We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Diego trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Ranked #59 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona, Usa
1 review
“San Diego trip”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hotel staff at check in were very helpful. There were some noisy guest that night but the staff seem to handle them well. We enjoyed our time. It was a good close location for airport access. Thank you


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    679
    172
    42
    21
See reviews for
388
540
78
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
little rock
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location for Gaslamp area, PETCO park, Little Italy,USS Midway. Need transportation to San diego zoo and Seaworld but it is not far.Great breakfast and comfortable beds. Flat and firm pillows. Also not far from Ocean beach and Mission beach.
Also Coronodo is just over the bridge.

Room Tip: ask for a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank husky042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Kentucky, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We love the location of this Best Western as it is in walking distance to so many things we love to see. Also has easy access to public transportation. We think it's a great bang for the buck and super clean!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 233AlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent two nights here in order to visit Balboa Park. When we got there we realised that it would be quite time consuming to use the bus so took a cab for $10 outward / $8.50 return. (Same company, not the same drivers - I still don't understand the difference in price.) From the hotel we walked to restaurants in the Gaslamp Quarter and Little Italy. At the hotel we had a large room with a small balcony and lovely view of the bay. We didn't experience any noise from the street or within the hotel. Breakfast was provided in the hotel's restaurant a few steps down the street and was of a good standard. The hotel has a free shuttle bus which collected us from the airport. However, they weren't able to accommodate our request to be taken to the car rental depot when we left so we took a cab. Overall I would say this is a good choice for a mid price hotel in San Diego.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireDandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We chose this hotel because we wanted to be free of a rental car for a change . The airport shuttle was there in minutes from our arrival. The room overlooked the bay , and made for awesome sunsets from the balcony . There is a new building being built very close to the south side of the hotel and will interrupt the view of many rooms I am sure. We were on the 11th floor, and had a lovely view of the bay, the Star of India and the sunsets . Beds were very comfy, room was mostly quiet . Occasionally I heard the train bells , but I was not bothered when I was sleeping . The front desk staff was helpful, friendly and very patient with a very large group who did not have English as their first language . The buffet breakfast was lovely, with a good variety of food choices, both hot and cold . Most things were either within walking distance or easily accessible by bus or trolley , both nearby . The hotel is at the start of Little Italy, and there are many restaurants in the area . There is a Rite Aid one block west that is open til midnight just in case . Pool seemed small, but very few people used it the week we were there . All in all, a wonderful choice for us .

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor to insure quiet and a view. The bay side view is easily worth the little b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dodi534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUMMERFIELD, FL
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel picked us up at the Railroad Station after a short 20 minute wait. We probably could've walked to the Hotel but we had a lot of luggage and we ain't young. Front desk staff was very helpful in getting us settled in a room with a good view. Very comfortable bed and no street noise. Buffet breakfast was very good and included in the room rate.
The next morning they transported us to the cruise terminal as scheduled.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVIDPHS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#69 of 278 in San Diego
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing