We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Nearby Hotels
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$178
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$662
$599
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$172
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$345
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$241
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$219
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$177
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$206
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$310
$290
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveler rating
237
284
148
54
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
284
148
54
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalboa parkfree happy hourfree breakfastfree shuttlefree beer and winepancake machinehotel shuttleshuttle servicegaslamp quarterbreakfast roomhot breakfastfront desk staffan older hotelbooked this hotelstaff was very friendly and helpfulyogurtthe gas lamp district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 742 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It is a simple hotel as many others, with friendly staff. the location is not so bad, not so far from the Quarter, where you can choose any kind of restaurants. It is a few blocks away and you can go by walking (the only point is that the last block, you will feel your foot!!)
The breakfast is really good if it is considered continental.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfredo5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

stayed one night for business and impressed with the extras offered! Free wifi - free use of lobby computer - free printing - free breakfast. Limited hours happy hour - convenient, clean and extremely friendly front desk team. Nearby "mini mart" if you only need snacks for dinner. And the windows open for fresh air.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Overall, our stay here wasn't too bad. The rooms are on the small side, but they are clean, quiet, and comfortable. The shuttle service was very helpful to getting specific tourist attractions, but the front desk was always really good at helping us find our way around if we didn't use the shuttle. The hotel is in a great location in reference to sight seeing and dining. It Is near the gas lamp quarter, zoo, little Italy, and Navy pier just to name a few.

There was really only two complaints I have about this facility:
1. Very poor recognition of club rewards members.
2. The continental breakfast was awful! Unless you are interested in cereal or a bagel don't even bother with breakfast. We were only able to stomach it for 1 morning and other mornings went to a good little cafe near by. The room where the breakfast was at was filthy and we weren't able to find a table not covered in syrup.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Katie M,

Thank you for your review and enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our group stayed for two nights in April. Reception staff were amazing and managed our large group with great efficiency during check in. They were always smiling and most helpful. The Ambassador was readily accessible and making all feel welcome. Breakfast was great-- hot and cold food to meet everyone's needs. The pool area and patio off reception were comfortable areas to relax.Shopping,sightseeing and restaurants were all close by.We especially enjoyed the restaurants in Little Italy.Shuttle service was good.
Thanks to all the staff-- awesome service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Older hotel, but still very nice. Staff was helpful and very nice. I was taking a cruise and was able to leave my car parked while away, but also shuttled me to and from the cruise port. They have a great free breakfast, with everything from pancakes to eggs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews