We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
San Diego
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,722)
Filter reviews
1,722 results
Traveler rating
880
600
156
59
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
880
600
156
59
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shelter island point loma first floor underground parking rooms are large bit dated free breakfast hotel restaurant shuttle service short drive close to the airport the san diego area sea world balboa park balcony downtown humphreys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,722 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rated high for value,location, views and staff. Older property but don't let that stop you. Great views and close to all things San Diego. Our third visit. Recommend 2nd floor marina or harbor views. Our favorite is room 220.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SueK167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sue, thank you so much for the review! We are so glad you have stayed with us three times and look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

The San Diego Bay Club is a wonderful place to stay when you visit San Diego. It is conveniently located on Shelter Island close to the San Diego Airport. You will be staying right there on the San Diego Bay close to, great dining, Old Town, sight seeing etc.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mvpspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mvpspc, thank you for the five-star review! We are so glad you find us to be a wonderful place to stay. Please keep us in mind for future visits to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Bring your walking shoes, sun visor & binoculars. Sit in your bay front room or outside on the bay and watch the world cruise by including military and private world class boats.. There is a safe walking path and a launch area where you can be entertained as owners try to launch their boat. Stand by the pool and have a drink while listening to concerts.

Room tip: We prefer a king bed, up-stairs Bay side view. We stayed in 207. Very small patio but great view while in bed.
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank noselett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Noselett, thank you for the great review! We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay and the view of the busy San Diego Bay. We hope on your next visit to San Diego, you will give us the chance of welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

Check in is at 4 but we were able to check in at noon. A big plus Staff was very friendly. Clean and nicely decorated. Great restaurant with a marina view. Parking is free if you have a handicapped placard. Only minus is that the hallway carpet was a little worn.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank DWeisbrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

DWeisbrod, thank you for the review. We are glad we were able to accommodate your early check-in and that you enjoyed your stay. You may be interested to know that we are in the process of selecting new carpeting for the hallways and hope to have those replaced by your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

We went to Shelter Island for a New Years getaway, as my significant other works A LOT! She needed an escape and I felt Shelter Island would be an outstanding escape from everyday life. The reservations person set us up perfectly! The NYE party was a blast! The food was absolutely delicious! Everyone among the staff that I had contact with was above average and many were exemplary! She travels on business and I am a sleep in my own bed person. The bed was great, we both slept well! I loved sitting out on the balcony with a view of the bay and the San Diego skyline! We will definitely go back!

Room tip: Get a room with a view. I like the bay side and the view of Downtown, or go for the Marina side. 2nd floor rooms have the best views.
Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ChaseH207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W, Front Office Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Chase, thanks for the five-star review! We are so glad you and your significant other enjoyed our New Year's Eve celebration and look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews