We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #52 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, great location”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Reserved here based on TripAdvisor recommendations, and boy am I glad I did. While the decor could use an upgrade and the service in the dining room was slow our last night there, everything else about the place was wonderful. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. From the hotel, Seaworld and the Zoo are a stone's throw away, and the shuttle to the airport is quick and easy. The atmosphere is relaxed, and the water is all around you. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    487
    132
    48
    20
See reviews for
404
608
49
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed 8 nights and congratulated ourselves on our hotel choice more than once. Nice view of downtown across the bay for our balcony. We liked being next to Humphrey's outdoor concert venue. From the pool patio we could enjoy Jackson Brown and Lyle Lovett, to name two shows, and thought it a real plus for the location. It is not a nightclub next door , and was actually very quiet. They charge for parking, but only 5 bucks, which for hotel parking is a real deal. You do need a car to get around conveniently in San Diego, but I don't know who would expect otherwise. A cab ride to downtown is about $20 with tip. Two really good restaurants within easy walking distance are Fiddler's Green (Shelter Island Dr.) and Pomodoro (Scott St. and Ave. de Portugala) We met friends and family twice for lunch in the hotel restaurant and everyone seemed to enjoy the food--fish tacos were a big hit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmepl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The service was great, and that was the best thing, oh-...and the rooms are huge, which is nice when you're travelling with heaps of luggage.
The rooms and the hotel looks dated, and could use some new carpets etc.. you have to pay for parking, not good.
The location is not at all good if you are going to experience San Diego, you need a car or a taxi to take you to the Gas Lamp District and other areas for dining and such.
the breakfast is inckluded, but its really bad, not much to choose from.
Next time I would stay in the city

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjefen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

This hotel is tightly placed between a nightclub hotel spot, another hotel, a packed marina, and the Bay. While the rooms are clean and adequate, the carpeting and sofas in the lobby/halls need to be replaced. The steady noise from the activity of helicopters and military ships in the Bay, along with the airport traffic and the adjacent nightclub's outside concerts makes sleeping and rest a bit challenging. The balconies are teeny, the air-conditioning units noisy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50statetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We were there 7/9/10-7/17/10 & were very impressed with the quality of both the hotel & the staff. From the moment we checked in to the time we checked out I cannot say enough about how well we were treated. Many Staff members would greet us by name as we were coming & going.

I would like to give special notice to Brandi & John in the Bar area. They both really know how to make a guest feel at home. Both of them are true gems. I would also like to recognize Jody & Patrick at the front desk. One evening we wanted to go to Bali Hai for dinner. We did not want to walk or drive as we knew we were going to have a Mai Tai, so we called down for a cab. Upon finding out where we were going, Jody offered us the use of the shuttle service. That is what I call great customer relations! Patrick, both at check in & check out was most helpful.

All in all, whomever does the hiring for this hotel does a great job. We will make this out San Diego home!

Tom & Nancy, Phoenix

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhionsnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Nice comfy hotel. Staff very friendly. Clean rooms. Love the empty mini refrigerator tin the room. Did not have to worry being charge for drinks we never took. Free internet and reasonable parking fee. Would return!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnsmpq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laveen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

This hotel guarantee's checkin at 4pm, we got there at about 330 and were told our room wasn't ready, which was fine, no problem. We go look at the boats, get a drink, sit by the pool, keep in mind we drove all day so we were tired but we knew we'd have a room by 4pm so we just chilled. We went back up at 415 and the room still wasn't ready. We asked the front desk, if you guarantee a room by 4pm and it's not ready, then what? They had no answer. So, we waited and waited, we checked back every 15 minutes or so. At about 530 they told us they had a room, no real apology, just oh we are really booked. The manager did give us 2 free drinks for dinner, which was a nice gesture. We stayed 4 days and each day we went out to the beach and did the tourist thing. We stayed gone from our room every day from about 930am to about 3-330pm and everytime we came back our room's were never done up. So, when housekeeping came we would have to leave the room and wait for them to finish. It was a very frustrating expierence. When we made a complaint to the front desk they never seemed to care. Overall, I think they need to brush up on their customer service skills. The only bad thing about our whole vacation to San Diego was the customer service at the Bay Club Hotel.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#61 of 279 in San Diego
1,584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.7 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#22 of 279 in San Diego
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Property: Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#27 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing