We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Ranked #60 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really liked this hotel”
Reviewed February 10, 2008

When we arrived at San Diego airport we had no idea how to get to the hotel-we telephoned the hotel and we were told to get a taxi and to make sure to get a receipt for the journey. When checking in, they asked for our taxi receipt and they refunded the cost! Pretty nice gesture:-)
We were impressed with our room. Clean, tidy, large and with a balcony overlooking the bay. The view really did it for me and adds loads of bonus points to this hotel. Keep in mind though that there is a lot of construction going on infront of the hotel which is almost certainly going to block the views in the future!

To be honest, I didn't really like the area of the hotel. We decided to go for dinner at around 7.30pm and couldn't find anywhere open around the immediate area! There seemed to be quite a few restaurants but they were all closed. This seemed strange to me at this time on a Friday night. Also, there seemed to be quite a lot of homeless people nearby but we never felt threatened by them.

Breakfast was included in our rate-it was okay. Nothing special but it did the job.

The location of the hotel was quite convenient to the trolley station and bus stops-both were around a 5/10minute walk. This made it quite easy to get to attractions such as SeaWorld and the zoo.

If I returned to San Diego, I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again, although I might chose somewhere with a more vibrant location.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank insomniac06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    672
    169
    42
    20
See reviews for
380
533
78
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

My two girlfriends and I stayed here for four nights. During this period we went to sea world, the wild animal park, tijuana and the san diego zoo. We found that the staff at the front desk were very helpful in giving us directions and information about public transport. They also confirmed our flight out of LAX for us. We found the rooms were a little bit small for the three of us. Too small that a roll-away bed couldn't have been put into the room. The microwave and the fridge came in really handy in storing food for dinner as we didn't feel safe to walk around the area at night. The shower was really weird to use, but once you get the hang of it, it was pretty good.

The complimentry breakfast at the hotels restaurant next door was very good. It contained some hot and cold items as well as fruit. The hotels complimentry shuttle service took us to the Amtrak station. The driver was really nice and helpful. The train station isn't that far away from the hotel, but it was easier than lugging our stuff for two blocks. There is free internet access on one computer located in the lobby. We found that hardly anyone was using it. This was a very good feature to have. The hotel is pretty close to a large shopping mall, a supermarket, trolley and bus stations, train station and the local prison. The area at night had quite a few homeless people around. Im sure that they are quite harmless, however as a group of three girls at the age of 21, we felt safer to stay inside after dark.

All in all, we quite liked this hotel. It was fairly close to everything and the free internet access and the complimentry breakfast was excellent.

  • Liked — Free internet and complimentry shuttle and breakfast
  • Disliked — Small rooms and we didn't feel safe outside after dark
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank EzzaEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

We chose this hotel because of the free shuttle from the airport and to the cruise terminal. The shuttle driver was excellent. The front desk staff indifferent, non-informative, less than friendly.

It was mid-December so there was a cold wind from the bay. The sliding window had extreme drafts and wind from all around its perimeter. There is major construction going on and is probably much needed. I wouldn't have put any pressure on this window because It would probably fall out of the structure. We put pillow along the floor edge to try to block the wind.

When we commented on the strong gas leak smell, the front desk said it was nothing to worry about. Every time we came indoors to the hotel, we could detect the odor of gas.

The location is convenient.

The trains stop whistling around 11:30 or midnight and don't resume before 7am. We didn't find them to be a problem.

Would I stay there again? No. Not worth the price, it is just too run-down.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — drafts, smelly pillows, smell of gas leak
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Forevermemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax,VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

We were pleasantly surprised on how nice of a hotel this was. We only stayed one night during our honeymoon trip to S. California, before moving onto Coronado.
The hotel is not much to look at from the exterior, but the interior was clean and well kept. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
The beds were the most comfortable that I have ever slept in.
The hotel is in a great location at a great price. We were given a bay view without paying more. The view of the bay is limited but pleasant. The view will probably disappear within a year do to all the construction that is happening between the hotel and the bay.
Would definately stay here again even when the view is gone.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Va4luvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed for 3 days prior to taking a cruise, it was the week of the LA and district fires and there was some air pollution which affected the area. Nevertheless we had a wonderful time and have vowed to return as there was so much to see and do. Our room was on the 12th floor with a bay view and we were able to watch the planes taking off and landing, the cruise ships coming in and sailing out and the trains crossing the bottom of the street. The staff at the hotel were excellent and there was free internet access in the lobby. There is a Rite Aid pharmacy store on the corner one block down, it sells soft drinks, snacks, liquor and travel sizes of toiletries which are useful. We also bought the trolley tickets on line and saved $3, the tour is brilliant and we spent the whole day visiting some of the attractions, although there is so much to see we only spent time on Coronado island and in the Old town. The hotel is just a short walk from the waterfront and the area is fine during the day although at night if you turn right as you come out of the hotel there were a few tramps sleeping in doorways and we didn't feel comfortable walking that way at night. Overall we thought the hotel was excellent value for money but a highfloor bay view room is a must, although there is some building going on down the street which may affect the waterfront view.

  • Liked — Position of hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newcomerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We stayed at the Best Western between 2nd and 5th September 2007. Hotel was basic but exactly what we were looking for - somewhere to base ourselves to enable us to explore the city.

The hotel was clean and in a great location (a 5 minute walk from the Little Italy and Gaslamp and a 30 minute walk from Balboa Park - not something to undertake in the midday sun though........oops!!!!). It has a swimming pool and jacuzzi which were nice at the end of the day and it offered free internet access which proved really useful. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the view from our window looked out across the bay, with great sunsets through the sails of the Star Of India ship moored in the harbour.

The free breakfast wasn't great (offered at restaurant next door), but that didn't bother us in the slightest.

Overall - nothing spectacular, but all that we needed as a base to explore the city.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank igm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Overall the stay at the hotel was absolutely fine. I'd stay there again and I would have no problem in recommending it to friends and family. On the positive side the room was clean, tidy and well maintained. It was a 6th floor room so had an interesting view of various big buildings from the balcony. My son also enjoyed watching the planes flying quite low as they approached the airport. The pool and hot tub were welcome entertainment too. Staff were pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable (at least in answering the question of how to get to the zoo).

Parking was $7 per night.

On the negative side the complimentary breakfast was ok, but not great. Cereals: cornflakes, raisin (sugared) bran, fruit loops (I missed my Shredded Wheat and porridge), bread for toasting (though I missed my Marmite), muffins, pastries (a little stale at times), scrambled egg, orange juice and coffee (typical American - i.e. not good). That all sounds fine and I suppose it was really, but the polysyrene plates and cups along with the plastic cutlery took it all down a couple of levels. The only other negative point was a very unpleasant smell (like stale sweat) in our corridor at certain times of the day. It wasn't present in the lift, the lobby or the bedroom, just the corridor. As I said at the outset though, I would have no problem staying here again and would be happy to recommend it to others.

  • Liked — decent views of low flying planes from the balcony
  • Disliked — plastic breakfast plates and cutlery
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank whelks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#73 of 278 in San Diego
615 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing