We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find in downtown San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Ranked #119 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
“Great find in downtown San Diego”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I went back to San Diego (we just moved away in February) and wanted to stay downtown near all of our friends. I booked this Holiday Inn primarily because they are part of the Intercontinental group so we still receive award points.

What a lovely stay, the staff was top notch and extremely friendly.

The rooms were very nice and the location perfect.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamminetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    260
    134
    47
    17
See reviews for
165
206
46
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited San Diego for the first time (mother & daughter) trip. We have been on 7 vacation trips together and San Diego was our 8th trip. We love their breakfast buffet with a variety of good food to eat. What a Way to start the day! I love their juice..Our trip to San Diego was extra special to me!!

We arrived on Thursday afternoon, front desk was very informative with lots information on great sightseeing tours. We were very greatful for your patience and kindness. Friday, I had the worst toothache (abscess) in my life. I went downstairs to get something to eat where I meet "Midge" for the first time. She could tell I was hurting and in pain! You could tell I had been crying! She was so comforting and give me a "big" huge hug. I received my medication from my dentist who called it in from my hometown. Thank God.. My mom and I went on with our tour. What was so "amazing" is when we arrived in our room! There was 4 cans of soup, bananas and applesauce that was left with a card from "Midge". I couldn't believe it! That was so thoughtful! She went "Over & Beyond". Thank you for your kindness! It meant so much! We can't forget our Wonderful shuttle driver "Hans". You were always so willing to listening to us and tell you about our day. Thank you for being You.. We will never forget your great shuttle service and kindness. You have a Wonderful staff! My mom and I had a great time in San Diego. Most memorable!! Your friends from Albuquerque.......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDURANAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our large room had a small fridge, coffee maker and a nice balcony over looking the pool and part of the city. We were picked up early from the cruise ship terminal, checked in with our luggage stored, shuttled to the zoo, picked up at the zoo and next day dropped of at the airport. What a great free service!
The hot breakfast was not only good but had a huge selection of things to eat and drink. In the lobby they had free coffee with a nice sitting area with a big screen TV. Yes, the staff were friendly, efficient, helpful and pleasant. It is a great value and walking distance most places.
Thanks Hans for the tips about your beautiful city and the free shuttle

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltadennisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a great experience here. We got off the cruise ship and called for a shuttle to pick us up. They were there in 10 minutes to pick us up - a party of 12! They then dropped us off at the hotel. After we dropped our luggage, they gave us a free shuttle to and from the zoo. The next day, a shuttle was available to get us to Amtrak. The cost? Free! Great value here. Hans the driver was the best!
There was free cold lemonade in the lobby. Gret on a hot day. As well, there were cookies at 8 available.
The room was comfortable - AC, nice bed, and good water pressure in the shower. It was clean.
All in all, a great stay. Good value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and it is only 10 minutes walk to get to the Gaslamp Quarter and another 5-10 minutes further to get to the baseball stadium. This means that you do not get any noise at nights from outside and it was easy to get to sleep. During the day we could see that a lot of planes were landing as the airport is close by, but could not hear them either!

Room was spacious enough and no complaints about the quality of the beds or the cleanliness of the bathroom. As you would expect, there is daily room service and the room had a small fridge which proved very useful. All staff were polite and friendly, helpful with recommendations when necessary. Added bonus was free (buffet style) breakfast which offered a fairly good choice.

We did notice that there were a lot of homeless people on the nearby streets, but at no point did we feel threatened.

To summarise, if you have stayed at a Holiday Inn before you should know what to expect and this hotel will not let you down, especially considering the price being paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hajimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I visited San Diego for the first time and stayed at the Holiday Inn for a friends wedding. This hotel is in a pretty good location as far as convenience to restaurants and bars. The hotel could definitely use some renovations in the rooms, especially the bathroom which was in serious need of some help.

The majority of the restaurants and bars are several blocks away but it's nice to get out and walk around the city and see everything. The breakfast in the morning was also a plus. Overall this was a pretty good hotel...definitely not the newest, but for the price and convenience it seemed worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggieally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days last week and enjoyed my stay. Great location for Balboa Park- walk 2 blocks across the freeway and your there (well the outskirts- you still have about 1 mile until you reach the main area). Pretty far away from the harbor- but they do have a free shuttle that will take you anywhere within about 2 miles and it seems to run on your schedule not theirs. Downtown does have advantages- lots of business and near freeways, but does have drawbacks. Homeless around (especially near the courthouse @ 1st & C) and the hotel area is pretty quiet at night. 3 blocks from the trolley and around the corner is a great pub called Stout. Rooms are good- as most people have stated, the bathrooms are small. Really tight for a couple- it's a 1 person bathroom max. Hospitality pledge is a nice touch- shampoo, toothpaste- if you need it they will provide it- free. Bed was fine- not plush, but satisfactory. TV channels are odd- I know you're vacationing, why do you care about TV? Well, I do. The rooms only have 2 local channels- both independents. So, no CBS or Fox, or NBC. They also don't have ESPN, but they do have the Golf Channel? The lobby does have a nice flat screen with all channels- so I did get some Monday Night Football there! Free Hi-Speed in room was solid. Pool area looked well kept, but no umbrellas so be careful in the daytime. Social hours- weekdays 5-7 with free cocktails in the lobby. Nice idea, but only wine & warm beer on 1 day? C'mon- better planning! Free breakfast is always a great deal but avoid the eggs- mealy. Cinnamon rolls rock! Coffee is really weak. Dining room service was excellent and so was housekeeping. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room with a balcony- I didn't get one and the view of the roof wasn't e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastBH925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#207 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Address: 1430 7th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. This 100% non-smoking hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of America s finest city. San Diego s most popular attractions are within minutes. With our staff's dedication to customer service, the San Diego Holiday Inn Express is a popular choice amongst all visitors.The hotel is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter. For your convenience, take our free shuttle to the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Cruise Ship Terminal, and the San Diego Airport. Enjoy our complimentary hot new breakfast bar featuring fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties, flaky biscuits, and sausage gravy. The hotel offers free WiFi Internet access, refrigerators in all rooms, and a free business center with three dedicated computers. The hotel is two blocks from the San Diego Trolley which will take you to Qualcomm Stadium in less than 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing