We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for the Gaslamp District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Ranked #127 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I Stayed here with a large group on a sports tour for 3 nights in Jun 13. It was ideally situated for the Gaslamp Distrct for the main hub of bars and restaurants. Use the lift on 6th Avenue to return after a night out rather than the main ntrance on the steep 7th.

The rooms were small and not suitable for a long stay but served a purpose for our trip. The rooms are a little dated but were clean and with comfortable beds. The pool is small but fine for a quick dip and lounge in the sun rathe than actual swimming. Breakfast was included, with limited choice but was fine.

The staff (in particularly Tricia) were friendly and helpful with our large and, sometimes, rowdy group.

I'd use the hotel again for its convenience to the Gaslamp but not for a holiday or special trip.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Evertonian_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 710 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Definitely makes the top 10 of the worst hotels I have ever visited. Needed a hotel fast so booked this through a travel agent over the phone. Would not have happened had I visited tripadvisor and glad to say lesson well learned. The rooms were pokey and in need of a good cleaning the breakfast was a slap up so we went without after day 1. The only thing good to say about it was that it was central to downtown. Stayed 3 nights and wont be back pity as San Diego is such a beautiful city. Cant rate the staff as we didn't see any, looked like they were preparing for renovations, hope the got it right this time.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Pat H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our property a review regarding your experience. I am glad you liked our hotel location. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I deeply regret the overall dissatisfaction of your stay especially with the breakfast selection and cleanliness of the room not being at par with your expectations. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.


Again, we appreciate your feedback and we hope to provide you with a better service in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I must admit that this hotel was booked at the last minute with very little research, but we got lucky. It is walking distance to the gaslamp district which is an excellent area for dining, clubbing, etc. The staff was so helpful, no matter what the question. They gave us all kinds of information about the area, highlighted places on a map for us, etc. Third floor facing the harbor instead of streetside affords the best views, and a lovely balcony. Breakfast was a convenient free amenity.

Room Tip: top floor, harbor side affords beautiful view, and balcony
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you're looking for a good located hotel to gas lamp district in San Diego, this hotel is it. But, it lacks in all other aspects. Price is high, service is ok, rooms needs upgrades compared to other Holiday Inns.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear stevop,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

I trust that the above issues will not deter you from choosing us as your hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I wish I had booked this hotel for both nights of my trip, because it was excellent. The service was extremely nice, the room was very clean and looked like it had never been used. The TV was a nice, new, enormous flat screen. There was a fridge, too, and microwaves on request. The complimentary breakfast had tons of choices and was better than any other hotel breakfast I've had. Definitely going back here the next time I go to San Diego.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Chose this location because it is centrally located between Hillcrest and Downtown San Diego (Gaslamp). Walking to Hillcrest is a brisk walk (10-15 min) and to Gaslamp (5-10 min). Felicia the Front Desk Agent did an AWESOME job by welcoming us with high energy and making us feel welcomed by asking us series of questions that included if this was our first time, what brought us to San Diego, what we had planned and so on.

The rooms were spacious, clean. The hotel is 3 stories and we felt safe with no worries. Though we were there for a romantic getaway this location is great for families since it offers a pool and shuttle service to the airport, Sea World and the Zoo.

We would sure return because of the location, service, and price.

Room Tip: Get a corner room facing the street so get double view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EL_GQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just returned from a Memorial Day weekend trip to San Diego, chose the Holiday Express for its location and value. What I was impressed with the most was the staff. Jeannette, thank you for making our stay perfect, for assisting us with local transportation, for your warm smile each time I passed the front desk. The location is walking distance to the Gaslamp, to Little Italy, embarcadero and Seaport Village. The only downfall is that the hotel sits on top of a hill and no avoiding the climb as you return. Yes the property is older but everything was working, the room was clean and tidy. All and all great stay and would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_Gomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

Address: 1430 7th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $124 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. This 100% non-smoking hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of America s finest city. San Diego s most popular attractions are within minutes. With our staff's dedication to customer service, the San Diego Holiday Inn Express is a popular choice amongst all visitors.The hotel is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter. For your convenience, take our free shuttle to the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Cruise Ship Terminal, and the San Diego Airport. Enjoy our complimentary hot new breakfast bar featuring fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties, flaky biscuits, and sausage gravy. The hotel offers free WiFi Internet access, refrigerators in all rooms, and a free business center with three dedicated computers. The hotel is two blocks from the San Diego Trolley which will take you to Qualcomm Stadium in less than 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing