We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A very pleasant surprise!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Ranked #54 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
North Tustin, California, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Prior to our flight out of San Diego we stayed at another almost twice as expense hotel. My wife suggested that when we returned we stay at a Best Western as we have usually had a good experience with them at a much reduced price plus the membership and other money saving features are great. We checked into the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn and frankly were surprised on how nice it was as a reasonable price. Very clean entrance, plenty of parking, shuttle service and from the airport, train station, etc., breakfast included, dinner discounted 15% in their comfortable restaurant. A great complete menu and excellent service! Our room was on the 8th floor ocean view so we could see the bay and the square rigger Star of India along side the dock. Would recommend you get at least a 4th floor but higher is better. We had two queen sized beds which were very comfortable. An approximately 40" flat screen tv, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, ironing board and iron, hair drier, nice bathroom and fixtures. A small but usable balcony, internet service, desk and two chairs, closet, etc. ATM in lobby. Ice machines on 3rd, 6th 9th & 12th floor. Vending machines in lobby. Late check-out service up to 4 PM which on top of a 12 o'clock usual check out time is fantastic for travelers! The smoking rooms are all on the 4th floor which made us happy. In other words at a very reasonable price one gets a lot of appreciated features. Apparently people from around the world have found it as we met a lot of people from Germany, South Korea, Taiwan, Japan, etc. It is just a few blocks from the water front and from the train station and about a mile from the airport so walking is practical.

Room Tip: from the 5th floor to the 14th floor you have a better view of the bay if you are on the bay view si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucklady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear lucklady15,
Thank you so much for your positive review of our property. It pleases us greatly that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to provide as many amenities as possible for our guests so that they feel at home while they are traveling, so we are glad that you were able to take advantage of and enjoy these amenities. We hope that if your future travels bring you back to San Diego, you will once again choose to stay with us at the Bayside Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    580
    155
    36
    18
See reviews for
321
464
70
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Pretty walkable to the bay and many other important places. Even if it is not it is next to the trolley stop and a couple of blocks from Little Italy. If it was just location it would definitely get at least 4 stars but the actual hotel was very average. There is no gym and it is a little worn at the edges. Though overall clean. Not bad if you are looking for proximity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlwickens, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Nicole,
Thank you so much for your mixed review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our convenient location. We are very excited that this November we will actually start remodeling our first floor which will include a gym. We hope that if you come back to San Diego in the future you will think of staying with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is by far the 'best' Best Western in which my wife and I have ever stayed. The staff is the most caring we've encountered at any American mid-level chain hotel. It was 4 and 5 star service at a 3 star property. The facilities itself were also nice. The building is conveniently located near Santa Fe terminal, so you have easy access within two blocks of Amtrak and San Diego's metropolitan transit trolley system, and can walk to and from the station. Little Italy begins a block away for tasty cuisine. The building I am guessing is circa 1970s or 1980s, but the current owners have revitalized it nicely. Firm mattress in our room, which was very clean and well appointed. Free breakfast was a full fledged buffet with eggs, bacon, ham and pancakes as well as muffins and Danish pastry. Even an Asian breakfast selection. All in all a true "Best Value" for this Best Western Plus.

Room Tip: lower floors hear nighttime traffic outside window, but most subsides by 1 AM. Free airport shuttle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmingtonwillie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Although this hotel is somewhat dated, we found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. No bells and whistles, just your average hotel room. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was just ok... same thing everyday. The hotel had a small pool but no view. There is no on-site gym but there is an exceptional one for your use a few blocks away. We did have a little trouble finding the gym as it did not have a clear entry sign. The location of the hotel was perfect. Little Italy is one block away with the best restaurants and food! We used the trolley system to get around and the nearest depot was only one block away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CountryTravelers111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of the bayside tourist features such as the Midway and bay cruise boats. There are also some great seafood restaurants nearby and it is easy walking distance to the Amtrak terminal and city transport stops

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the Bayside Inn prior to flying out for a cruise. We needed a "safe" place to leave our vehicle and at a good price. We found all this at the Bayside Inn. The location is perfect for someone flying and we felt very confident leaving our car in their covered parking area. One thing that particularly impressed me was the pleasant staff. Everyone from the front staff to the person who drove the airport van seemed interested in you and wanting your visit to be a good one. Our room was nicer than expected, large and comfortable and even though we only stayed one night, we were impressed enough to go back. I particularly liked the food arrangements with the restaurant that had a nice menu and the hotel gives you a ticket for a discount. The happy hour was great! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is flying or who just wants a nice, safe place to stay while exploring San Diego. An added benefit is that this hotel is close to the bay and all the great places to eat and explore. GO and feel the super service and feel the safety this hotel gives you.

Room Tip: Room we had was very clean and quiet. It was on the third floor. NO A/C noise!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GertrudeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence,RI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

stayed here for the second time. Hotel Breakfast better than many hotels. Pool area very nice, also hot tub. Rooms are clean, spacious enough w/refrig and microwave. Comfortable beds, a big plus for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank jenim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#115 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,936 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#43 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#84 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#49 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
#74 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing