We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“O.K. place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Ranked #53 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“O.K. place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Location is the draw for this hotel. It has been remolded and is clean. For the price it was a disappointing. We were first given a room next to an elevator and overlooking the parking garage, we requested a room away from the elevator and were given a room next to the parking garage. The bed was good, TV was large, hot water was very very hot, watch out for this.Nice breakfast hot and cold choices.We were there on a weekend and there was no close place to have a libation after a long trip. The city is pretty quiet in this area during the weekend.However, you can walk to Little Italy and I'm sure there is refreshment there. I had not realized there would be a fourteen dollar charge per night parking and a required twenty dollar deposit for incidentals, usually hotels just ask to use the credit card on file--I think it was just the way they verbalized this that made me wonder. Great shuttle service to our harbor dinner cruise. Friendly driver, saved us from the hassle of finding and paying for parking..

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 160retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    569
    153
    36
    17
See reviews for
310
453
68
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife, 5 year old son and I spent five nights here during our recent visit to San Diego. Overall, we were happy with our stay. The hotel is centrally located downtown (very quiet at night and don’t be surprised to see all the homeless a block or two away) and within walking distance to Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter, giving you lots of dining and shopping options. You are also a five to ten minute walk to both the USS Midway (we spent a good part of the day there) and Maritime Museum. It was also a short drive to both Sea World and the San Diego Zoo.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and the room was quite nice and comfortable. There is also a public computer available if you need to print anything. There is also an in-room safe, which is something that we really appreciate wherever we stay.

Breakfast was included with our room rate, so I don’t like to be too negative about that, but it did seem just a bit lacking. There were a couple of tour groups while we were there and it appeared they were having trouble keeping up as well, and there did not seem to be enough space to deal with the number of people. We had to sit in the bar section a couple of times. Also, breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant, whose décor is really, really basic and seems to have this cold, sanitary, 80’s feel to the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MoreVacations:)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
196 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very impressed with our recent stay at the Bayside Inn. We had requested a room on a high floor, and from our 11th floor room we had a beautiful view of the Star of India ship in San Diego bay. Our balcony room was very clean, and included a microwave and refrigerator. The only thing we could have wished for was a nice comfortable chair; there was plenty of room. The hotel was quiet and within walking distance of most of the sights in San Diego. We walked the two blocks to Little Italy for dinner. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. We will definitely stay at this property again!

Room Tip: Opt for the bayside rooms; they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here as part of a UK organised Tour Group for 2 nights in May 2013 but I doubt if we were given much preferential treatment because it was good anyway. As a group we were given a pleasant afternoon tea upon arrival while they sorted the registration with our Tour Guide and also putting the luggage in our rooms. Splendid. The bedrooms were nice with a balcony, comfortable beds, nice bathroom with all the complimentaries one would expect. Cleaning during the following day was good. We were not disturbed by traffic or other guests. Breakfasts were substantial with a good choice, so if you stayed several days you would not be bored, Yes, with tour groups there is often a bulge in dining rooms etc but then you get that anywhere. A free guest computer in the hall was welcome compared to what we found elsewhere. All staff very friendly and willing to assist. I would stay here again. It was the standard by which we judged the other hotels in California/Arizona/Utah.

Room Tip: Mention any special needs when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldcodgerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We arrrived before check in as was told our room was not ready, even though i had informed them before we would be arriving early. We are also reward members and never had this problem before.
Our room was clean, comfortable and big apart from the slamming of other guests doors throughout the night, and a bit of road noise, maybe we were just unlucky with the noisy guests. The room had a fridge which was handy and a microwave and coffee maker. WIFI worked well.

The location is great a few minutes walk into Little Italy one way and a few minutes more in the other direction to the habour. The Santa Fe station it is just down the road on the way to the harbour. We did not have a car so we made use of public transport it was easy to get around.

As for breakfast we must have been unlucky as the first day hot water and T bags had run out, although the staff were quick to replace the food if it run out, other days there were no knives, milk, and again hot water. As i dont drink coffee, tea is my only other option. Apart from that the breakfast was ok, we have had better but it did the job to set us up for sightseeing.

The hotel does have a pool which is behind the reception area, not sure if any one uses it as we never saw anyone in it.
We used the laundry service which was good you got it back the same day. The cleaning staff were always cheerful and said hello, reception staff were friendly.
I would recommend this hotel for the location,this is why i have given it 4, as i said before maybe we were just unlucky with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piggies06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived here after an 11hr flight, and then a 2 hr drive from LA. It was a relief to find that a) the parking was SO easy and convenient - and b) the check-in was easy, friendly, and quick.
The room (9th floor) was easily accessible by the elevators (2) and was comfortable and a good size. There WAS a damp patch on the carpet, but this had dried by the next day - so I'm presuming that this was an unfortunate leak - and not a regular feature!
Why we would stay here again...
1- Location. Only a five minute walk from the harbor front. We had a 'bay view' room, and you could just about see the water - but considering the price of a 'full view' hotel, we were happy with that! Also only a five minute walk to Santa Fe tram station.
2 - Nearby amenities. Five minute walk to harbor front sites. Twenty minute walk to USS Midway.
7-11 store a block away. NICE Italian restaurant ("Petrini's") literally over the road.
3 - Parking. EXCELLENT.
4 - Hotel appearance was really nice, with plenty of newspapers in lobby, along with nice meeting area sofas.
5 - The swimming pool looked well maintained - but as it was raining, we didn't try it out!
6 - The room had a SAFE. WooHoo! A REAL plus for us!
7 - The balcony was a really nice 'plus' for us. We left the doors open all night, and listened to the 'ting-ting' sound of the tram bell. Very comforting - if you don't mind a little bit of ambient city noise (which we really like).
8 - The Breakfast. This was a really nice surprise! For the price, we didn't have high expectations, but were totally blown away by the range of hot and cold items on offer. Even miso and rice for their Asian customers. Don't skip this. It will set you up for the day.

The only downside we encountered was a faulty hairdryer, which 'rattled'. As we were only there for the two nights, we didn't complain, but informed the receptionist on check-out. The receptionist was very apologetic, wrote an official 'repair' notice, and checked us out as quickly and efficiently as she had checked us in. All with a smile :)
All in all - this was good value for money, and would not hesitate to stay here again, or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank babygoboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After my last stay in a Best Western PLUS, I was ready to kick the entire chain to the curb. However this hotel gets it right, and should be used as the standard for all Best Western PLUS hotels.

For an older property I had zero complaints. Location was great. The renovated room was spotless. The bathroom was in perfect working order and even the grout and caulking in the shower looked like it was just installed. Clean. I wanted to take the mattress with me it was so comfortable.

Bayside view room was great. Complete with balcony, the oversized patio doors give you a great view of the harbour. Which you can open and use the balcony.

Easy parking and just blocks from the Gaslamp district and a short walk to Little Italy. And of course the harbour.

Last note was the free breakfest. Perfect. Clean restaurant room. Great hot and cold choices.

I guess you can tell I was happy with my stay!

Room Tip: Get a bayside room with a view of the harbour. We had three rooms on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazytraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#116 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,880 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#38 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#79 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#86 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in San Diego
#74 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing