We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay! Would stay there again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #58 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Pleasant Stay! Would stay there again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel provided a great location to the bay area. We were new to visiting San Diego and this location was excellent! It's in the downtown area. We traveled with our kids and the hotel is in a safe area. Very close driving distance to the Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World, Mission Beach and Old town San Diego. The room was nice and clean. The breakfast buffet was delicious! It included tasty hot dishes, eggs, ham, cereals, breads, fruit, etc. The front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. Check-in and check-out was great and smooth. The staff manning the breakfast was extremely nice, and helpful to provide driving directions or tourist attraction suggestions. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    560
    149
    36
    17
See reviews for
298
437
68
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was on the tail end of our road trip and what a delight. It is clean, tidy, comfortable, nice decor and wonderful staff who are extremely professiona and nothing is a problem. The room originally prebooked was not available so we were upgraded and compensated with vouchers for the neighbouring restaurant. We really enjoyed our stay here and will be back. The location is excellent. Not to far out and just far enough out to be enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dragondiva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed one night in July before leaving San Diego after daughter's wedding. It seemed more like a business hotel, which was fine for one night. Didn't use pool. Enjoyed the free hot buffet breakfast next door. Short drive or medium walk to Little Italy for dinner. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Room was well-appointed and comfortable. We had a bay view on 14th floor which was great. Price was $170 plus fees thru BW website.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for just one night during Comic-Con but were impressed with clean and pleasant the room, great shuttle provided, excellent location, and most of all the kindness of the gentleman and the front desk. Aside from being efficient and professional, he kindly gave my teenager a comic-con card he'd found when we asked about where to find them (you need to be a geek to understand, but it was a nice gesture). This hotel is not for those who are looking for something really fancy, but a nice place to relax when in San Diego. Only downside: it was rather expensive, but that might just be because of the convention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdolan0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The room was very spacious and clean. The suite was furnished with cooking utensils, plates, cups, etc. Great view of the marina. A little pricey but that's due to peak season rates. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Second floor has better views and is more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Spent 4 nights in this hotel and it was in a pretty good position to explore San Diego. Walking distance to the train / trolley stop, the bayside area, gaslamp quarter, and right next to Little Italy we could have easily spent longer here.

The hotel itself was nice and clean and I think all rooms have views towards the bay. The swimming pool and spa was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast provided was very good and better than other Best Western hotels I have stayed at. We also ate at the restaurant once and the service and food was excellent. I would stay here again if in San Diego.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room higher than 5th floor to get a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zedtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I think i paid a bit more for a bay view but on the top floor it was worth it. A short walk from the Amtrak Station, the waterfront and Little Italy. Everything was satisfactory and a fridge and microwave in the room was a welcome extra. The hotel airport shuttle was prompt, making it easier to get there. A satisfying stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 643Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#84 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#88 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Address: 555 West Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
#74 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western + Iniative, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing