We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Plus Bayside Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Ranked #57 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Buckeye, Arizona
1 review
“Best Western Plus Bayside Inn”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Whatever you do ask for a room away from the elevator unless the noise does not bother you. The mechanical noise of the elevator made it difficult to sleep. Other than that the hotel is well situated between the harbor and Little Italy. We could walk to many points of interest. Quality of the rooms themselves were clean and the service was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CarolynB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    653
    167
    41
    20
See reviews for
366
525
77
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The location is central, close to public transport. Rooms are nice and large. The addition of microwave and refrigerator was really good. Nothing great in breakfast, but it was OK. Complimentary transfers to airport adds to the value. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirav_S78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel lived up to Best Western standards that we have come to expect. The room was comfortable and attractive; we appreciate the refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was in the restaurant next door, but still convenient. It was plentiful, extensive and well staffed. We chose price over location but turned out to be walking distance to city sights and the Red Car. And it is short walk to Little Italy that has great restaurants. The staff members at the reception were helpful and always available. Huge windows gave good views and there's a small, usable balcony.
We would stay here again if we return to San Diego.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a high floor and got a great view of the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I spent a fun weekend with several friends at this hotel. It was in a great location. We could walk to the Gaslamp and Little Italy sections of San Diego in a matter of minutes. Shuttle from the airport to the hotel started out a little shaky when we had to wait an hour for pick up, but the very friendly driver made up for it. He even gave us a ride to a tour location so we would not miss it due to our late arrival. The room was clean and the morning breakfast was great! Our room had a great view of the bay. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meanderbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

For the price, this hotel was everything that we could have asked for. The location is very close to the airport, the cruise terminal and also within walking distance of restaurants in Little Italy.
The shuttle service was very efficient. They were there to pick us up at the airport within minutes of us calling them and also took us to the cruise terminal whenever we were ready.
The complimentary breakfast was buffet style with hot and cold choices and served in a very clean and comfortable dining area.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful during our whole stay.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable.
I would highly recommend this place for budget minded people who want a convenient central location and great friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsboogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

2nd stay here and once again the entire experience was as good as anywhere we have stayed, The most efficient and informative staff anywhere, Will be here again next year. Well done. The location is perfect for exploring numerous areas of the city. Some great places to eat and drink.The staff here has been outstanding both times we have stayed here and they make your stay so very comfortable. Everyone was so very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your kind words in your review regarding your recent stay at the Bayside Inn.
I am glad to hear that your were repeat guests and enjoyed the same level of friendly service
during both visits.
T. Wickens, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel before leaving on a vacation to Maui, HI and upon returning. The hotel is in the downtown area a couple of blocks from the ocean front. We found it efficient and clean with nice accommodations. We needed a place where we could leave our car for the time we were in Maui as well as a place to stay before and after our trip. This was ideal as it is near the airport and does provide transportation to and from during many of the hours of the day. As we were leaving and arriving at times when the van was not running, the hotel arranged a taxi ($10) to pick us up. The staff were helpful and courteous. We will stay here again when we return to this city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TripperAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#72 of 279 in San Diego
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#59 of 279 in San Diego
892 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing