We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Ranked #58 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a first-time holiday to San Diego and we were very pleased with our 5-day accommodation at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn. We are in our mid- sixties and we found the bed to be very comfortable and the spacious room met all our needs--fridge, microwave, 2 luggage racks, good hair dryer, iron, coffee maker and a 3-drawer dresser plus a table and 2 chairs and night table. Having recently travelled to Europe, these amenities were most appreciated! We also enjoyed a very satisfying breakfast to the start of each of our touring days.
The location of this hotel is perfect as you can access most of San Diego's attractions easily from here by walking or by transit.
We had a fun and delicious meal at Fillipis in Little Italy which is just a short walk from the hotel. The hop on/hop off has a starting point in Litttle Italy as well and is one of the best we have been on. We also could easily walk and tour the USS Midway Museum and the Maritime Museum. A must see.
I would also recommend Tour Guide Tim tours which gave us an excellent tour of La Jolla, Torrey Pines and Pacific coast. Info available on internet. We picked up the tour near the hotel at the Sante Fe Trolley Station. Tim was an excellent tour guide.
We also had a tour of the Gas Lamp area called, Booze, Bites and Brothels. A fun night where we learned about the sordid past of this area and visited 4 restaurants -- good value. We walked, it takes about 25 minutes from the hotel.
We visited the zoo, but took transit which was easy to do and not crowded. We were able to buy our tickets for the zoo at the hotel. Staff very helpful.
One more tip, there is a Rite-Aid just a few minutes from hotel for your happy hour needs! Too bad Canada does not sell booze in drug stores.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank waltkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    632
    165
    40
    18
See reviews for
351
499
74
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
313 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was attending a conference in San Diego and didn’t want to stay in one of the high-priced hotels adjacent to the Convention Center, so I opted for this Best Western Plus. All things considered, it wasn’t a bad choice.

The location of the hotel is pretty good if you don’t mind walking a little bit. It’s about a mile walk to the Convention Center and a little less than that to both the Gaslamp District and Little Italy. The lobby is rather small but functional. Check-in and check-out were both efficient and pleasant.

I was initially concerned when I walked through the corridors, which are rather narrow and sterile like a dormitory. However, I was pleasantly pleased at the size of the room. Included in the room were a refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV. The bed was comfortable and everything in the room (lights, plumbing, wireless Internet, etc.) worked as it was supposed to. There were cotton balls and cotton-tipped swabs in the bathroom, which was a nice touch, but there was no lotion so travelers should be prepared.

The complimentary breakfast is served in the hotel’s restaurant (the Bayside Bar & Grill) which certainly was a more comfortable environment than some of the undersized breakfast rooms I’ve had to endure at other Best Westerns. The breakfast area was well-stocked and featured hot items such as scrambled eggs, Canadian bacon and home-style fried potatoes. One interesting twist was the availability of miso soup and steamed rice for their Japanese guests.

NOTE: If you are planning to park a car at the hotel, try to drive your smallest car because the parking spaces in their structure are EXTREMELY narrow. You can also expect to pay a daily parking charge.

The Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is by no means a luxury property, but it served my needs well and I ended up having a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Love the location of this hotel, very central and short walking distance to the Italian area. The hotel was very clean with nice decor and the beds were super comfortable. The breakfast which was included was excellent, not your average continental breakfast. Our kids loved the pool. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nicole Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel is located in downtown San Diego just steps from "little Italy". It is an older hotel but very well maintained. The front desk staff are very professional and will steer you right in choosing a restaurant in the area. The breakfast served is hot and offers a good variety of items. You cannot go wrong in selecting this hotel when in San Diego.

Room Tip: Reserve a bayview room above the 10th floor. The view is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Walls are paper thin, could not rest at all. The breakfast is extremly poor. For what is available for slightly more this hotel is way overpriced. I am back in San Diego a few days after staying there, now I am paying a little more and staying at a much better hotel. Especially if you are visiting for pleasure don't stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mehmet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Az
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great location, close to harbor, little Italy, tolley, train. We walked alot. Close to good eats, a lot of choices. Staff very accomidating, can arrange ticket to many attractions. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Buffet breakfast is a good start each day. have stayed here twice and will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is an average hotel at a good price. It is close to Little Italy where we enjoyed a great Italian dinner. The telephone service was out for the two nights we were there. The staff on check-in was great and when our flight was cancelled, allowed us to stay in the same room one more night. Our morning wakeup call never came (probably due to the telephone service problems). The morning person who checked us out totaled our bill incorrectly and I had to point out what the agreed upon price was on check-in. He also forgot to call a cab for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dave_Sebring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#119 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#57 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Best Western, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing