We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveler rating
249
305
154
59
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
305
154
59
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balboa park free happy hour free breakfast free shuttle pancake machine parking garage shuttle service airport shuttle gaslamp quarter breakfast room hot breakfast front desk staff staff was very friendly and helpful yogurt the gas lamp district horton plaza per day
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 786 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We had a very positive experience with the free breakfast (cinnamon buns were great, good variety of offerings), the room (roomy, nice balcony, clean), and compact but sufficient lobby (microwave in lobby since rooms only had mini-fridge, business center part of lobby so convenient). The bathroom was very small, but well-appointed so functioned well despite the space constraints (glass shower door is plus). One negative: the front desk would not honor AARP's 2:00 checkout benefit, but did honor their own Reward Program 1:00 checkout.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyM2310, Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Good Evening Katie D,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us and taking time to let us know how we did. We have a large turnover each day so unfortunately we are limited the amount and times we have for late check outs. I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We do hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Thank Again,
Courtney M
Loyalty Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Not too bad, it did the job for two nights. Room was mostly clean, it wouldn't hurt to have a bit of a face lift. Breakfast was ok and very standard for what you normally get. Location was pretty good, 10 minute walk from little Italy and Gas Lamp quarter, Balboa park is walkable but I would recommend driving (free parking in Balboa park) or catch a bus.

Room tip: Try and get a corner suite, the space is nice.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stevent643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyM2310, Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Good Evening Steven T,
Thank you for taking time out to review our hotel. Feedback helps us to accommodate guest in the future. I will see what we can do to spice up the rooms a little better. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Best Regards,
Courtney M
Loyalty Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2018

When we got our no smoking room someone had smoked in it. They gave us a new room right away The new room smelt like smoked but was not as bad as they other so we settled being tired.
The rooms where clean and the staff was help full.How ever someone missed up with the transportation. We asked at the front desk if they could pick us up at 9;00 pm from the zoo. Was told no problem just call when you get out. On the way to the zoo we ask the drive as well to make sure we had a ride back He told use just call when you get out .
So we called the hotel told us there was no one to pick us up and to get a cab which was to be in front of the zoo and they would pay. There was no cab. Called hotel back said there where not any cabs there . They told us to call Ober .Ober told us they did not go to the park to get a cab they longer went to the zoo . So again we called the hotel. They final got someone to pick us up.
The reason we chose this hotel was fro the transportation.
The transportation to and from Airport was good and on time.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayson M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2018

Hello Jean M,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am sorry that you had a bit of a struggle with your stay. I have taken the proper action to resolve the issues that arose concerning communication and the smell of the rooms. I have passed along this information with my management team to ensure it gets resolved in a swift and timely manner. Your feedback was very valuable and appreciated. I wish you the best of luck with your future travels,

My Best Regards,

Jayson Monti / Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here because breakfast was provided. Comic con was on and the hotel was full. It wasn’t noisy in our room. We stayed on the third floor although they did offer us the option of staying below ground which we didn’t take. Everything worked in the room. There was free coffee and water in the lobby. Breakfast was limited but the food was well stocked. It never ran out. There were omelettes, sausage, pancakes, muffins, oatmeal and I think cereal and fruit. And coffee and juice. I will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank wscott1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney M, Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Hello wscott1111,
Thank you for taking time to let us know how we did on your most recent stay. I am happy to say we will be upgrading our breakfast as of October, hope you come back to see the exciting changes. Thanks again for staying with us.
Best Regards,
Courtney M
Loyalty Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Hotel/room was clean and comfortable. Surprised (happily) by weekday happy hour. WiFi worked well. Had a room with a balcony, which was another nice surprise. Workout room has a number of machines, free weights, yoga mats, etc. (very nice and clean). Everything you’d expect from a Holiday Inn Express and more!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank O9025EPleslier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney M, Loyalty Champion at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Hello Leslie R,

Thank you for your recent stay with us here in San Diego. We love to hear that we made a good impression while you stayed with us. We hope to see you the next time you are in the area. Thanks again.

Courtney M
Loyalty Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews