with energy saving strategies and I apologize for any inconvenience this caused in regards to the refrigerator and air conditioning being off while not in use. Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn during your trip to San Diego and for sharing about our convenient location to the water and our bay views.

Best Regards,

Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in april 2014. The hotel was well located. 15 minutes walking distance to the seaport village. They have some souvenirs shops, restaurants and museum. The airline that we took didnt have our luggage. The hotel call our room as soon as they arrive and offer to come and bring them to the room. Really good staff.
You have coupon to go eat your breakfeast at the grill. You need to pass from the outside to go. They have toast, eggs, cereals, yogourt, ham, sausage pancake, fruits.....
The hotel is also really close to the famous san diego zoo and from seaworld.
If you have to take the plane it is also really close to the airport and they offer shuttle service.
If i go back to san diego i will go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank windfl0wer4576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear windfl0wer4576,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn during your trip to San Diego from Montreal, Canada. It is heartwarming to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience about the ease of our location and about our “really good staff”. We look forward to welcoming you on a return stay if you do come back to San Diego.

Best Regards,
Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norriton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for five nights last week on our trip to San Diego. Based on some reviews, I requested a room overlooking the bay from a high floor. To my delight, we were given such a room on the highest floor (floor #14). We had room number 1405. It was totally worth it, what a view!

We had a great experience in this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Rita. She helped us plan our trip to the zoo, as well as the USS Midway Museum and the Maritime Museum. The room was very clean, comfortable and modern. The mattress could have been a little newer but it was okay for a few days. The bathroom was clean and great. They even provided cotton balls and Q-tips, which you don't see in many hotels. They also had a separate trashcan for recyclables. There was an occasional noise coming from the bathroom fan, but if you closed the bathroom door you couldn't hear it anymore in the bedroom.

The Wi-Fi was free and fast, breakfast was free and excellent. We didn't use the pool or the Jacuzzi as it was a little too chilly last week, but they looked well-maintained. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to the airport, which is only about 2 miles away. That was a great benefit for us as well. They charge $14 per night to park but we didn't have a rental car anymore at that point. The hotel was a walking distance to the harbor, as well as Little Italy. If you are planning to use the city trolley, the station is only a block and a half away. Highly recommended, we will stay there again on our next trip to San Diego.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the bay on a high floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: They don't change your towels or bedsheets, unless you want them to, to save water. If you keep them on the rack they won't touch them. If you throw them on the floor, they will give you new clean ones. They will make up your bed, regardless if you ask the linen to be changed or not.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Diana F,

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review. We are pleased to have all of your feedback. Thank you for sharing how friendly and helpful Rita is and that our staff will assist with planning out your vacation. Our housekeeping team takes pride in exceeding expectations so we also thank you for mentioning their efforts. We will have our maintenance team investigate the fan noise you brought to our attention. Thank you for sharing about our location and our “Green” initiatives. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to San Diego!

Best Regards,

Grace Gerzen
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#75 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#115 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#56 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing