We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Ranked #58 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I was in San Diego for work this past week and stayed at this hotel. Although I wasn't at the hotel very much throughout the week, I enjoyed my stay. The best thing about this hotel is its centralized location, where it it easy to walk to the waterfront, Little Italy, and Gaslamp. It's also not far from the airport - just a short shuttle or cab ride. The complementary breakfast each morning was great, and all staff were very friendly. I would recommend if you're looking for a clean, affordable hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    639
    166
    40
    18
See reviews for
356
507
74
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

A group of seven of us stayed at this motel for three nights and found the hotel clean and comfortable. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious and quiet and well appointed with a fridge and a microwave in each.
We made use of the buffet breakfast each morning and found it generous with plenty to chose from, and slightly different every day. We also used the free airport shuttle service. These two services make this hotel great value for money.
The location is central enough to walk to everything that you need. It is very close to Little Italy meaning there are great eateries just around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived very late at night to find that there were problems with our reservation (I messed up, I confess). Anyway, the clerk was very helpful. She only had a room for one night but put us on the wait list. Because we arrived so late, we got the last room. It overlooked the pool, but it was also next to where the cleaning staff hangs out, so it was rather noisy in the morning. The hotel has a restaurant (you have to go outside but it is in the same building. Breakfast was a nice buffet: scrambled eggs, bacon, very tasty hash browns, coffee, juice, toast, pastries (didn't have any of these), cereal. A good deal! The manager of the restaurant was very nice and helpful. Also, because it was a restaurant, there was more room than you see in many hotels that serve that type of breakfast. The pool looked small but nice. I wish I had time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandeigo, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Good location, Nice hotel to stay, with the view of the bay, nice beak fast and good staff, overall good experience, would prefer to stay here again. Staff were helpful, internet speed was ok. Restaurant prices are OK, and food was tasty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Naveena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great stay. The employee's were very helpful. Suggested places to go and how to get there. They were able to accommodate us when Hampton Inn fouled up our reservations. It was a busy time and they went out of their way to take care of us. We were on Eastern time and it was 3:00 am for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Pixie1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Love view bay.close to many restaurants and shops.. Train station is just a block away. Minutes to airport.rooms are spacious and newly remodeled.the staff is very friendly and very helpful with directions

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I'm more of a Westin type or something with more of a modern look. This place met those expectations! The value wasn't pricey for a room near downtown. Very close to all attractions, and just a walk to little Italy. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. Lobby is quite small, and the parking was narrow. Cheap parking fees compared to other hotels downtown. Free breakfast next door...decent. Seems like they cater to japanese tourists. My husband got to eat rice with his breakfast! Our room had a great view of the ocean. Be careful with the elevators, kind of tight squeeze. Bathrooms were spacious and good water pressure. Beds were comfy, but ac unit was blowing hard. I would come back!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaebabe702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#71 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#59 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#120 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing