We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
Ranked #205 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The staff was spectacular, particularly Anisa, who were not only welcoming but very helpful with recommendations about transport, places and everything else I needed. The location was great and I could easy walk to Gaslamp and downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eduardouchoarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    59
    51
    24
    27
See reviews for
46
55
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The first day I noticed there was no hot water in the lavatory. Next day they fixed this problem but my Kindle e-book reader was stolen. After the repair a leak was left and the floor of the washroom became a lagoon. But for the next 3 days I didn't call anybody because I was afraid that something else could be missing. And I stayed in San Diego carrying my tablet and everything of some value.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfango27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is 1 mile from the convention center, through the Gaslamp district, across from the El Cortez. Being new to the area, I booked at the Red Roof because I wanted to save some money, be relatively close to the action, and have some rest. I just don't understand the low ratings other reviewers have had. It's a red roof inn, not the Plaza. For under $90, on St. Patrick's Day weekend in 2013, I slept peacefully all 4 nights, walked all around San Diego, and walked to Balboa Parkwhich was 1/2 mile away from the hotel. If you're trying to be economically sensitive, used to walking and do not tire easy, then this is as good of a Red Roof as I've been to in NC, SC, TN.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eoxixis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

First of all, let me start off by saying that the staff here is fantastic. It is unfortunate that such great people have to work at such a horrible hotel.

When we first checked in, the gentleman helping us was new so it took a little longer than expected but he was super nice and I didn't mind waiting. The parking lot is a little tight but they have underground overflow parking so that is great.

We checked into our room (203) and quickly discovered that there was only one working outlet in the entire room. The bathroom had no windows, so even using the restroom was not an option unless you wanted to sit in a pitch black room or leave the door open. We called down to the desk to see what could be done and they said that maintenance was busy across the street fixing a flood at their other property.

They moved us to another room downstairs (108) and as I set my bag down on the bed, the frame collapsed on the left side. Great. Luckily, it latches so I just looked under the bed and snapped it back in. The hardwood floors were really dirty, don't take your socks/shoes off.

We went out for dinner and drinks with friends downtown in San Diego and when we came back their was a Cup of Noodles Beef wrapper on the floor of our bathroom. This wasn't here when we left, nor do I eat Cup of Noodles. My only thought is that someone came into our room to use the microwave in there to make their meal. So creepy!

I decide to take a shower before I go to bed, and I see a huge cockroach crawling on the shower wall. GROSS! When there is one, there is a thousand. So I stuff a towel under the bathroom door hoping they won't come running into the bedroom area while I sleep. Then the couple above us decides to have loud sex for hours on end upstairs so it was a sleepless night for sure.

NEVER AGAIN!! Do not go to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Anisa was AWESOME and helpful desk clerk that I have ever seen!
I had a reservation by mistake through EXPEDIA at another red roof in in SD but Anisa did help me alot to have me stay at the red roof inn that I definitely needed to stay.
Also, she was so nice when I asked her about sightseeing places and other questions.
There was no refrigelator in the room but I could use it at the lobby so it was not a big problem.
This motel is located in a good and convinient place to get to a Trolly sta. Gaslamp quater and Horton Plaza.
I will definitely stay in this REDROOF inn when I need a room in SD!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Staff were spectacular, particularly Anisa and Ivan, who were not only welcoming but helpful with recommendations on restaurants, transport, laundry, printing, and everything else we needed. Unfortunately the property is seriously deficient. Internet works sporadically at best. Showers heat up to a maximum of lukewarm, towels are threadbare, and bathmats are the size of handkerchieves. Walls and doors are paper-thin, so you can hear anything happening anywhere nearby, day and night. Furniture is functional but beat-up, and there are no fridges in the room. Great location, easy walk to Gaslamp and downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Checking in was goodt. Once I got to the room, the hallway ceiling light was not working. I mentioned it twice to the front desk by phone n personally but they never fix it or even check it. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was rattling really loud. I could even hear the next rooms bathroom fan rattling as well.
The first day when I got back to the room, I had to call the office because no one clean the room, this was at 6pm.
Police sirens constantly every night. I've never seen so many homeless people... It's not safe to walk around the area cause these people are sleeping on sidewalks, asking for money and trying to talk with you.
Next time I would prefer to stay closer to the Gaslamp area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKMRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown

Property: Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
Address: 719 Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3213 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown is located just minutes from The San Diego International Airport via car or our complimentary shuttle. Our newly renovated rooms are the provide the perfect place to stay while visiting local attractions like the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego State University or the USS Midway, all located within an easy drive of our location. For a day or evening out, enjoy all that the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer from food, to shopping to entertainment less than a mile from The Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown. Enjoy our Non-Smoking rooms and free WiFi while experiencing all that San Diego has to offer. Our business center is open 24 hours for all of your travel needs and a microwave & refrigerator are available in select rooms. Relax in our lobby with coffee house style coffee and tea in the lobby. Parking is available for passanger vehicles is available for a fee and complimentary shuttle service is available to the San Diego Airport, Amtrack & cruise ship terminals. Shuttle Hours are from 5AM to 9PM. So, if your destination is the San Diego Zoo, or taking in a game at the ball park or just visiting all of the attractions and events San Diego has in store, the Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown welcomes you as a guest in your travels to San Diego Downtown. One well behaved pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn And Suites Downtown
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel San Diego
Rodeway Inn Downtown
Rodeway Inn San Diego
San Diego Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing