We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Bayside Inn, San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Ranked #55 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

For the price this was certainly a great place to stay. We had a bay view with a small balcony but no chairs. I would recommend trying for the bay room on one of the upper stories the closer to Ash as possible. From there you can see the Star of India and boats on the bay. The trains two blocks away are quite a novelty and cannot be heard with the windows closed. The bed was comfortable and breakfast a bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank JosJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

749 - 755 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. If you want to be near the harbor this is an ideal location. Easy down hill walk to the Boardwalk and all of it's attractions. Close to the airport and AMTRAK as well. The room was comfortable and even had a mini-mini balcony. Good free breakfast and free shuttles from the airport and to the cruise terminal. All in all kind of hard to beat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Airplaneschool1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

my husband and I stayed here Dec 24 and 25th. Very nice rooms and quiet on Christmas Eve. We had slight view of the bay....1st room we were offered was on the corner of a busier cross street. We declined..2nd room we could glimpse the bay, bit nicer. This hotel did have continental breakfast, 1st morning not very busy, only a few people. Minimal selection, fresh fruit available, oranges and apples, the usual scrambled eggs and sausages. Toast and packages of hot cereal. 2nd morning busier with lots of Asian folks which may have explained why one of the breakfast choices was miso soup. no fruit was available that day, I think we were just later and it had already been snapped up. They also ran out of juice. We did had toast and eggs, great start to day. We did have to pay for parking $13 per night,. Close to Little Italy, within walking distance. Well worth checking the restaurants out there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karvin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Pro: good location ( next to nice little italy and harbor promenade and 20 min walk to gaslamp ) . Free airport shuttle . Friendly and accomodating staff . Even though hotel is not new everything was in perfect working order and condition .Very clean. We asked and were granted a harbour view room on the top floor ( 14 th floor) .continental breakfast over the average.
Cons: u might hear aircraft and railway crossing signal starting at 4 am ( we got used after the first night). Beware of floors with noisy ice maker ( i.e. 12-9-6-3)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Davide R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel is smack-down town. Easy 7 minutes walk to Little Italy. Raelly nice hot/cold breakfast was included. Friendly staff. Just a short walk to commuter transit.

Would definietlt stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not overlook this one. A little price but worth it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sakamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a very nice hotel just a few paces from Little Italy and a few minutes from the cruise terminal. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and quiet, breakfast is very nice and the restaurant is clean and airy. Can't find anything to criticize!!! Would definitely stay again if I return to San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask for the side facing the water. Nice view if you are high up and in the center of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in November 2012 whilst on holiday in California.

The rooms were spacious and clean and even had a little balcony which you could sit out on. Breakfast was good and had lots of options.

The only downside was the fact that the restaurant and bar were not open at the weekend. I found this very strange as surely this is peak time. If I had checked the website properly before booking I probably would have booked somewhere else.

Other than that it did the job, somewhere to sleep and to be fair we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel so it wasn't the end of the world.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#116 of 286 in San Diego
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#175 of 286 in San Diego
516 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#57 of 286 in San Diego
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Inn

Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $137 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing