We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only good thing is the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Ranked #121 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Only good thing is the location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

First of all, I want to express that the staff is great. Very nice and as accomodating as possible. However, the hotel is old and tired. The bathroom was so small that one person could barely turn around in the room. It was about 4 feet by 5 feet? No counter space to put toiletries down. The bed was ok, pillows old, no support. Portable AC unit in room that was noisy. Breakfast was ok.. just ok. I took my son for a couple of days to see watch some ballgames at Petco park and do some sightseeing. It is in not a great part of downtown (a lot of empty buildings and homeless or shady people walking around) and it is quite a long walk to Gaslamp quarter and the ball park, so we took a cab (probably a mile and half). We took the hotel shuttle down to the trolley that got us out to SeaWorld. We walked to little Italy and had a couple of nice dinners. What really concerned me was that the permit in the elevator which did not run well, showed that it had expired on 11/12/12. That to me was a major red flag....Will not stay there again..

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, make sure that everything is up to code before you book a reservation. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaMarie323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear PatriciaMarie323,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I appreciate your compliments on our hotel staff. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    260
    134
    47
    17
See reviews for
165
206
46
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is a great location for the city and the harbor in San Diego, rooms are typical of Holiday Inn, not big but very clean, staff very helpful, small cafe to eat in or take out, average but overall a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazza321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Last minute decision to drive to San Diego for the long weekend. First time to stay downtown and hotel was convenient for us to walk everywhere. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable bed. Beer, wine and snacks for happy hour with a nice outdoor patio. Breakfast was decent, but very crowded and loud. We ended up moving upstairs to eat on the patio. Price was standard for a holiday weekend, but we only stayed Wed-Fri then moved to beach hotel. Walking distance to Gaslamp District, Little Italy and Pier. Neighborhood felt safe and we hit a couple of dive bars on our way home from the Pier.Hotel could use an update, but met our needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The staff were great and really could not be faulted.
It's such a shame that the hotel is so tired, it has the potential to be really very good but needs some care and attention to bring it up to a modern standard.
The elevators are some of the slowest I've ever ridden on, and the zircon in the room was noisy.
Great location for Gaslamp, Little Italy and the Convention Centre though, although I wouldn't stay here again unless it was renovated.
Usual poor breakfast and coffee, no worse than any other US chain hotel, although the breakfast room seemed overwhelmed during our stay through 4th July.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Johnston66UK,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Pro: Staff was awesome. Very friendly. Clean & happy
Room was taken care of, clean & organized.
Breakfast couldn't have been anymore perfect. Love those pancakes.

Con:
Underground parking $16.00
Entrance to parking is being the hotel on 6th Street.


Must: we stayed in room 318; had a wonderful view of the historical el cortez hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blonde L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great location for the Gaslamp District.

Smallish room with noisy air con but perfectly adequate and very clean. Nice to have a refrigerator and free wifi in the room - been to many places which were more expensive but didn't have these.

Breakfast was quite acceptable, if you don't mind a rugby scrum to get your food at times! Biggest disappointment though was that staff let food and coffee run out before they even thought of replenishing them. Also, the sight of bins overflowing with paper plates/coffee cups was offputting.

The decor in the corridors was fairly awful but hey, we were only passing through!

Desk staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful - they were great at helping us to organise trips. And the courtesy minibus was much appreciated - thank you Stan for your wonderful and cheery service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geo-0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hameln, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I Stayed here with a large group on a sports tour for 3 nights in Jun 13. It was ideally situated for the Gaslamp Distrct for the main hub of bars and restaurants. Use the lift on 6th Avenue to return after a night out rather than the main ntrance on the steep 7th.

The rooms were small and not suitable for a long stay but served a purpose for our trip. The rooms are a little dated but were clean and with comfortable beds. The pool is small but fine for a quick dip and lounge in the sun rathe than actual swimming. Breakfast was included, with limited choice but was fine.

The staff (in particularly Tricia) were friendly and helpful with our large and, sometimes, rowdy group.

I'd use the hotel again for its convenience to the Gaslamp but not for a holiday or special trip.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Evertonian_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#207 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Address: 1430 7th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. This 100% non-smoking hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of America s finest city. San Diego s most popular attractions are within minutes. With our staff's dedication to customer service, the San Diego Holiday Inn Express is a popular choice amongst all visitors.The hotel is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter. For your convenience, take our free shuttle to the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Cruise Ship Terminal, and the San Diego Airport. Enjoy our complimentary hot new breakfast bar featuring fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties, flaky biscuits, and sausage gravy. The hotel offers free WiFi Internet access, refrigerators in all rooms, and a free business center with three dedicated computers. The hotel is two blocks from the San Diego Trolley which will take you to Qualcomm Stadium in less than 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing