We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly staff, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Ranked #58 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly staff, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This Best Western is very clean and the staff is very friendly. The buffet breakfast included in the room is very good, hot eggs, bacon and potatos, along with rolls, fruits and the other usual breakfast foods.
The location was perfect for us as we were here to visit the San Diego Maritime Museum. It was only blocks away from the water front and blocks from Little Italy. This is a good say for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for water view. The sun sets are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    632
    165
    40
    18
See reviews for
351
499
74
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I am one of those finicky nurses who cleans her hotel room first thing upon arrival. Guess what, no dirt here! This hotel was wonderful, stayed almost 2 weeks, so I got a bit tired of scrambled eggs, but they were good, tasted like fresh cracked. Safe in room accomodates laptop, fridge/microwave, very pleasant accomodations and staff, my room on the 11th floor was very quiet. Free airport shuttle, which I appreciated. Hint: if you are a Rewards Member, they have complimentary Thursday evening Happy Hour, so sign up! We had dinner one night in the restaurant, which was very good. GREAT SIGHTSEEING: exit the hotel, look left and walk straight down to the water to see the Star of India, Old Town Trolley, Midway and Anthony's Seafood Grotto, which has great Happy Hour food and drinks, the ceviche tacos - YUM! Exit hotel, go to corner and go right on India, takes you to Little Italy, we had Filippi's lasagne twice and pizza too, one slice fills you up! There is a fresh market on Saturday in little Italy as well. The Santa Fe Depot was very close, out the hotel door, look left, walk two blocks and turn left onto Kettner, the station is old and very distinct, on your right a short way past the museum. We got lots of assistance in the station with sightseeing and use of the trolley. I cannot say enough about the quality of this hotel, friendly without stuffiness, they even had a corkscrew for us, since we forgot ours. The Rite Aid a block away has wine, not a bad selection either. The parking was a little tight in the garage,close spaces, so park gingerly.

Room Tip: Supposedly the quiet side faces the city, our's was and was very quiet on the 11th floor. I talk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manateelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

So many Best Western hotels seem dated & the Bayside is a typical example. Our room had obviously been recently redecorated but it still looked like something from the 1950s. The door slams shut, the shower struggles to work efficiently and towels are paper thin. Other hotel groups have moved on but BW seems rooted in the past. Breakfasts were really low grade affairs. The hotel is in a good location in the city and in easy walking distance of good restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arby27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie Trav
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

One of the Congress hotels - we chose it as it had a fridge and microwave. Very clean and comfortable. Parking available at the hotel and it has a restaurant next door. Cooked breakfast included in the room rate. Easy and efficient check-in and out

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mezAussieTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wife and I picked this hotel for value, location and amenities, incl. shuttle service and free breakfast next door. We, frequent travelers joining a 14-day Hawaii cruise the next day, were favorably impressed. Shuttle from airport worked but involved a lot of waiting; a cab would have been smarter. Return to the cruise pier was much easier, by appointment and took 15 min.

Check-in-and-out were easy and our shuttle driver-host did a great job. Our bay-view double halfway up was fine, as was its balcony. Room size, air conditioning, bed, bath, water pressure, cleanliness, coffee maker, elevators and such were fine as well...no complaints except for a family of four or five stuffing themselves into one room next door and making too much noise. Breakfast next door was fine, as was touristic advice from the desk and proximity to markets.

On balance, we liked this hotel and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Stay here, on a higher floor, if you are cruising away and want a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footsore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is ideally located for the tourist. Just three blocks from the waterfront with the Midway Aircraft Carrier and hop on hop off busses,and three blocks from Little Italy where there are plenty of good restaurants. The room was bright and quiet, the staff friendly. The surcharge for parking was reasonable for a high tourist area. The complimentary hot breakfast was quite acceptable. I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenAncaster_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed in San Diego numerous times but never in the downtown area. The hotel is in a great location to walk to nearby restaurants and the harbor. It's a fairly easy walk down to the Midway aircraft carrier and museum. (Well worth doing with kids) We were also close by car to the Zoo and the Safari Park. The breakfast was a nice standard Best Western breakfast in a small restaurant attached to the hotel although you do have to walk outside to get to it. We also ended up having dinner there one night after a long day out and it was great. The room rate was very reasonable especiallly over a holiday weekend. The rooms were a comfortable size for 4. The front desk staff was very helpful with giving directions to the parks and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moxietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#119 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#57 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Best Western and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing