We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Staff Can't Make Up For Seriously Run-Down Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites San Diego Downtown
Ranked #201 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Staff were spectacular, particularly Anisa and Ivan, who were not only welcoming but helpful with recommendations on restaurants, transport, laundry, printing, and everything else we needed. Unfortunately the property is seriously deficient. Internet works sporadically at best. Showers heat up to a maximum of lukewarm, towels are threadbare, and bathmats are the size of handkerchieves. Walls and doors are paper-thin, so you can hear anything happening anywhere nearby, day and night. Furniture is functional but beat-up, and there are no fridges in the room. Great location, easy walk to Gaslamp and downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Baymont Inn & Suites San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 216 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Checking in was goodt. Once I got to the room, the hallway ceiling light was not working. I mentioned it twice to the front desk by phone n personally but they never fix it or even check it. The exhaust fan in the bathroom was rattling really loud. I could even hear the next rooms bathroom fan rattling as well.
The first day when I got back to the room, I had to call the office because no one clean the room, this was at 6pm.
Police sirens constantly every night. I've never seen so many homeless people... It's not safe to walk around the area cause these people are sleeping on sidewalks, asking for money and trying to talk with you.
Next time I would prefer to stay closer to the Gaslamp area.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKMRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We use this location extensively for visitors coming into San Diego ,and the value for the locations is excellent. Not a fancy place, but clean and with an extremely helpful staff. On the weekends it becomes a bit of a party spot for younger crowds.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshPil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Never ever again – In my opinion this hotel is extremely poor value for money. I spent two nights here and paid $100 per night. On top of this they also requested $16 per day parking fee (this was higher that the local parking charge of $14 two blocks down and that was with a hotel room) and a $2 charge for use of the room safe. Oh and no breakfast.

Despite the hotel advertising boutique style accommodation with flat screen TVs, free WIFI and Spa inspired bathrooms this is not what greeted us on arrival at The Red Roof Inn San Diego.
Our room was located on a busy corner by a set of traffic lights close to the flight path to San Diego Airport and had filthy single glazed windows. Add this to poor sound proofing between floors cheap laminate flooring (no rugs) and out dated plumbing you can begin to imagine the noise. The situation was made even worse by the fact that the hotel was overrun with out of control screaming students. On one of the nights there was a police incident and two patrol cars attended a few rooms down from ours.

At the time of our stay the weather in San Diego was cold and because of the single glazing to room was freezing. Despite there being a heating in the room when on it made such a racket you could almost imagine a jet engine firing up.

As far as the facilities go the only seating in the room was one office type chair, the TV was not flat screen and the size of a small car, the WIFI did not work, there was a coffee machine with a short power cable which meant you had crawl under the table and make drinks on the floor as this was the only accessible socket. The advertised Gourmet coffee bar was a in fact a consisted of a folding table covered by a dirty table cloth serving cold coffee out of flasks and there was no fresh milk.

The so called Spa inspired bathroom was slightly bigger than a telephone box had no bath and in order to fit under the shower I had to stoop down by a foot. I am only six feet tall.

Overall the hotel was cold, uninviting, noisy and one step up from hostel accommodation. Be warned!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANTHONY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We picked this Motel to save some money and because we only needed a stay for one night. The place was packed, probably somebody in every room. People were outside in the courtyard till 3 am being super noisy, shouting, talking, honking the horns of their cars. The staff did not care to ask them to be quiet. The walls in this place are super thin. It feels like the people next door are in your room with you. The water in the shower would flow normally for 20-30 seconds and then the whole shower and its pipes would spit out the water in a super noisy way that gave the feeling in the next minute black water would ooze out of the shower head. The fridge was so loud that it had to be unplugged. The door lock with the lil chain was half ripped out of the wall. Around 2 am, suddenly the "new message" light on the phone started flashing. Since there didnt seem to be a button to listen to it to stop the flashing the phone had to be covered. The room we has was with a window to the street where cars were driving by all night and stopping at the red light, filling the room wirh the humming of engines regularly. The next morning the fire brigade had to come to break open one of the room doors for whatever reason.. Overall, the place did not feel save and we ended up sleeping some 2-3 hours before getting the heck out of there.

Overall I advise you to spend a couple bucks more, maye have a light dinner instead and get a comfortable, good night of sleep...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saladb0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Debora79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica R, Guest Service Agent at Baymont Inn & Suites San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#67 of 278 in San Diego
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites San Diego Downtown

Address: 719 Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3213 (Formerly Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $74 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites San Diego Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel San Diego
Rodeway Inn And Suites Downtown
Rodeway Inn Downtown
Rodeway Inn San Diego
San Diego Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing